We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Once you step through the doors it is like...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dar Rahal

The rooftop swimming pool with reading seat!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The rooftop swimming pool with reading seat!
Relaxed outdoor dining The central courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The rooftop swimming pool with reading seat!
Relaxed outdoor dining
The central courtyard
Master bedroom
Ensuite to master bedroom - the old birthing room
Upstairs twin bedroom facing the sun terrace
Ensuite shower room of upstairs twin bedroom
The roof top sun terrace and outdoor shower by the pool
The view from the roof top sun terrace towards Marsalforn
The cosy lounge - originally the stables
The dining area in the stables
Fully equipped kitchen
Downstairs twin with ensuite shower/washroom
Downstairs en-suite shower room with washing machine
The back terrace shaded by vines
Gate to the pool area
Safety gates on all the stairs
Plenty of toys, books and baby gear so you can travel light
Courtyard by night
View across the Marsalforn salt pans
Xlendi cliffs at sunset - our favourite walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Xaghra, Island of Gozo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
McMullans
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Once you step through the doors it is like stepping into your own tranquil hideaway.”
Reviewed 30 October 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Great place, farmhouse well equipped, swimming pool great, my 14 year old twin boys and 77 year old mother loved it! Lovely ground floor bedroom and bathroom, my mother felt like she had her own apartment. Have a cup of tea, sit by the kitchen window and watch the travelling shops go by and listen to the village life. Make sure you take a look at the local church, amazing. Everything you need is in the village, papers from the petrol station, local bread and wine and good restaurants. Looking forward to our next trip to Gozo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2012
Thank-you for your lovely review. It is really nice to hear our farmhouse suited all ages of the family and that you found Xaghra a well serviced village, making your holiday an easy experience. We hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire...
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at Dar Rahal”
Reviewed 3 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Dar Rahal was the perfect location for our holiday in Gozo. The house is tucked away in Xaghra but still only a 10 minute walk to the village square and its restaurants. We really enjoyed everything about the house, particularly the rooftop pool and, given that we were travelling with a toddler, really appreciated the children's toys and stair gates. The booking process was easy and the owners very willing to answer any questions we had and provide recommendations about things to do and places to see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool
Liked least: some of the kitchen utensils had seen better days
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2012
Thank-you for your lovely review. We're glad you found the stair gates and kids' toys useful. As parents ourselves we always find such facilities make a world of difference to any stay in a rental property. We hope we can welcome you back to our farmhouse again at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda H
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Another great stay at Dar Rahal”
Reviewed 24 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Once again we fell in love with Gozo and the wonderful people living there. The weather was great, the food is outstanding and Dar Rahal is just a such a beautiful, authentic house to stay in. This time the weather permitted us to make good use of the pool on the roof, and even though we were 7 people altogether ,the house did not seem crowded at any time. We can only reccommend both Gozo as well as the house, and who knows we might even be back for the third time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The patio and the pool.
Liked least: Mosqitos and hot nights
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2012
Thank-you for another great review. We're glad to hear our farmhouse easily accommodated your increased numbers following on from your previous stay as a couple the year before. Hopefully we can welcome you back for third stay in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolPD
Worcestershire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lovely, well equipped farmhouse in a charming town”
Reviewed 14 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

Dar Rajal is really beautiful, especially when the patio is lit up at night. The only sound in the morning is the crowing of a cockerel, so it feels truly rustic, even though it is only a 15 minute walk to the main square in town.

Booking the farmhouse was simple. Rachel, the owner, is very efficient in sending all the information needed for a fuss free arrival. And the welcome pack with wine was, indeed, most welcome.

I can especially recommend the house for families with small children. We had a ten month baby with us and we really appreciated the cot, high chair and all the toys. We made good use of the buckets and spade on the beach, even though it was November.

Xaghra is lovely - at that time of the year, very quiet and sleepy, yet with sufficient bars and restaurants. Check out the windmill, temples, the Grotto and the Cave, which are all in town.

Thank you, Dar Rahal, for giving us such a good holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the old stone walls and the garden and patio
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2011
Thanks for your lovely review. We're glad you appreciated the beach towels, kids' toys and welcome bottles of wine! Improvements we're working on for next year include some child safety gates for upstairs as well as installing WiFi so hopefully this improves our offering still further. I hope we can welcome you back to our farmhouse again in the future and thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHardingC...
Cheshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely farm house”
Reviewed 31 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

We stayed at Dar Rahal for a week in late October and we were blessed with good weather nearly every day.

The house is in a great location as its easy to walk to local (and very good) restaurants and then some great beaches are within easy driving distance.

The house itself is lovely, well presented and well equiped. There were a few things that could have been updated or improved and the owner has been interesting in hearing feedback and sorting it out, which is refreshing, they obviously care about the house.

The house has its good and bad points for children. Its split on two levels and the rooms are seperated by an outside corridor, and if you have children in a seperate room, it can be a bit nerve wracking that they are not secured. We had a 3 and a 1 year old so were quite worried that they may get out and go down the stairs in the night so we ended up locking them in. The owner has said though that she'll look into stair gates for upstairs so this would completely eliminate that problem.

It was nice that the pool was on a seperate level at the house and there was a gate to get to it, so this allayed any fears that the kids may get in the pool.

There were two large baskets of toys at the house which was fantastic for our two. One basket had all beach things in which meant we didn't have to go find somewhere to sell buckets and spades to entertain the kids on the beach. It also meant we didn't have to take them with us and use up valuable luggage space.

I would definitely recommend this house, perhaps for people with slightly older children or teenagers.

If you do go, make sure you go to Ramla Bay, San Blas Bay, Tal Fumar Restaurant, the beach bar at Hondoq Bay and the best meal of all - Otters in Marsalforn! The food was amazing (better than I've had at top london restaurants!) and brilliant value, plus you're right on the sea front overlooking the town. Beautiful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the little touches that made the house more homely
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2011
Thank-you for your feedback and recommendations. We're delighted to hear you had a great holiday and really appreciated your thoughts on some areas for improvement. The stair gates are a excellent idea - not sure why this didn't occur to us during our holidays with our 1 year old and 3 year old twins! We hope we can welcome you back to our farmhouse again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Ledbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A farmhouse with character”
Reviewed 26 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

The property is a lovely old farmhouse. All the rooms are comfortable and spacious with en-suite facilties in each bedroom. The courtyard is very pleasant and ideal for eating outside as it provides shade.
The swimming pool is small but ideal for coolling off and there is a nice area next to it on the roof for sunbathing with sun loungers.
The farmhouse is very well equipped with everything you need. The welcome pack of some food and drink was very welcome as the shope were shut on arrival. There was lots of information provided on local facilities.
The farmhouse is conveniently located - only a short walk from the centre of the village of Xaghra which has shops and restaurants.
Gozo is a lovely destination - much quieter and laid back than Malta.
Everything on the island is within a relatively short driving distance. Victoria is a lovely old histroric town and there are some lovely swimmimg areas on the island and spectacular coastal scenery. Ramla bay which is the best beach on the island is only a few minutes drive from the farmhouse. We also enjoyed swimming at the "inland sea" at Dwerja and Mgarr ix ini. Our group consisted of myself and wife and daughter and son-in-law. We all thoroughly enjoyed Gozo and staying at the farmhouse.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: courtyard
Liked least: low wattage lighting in dining room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2011
Thank you for your complimentary review of our farmhouse, were delighted everything was to your liking and hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JandH84
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well equipped farmhouse for a very relaxing holiday!”
Reviewed 14 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed at the farmhouse in September. We wanted a very relaxing holiday to escape from the usual business of holiday resorts in the Mediterranean. The farmhouse was perfect for this. We received a welcome pack on arrival at the farmhouse including a few bits to get us by until we went to the supermarket including 2 local bottles of wine. (Our favorite of which was the green label). We did not have a car during our stay but this was not a problem for us, the buses are very comfortable and air conditioned, but they do only run hourly, as long as you are aware of the times this is not a problem! Ramla bay and Rabat are a 10 /20 minute ride away.The farmhouse was a 5 minute walk to the main square, where there are a few restaurants and bars. With the local super markets and fresh food vans, we did a lot of our own cooking in the well equipped kitchen and BBQ.
The pool is small but perfect for cooling off in and lazing next too on the sun loungers provided.
The central courtyard was beautiful and lovely to sit and relax in on an evening.
We got exactly what we wanted from our holiday, very quiet, peaceful and relaxing. We would definitely recommend Dar Rahal if that's the type of holiday you are looking for!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing location!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2011
Thank-you for your lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed our farmhouse. It's nice to read your perspective on visiting our farmhouse and Gozo without hiring a car. Several of our guests have done this but we've never heard how easy (or not) it was for them to get around exploring or simply food shopping and eating out. It sounds like a lack of a car was certainly not an inconvenience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing