We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,966)
Filter reviews
1,966 results
Traveller rating
818
847
214
61
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
818
847
214
61
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer garden largest hotel tower room heated bathroom floors underfloor heating large hotel building site breakfast buffet main restaurant small window minute walk happy hour northern lights walk in shower reception staff the main shopping street street parking
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 1,966 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

We missed our connecting flight and the airlines booked us into the Fosshotel RVK. What a stroke of luck. The hotel was beautiful and the room was very clean and comfortable. The buffet diner and the brunch buffet were delicious and so bountiful. BUT the staff were amazing. I can’t say enough about the kind welcoming people who work at this hotel. From the minute we got there the front desk took care of everything to make our stay as stress free as possible. They scheduled our transport reservation back to the airport, the vouchers needed for meals and did it all with a sincere desire to make sure you have a wonderful stay. Now, Siddy in the restaurant, what a sweet lovely woman. She could not have been nicer. She made sure we knew about the sighting of the northern lights and where to go to see them which we did. Thank you Siddy for making us feel like honored guests. We hope to return to Iceland and wouldn’t stay anywhere else.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Inspire162310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestR28, Guest Relations Manager at Fosshotel Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Dear Inspire162310
It gives me great pleasure to read your fantastic review of your recent experience with us at Fosshótel Reykjavík.
I am thrilled to learn that my team went above and beyond to make you feel welcome and that you noticed this from the minute you walked in the door. I am pleased that you found the buffet to be up to your standards along with the accommodation and facilities in the hotel.
Rest assured that I will be sharing your kind words and comments with the whole of the team; in particular Siddy at the restaurant for I know she will be thrilled to learn that you had such a great experience with us and that you appreciated her help.
Once again, thank you so much for sharing your stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We very much hope to welcome you back in the near future.


With much appreciation,
Guest Relations Manager,
Dagrún Antoinette Pettypiece.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

This has been the BEST hotel on our tour of 4 countries so far!
So modern, large rooms and lovely big bathrooms. Comfy beds, windows that open, fridge/kettle provided. Breakfast was good, although, of course, with so many travellers, very busy, so allow time to possibly queue up. Thank you Fosshotel, we are returning in about 5 days for our last night in Iceland and looking forward to a stay again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestR28, Guest Relations Manager at Fosshotel Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Dear Janice C

Thank you for your very so generous review following your recent stay with us at Fosshótel Reykjavík.
I am truly delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations in so many ways.
We hope to remain your hotel of choice if you ever return to Reykjavík.

With much appreciation,
Dagrún Antoinette Pettypiece,
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018

Modern, comfortable hotel, with new fittings and underfloor heating in bathrooms. Rooms furnished well, have a fridge and a kettle, as well as a safe and TV with a huge range of channels. Excellent breakfast, with plenty of options and good organisation. We had some burgers and deep fried arctic wolffish and fries from the bistro next to the lobby - highly recommended, excellent food, very fresh and well-cooked (rare) - and slightly better-priced than the restaurants on the main street. The reception staff, the concierge, the waiters were all very helpful, friendly and professional at all times. Particular gratitude goes to Patrice for her tips and advice and wonderful manner. The pickup for the excursions and the bus station was just outside the hotel, which was very useful. Overall, good value for money. Would return in a heartbeat.

Room tip: Our room overlooked a building site - beware of the even-numbered rooms. The odd-numbered rooms face the bay, with great views.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mamaligablues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestR28, Guest Relations Manager at Fosshotel Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

Dear mamaligablues

We thank you for staying at Fosshótel Reykjavík and we are all thrilled to know your stay exceeded your expectations.
Thank you for the positive comments regarding the comfortable rooms, our very central location that allows to be closed to everything but also away from all the buzz of the city, cleanliness of the hotel and its modern interior, plentiful breakfast buffet alongside our cosy Beer Garden downstairs, furthermore for your comments regarding the staff. We pride ourselves on our good and personalized service therefore I am very pleased to hear that you felt the staff were pleasant and always willing to assist throughout your stay.
Rest assured, I will share your wonderful feedback with my entire team in particular Patrice which we are so very blessed to have among us in the reception.

We all look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic stay at Fosshótel Reykjavík.

With much appreciation,
Dagrún Antoinette Pettypiece,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018

the breakfast was plenty with good food and options. try to avoid 7:30-8:30a. its very crowed and crazy. don't be surprised if you have to wait in line. buffett dinner is about $69 usd per person. like everything in iceland is expensive. the best choice is the 'beer garden' in the hotel. nice options and nice prices. for the tour pickup that says 'hotel pickup", pickup is at the bus stop 12 (like 20ft from hotel lobby) NOT AT THE HOTEL LOBBY. most of the time the vouchers don't say it. we almost missed the tour transfer.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tikicici2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestR28, Guest Relations Manager at Fosshotel Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Dear Ibis R

Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel following your most recent visit.
I am delighted to learn you enjoyed the great selection we offer at the breakfast buffet and the fabulous Beer Garden down stairs.
The location is indeed very convenient for your everyday excursions and the reception will happily help you contact your tour operator if needed.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
We hope to welcome you back for another visit.

With much appreciation,
Guest Relations Manager,
Dagrún Antoinette Pettypiece.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018

A nice, modern, well-designed hotel that ticks all the boxes.

The room was a tad too warm, but after opening a small window (using a button that I eventually found on the opposite side of the room) the temperature was good for sleep. The place for the suitcase was an unlit dark corner, so I moved a standard lamp from its rather pointless position in a corner on the other side of the room. (No doubt they'll move it back when I'm gone!)

Breakfast was comprehensive, and breads and fruits were nice and fresh. No omelette station, but the scrambled egg in the bain marie was nice and fluffy, and hot. A nice range of grains, dried fruits and nuts to make your own "bespoke" muesli. The breakfast room is rather like a maze with high-walled partitions — you almost need a map!

Wifi worked well, although a little slow at peak times. The bathroom had a heated floor. The shower screen was inadequate, resulting in most of the floor being sprayed. Nice to see face washers — sadly an endangered species in the world's hotels these days.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GrahamWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestR28, Guest Relations Manager at Fosshotel Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Dear GrahamWM

Thank you for taking the time to leave your very kind comment following your stay at Fosshótel Reykjavík.
The heating system in Iceland is controlled with a radiator, and if turning the radiator down does not do the trick opening a window usually does.

I am thrilled to learn you enjoyed our fine facilities and varied breakfast buffet we offer.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully very near future and once again thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

With much appreciation,
Dagrún Antoinette Pettypiece,
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews