We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,818)
Filter reviews
1,818 results
Traveller rating
1,189
535
75
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,189
535
75
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hotel underground parking the main shopping street happy hour bus stop heated towel rack small window porridge comfortable beds minute walk rooms are small shops and restaurants would stay here again breakfast was delicious would highly recommend this hotel skyr storage space
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 1,818 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018

For our ninth and final location on our Ring Road tour we headed to Iceland's capital city of Reykjavík, and chose Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels. It was a bit of a shock heading in to Reykjavik with all the traffic, after we had been driving through some very remote areas of the country.

We were in Reykjavík eleven years ago and it has certainly expanded since then, if you were to do a street view of this hotel it currently doesn't exist, a car park and shops are in its place.

The main reason for this hotel choice for us, was that it was in a reasonable location and had an onsite underground car park which we needed as we had been on a roadtrip for eleven days.

However, due to the garage door being broken the underground carpark was out of use. Our timing was obviously good, as we were lucky to use one of their external spaces

The room was a reasonable size and very modern and the staff were friendly and helpful.

We also made use of the hotel's happy hour which actually for 2 hours before we wandered out for a stroll and a bite to eat. You'll know from Iceland's prices that if you can get a couple of beers half price it is worth it.

The buffet breakfast was included, and had a really wide range of food, probably one of the best on the trip.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janis_OurWorldforYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is excellent. It is in a fantastic location and is very modern inside. The staff are friendly and helpful. It also has free parking so if you are renting a car, it is great to not have to worry about where to park. There is a happy 2 hours in the bar but we did not use this as we came supplied with our own alcohol. The tv has English channels to keep you entertained. The cleaning staff were attentive and always did a good job. Also there was tea, coffee and hot chocolate provided in your room.
The breakfast was brilliant and saved us a fortune with it being included as everything is incredibly expensive in Iceland. The breakfast consisted of scrambled egg, bacon, frankfurter sausages and beans as well as pastries, natural yoghurt, fruit, Nutella, peanut butter, even Pesto! So there was plenty for everyone.
The only reason I am not giving a 5* review is that one of the hooks had fallen off in our bathroom and it hadn't been replaced so it left a hole in the wall and nowhere to hand the second towel. Other than that though, I would highly recommend this hotel. Everything was excellent.
The rooms also had a full length door leading to a shared balcony which meant you could stand and look out onto the city.
supplied with our own alcohol. The tv has English channels to keep you entertained. The cleaning staff were attentive and always did a good job. Also there was tea, coffee and hot chocolate provided in your room.

The breakfast was brilliant and saved us a fortune with it being included as everything is incredibly expensive in Iceland. The breakfast consisted of scrambled egg, bacon, frankfurter sausages and beans as well as pastries, natural yoghurt, fruit, Nutella, peanut butter, even Pesto! So there was plenty for everyone.

The only reason I am not giving a 5* review is that one of the hooks had fallen off in our bathroom and it hadn't been replaced so it left a hole in the wall and nowhere to hand the second towel. Other than that though, I would highly recommend this hotel. Everything was excellent.

The rooms also had a full length door leading to a shared balcony which meant you could stand and look out onto the city.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

I can't fault this hotel. It is warm, comfortable, efficient - and in a wonderful location. One block from Reykjavik's main shopping/eating street and walking distance from most of the other attractions including harbour, city hall, arts centre. Excellent breakfasts with enormous choice, friendly staff and even the lift worked. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: I was a single in a superior double. Not much different from a standard double which a friend had, just a bit more space.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pixieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

Has the feel of a boutique hotel without the price. Rooms are small but adequate. Bedding is lovely. VERY clean. Breakfast is outstanding and we made it our main meal of the day. It is a huge Scandinavian style breakfast buffet with plenty for every taste, even vegans and vegetarians. Staff are truly lovely and helpful. Free WiFi is a big plus. Rooms have a hairdryer and coffee/tea/hot chocolate. Only complaint is that the lighting in the bathroom is very dim, shower can flood the bathroom floor until one is used to the set up, and the liquid soap for showering and hand washing is very drying. Bring your own bar soap, shampoo, face cloths and creme rinse. Remember the water is spring water so it is very soft....but tastes delicious. Really nice place overall and we will use them again!

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd floor rear- there is a charming balcony
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PhDRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Check in was smooth and easy and from the start this hotel never failed to meet our expectations.

The staff are friendly, courteous and helpful, especially the gentleman on reception who made us laugh and was very helpful.

The rooms are clean and modern though little dark as our room was overlooking court yard. The storage space us limited especially for winter travellers with bulky clothing but manageable.

Breakfast was an absolute delight! Warm fresh bread was heavenly and something for everyone! Though if you are lactose intolerant that doesn't seem to have reached Iceland yet! I just used normal and took my tablets ;-)

Would totally recommend this hotel. Couldn't fault any thing. I will definitely use this hotel on my next trip, got to bring my partner next time!

Great location in Reykjavik.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank angiebear2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews