We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Cornucopia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cornucopia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Certificate of Excellence
St.Venera Malta
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My Husband and I went to this Hotel twice. It is situated in a quiet village with beautiful views overlooking the valley. The rooms are nice and clean and the staff are friendly. It has two swimming pools , ideal in summer, although we've been there both times in winter we sure enjoyed our stays and definately would go there again. Breakfast was super . We would recommend it to our friends and to anyone who love being in a quiet and friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: The valley view rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank catlover103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    261
    80
    16
    6
See reviews for
168
418
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sliema
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed at Cornucopia for a long weekend. Was stunning in everyway. The place has a beautiful view which makes up for everything. The breakfast was perfect in every way. The area is really quiet even though the hotel was fully booked. The staff are really well educated and everything was clean. Hope to go back again soon.

Room Tip: Get a valley view room. Really wortyh it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulazerafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Obviously this is not a 4 star hotel and it needs renovation all around but it is situated in a very (very) nice and queit area with fantastic views and comfortable room with a big bathroom. The staff are extremely nice and helpful and there is free parking in front of this hotel. The breakfast was very good and there was a very good selection. There is also a restaurant in this hotel and free internet.There was also a pool. I really enjoyed my time in this hotel and will return as it was a relaxing break.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelandenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

My wife and I have been to the Cornucopia some 25 times over the last 7 or 8 years. Being from the neighbouring island of Malta, Gozo is a perfect break for us....and no hotel other than the Cornucopia offers us the friendliness, and typical farmhouse charm which this one does. In fact, the moment we walk into the hotel towards the reception, the staff always smile and recognise us. The bungaloes are perfect when visiting with friends. They are cosy, comfortable and have the most lovely terrace with a stunning view. The hotel rooms are also nice and comfortable. The bar / television room of this hotel is typical Gozitan farmhouse style and my wife and I have spent countless evenings sitting with friends enjoying a drink. On Fridays, the hotel also organises a really nice carvery night. This happens every Friday of the year, but in summer, it is even more beautiful because it is held outside by the pool. Can't wait until the coming March. Cornucopia will be seeing us again!!!

Room Tip: I don't remember the hotel having an elevator, but, being a farmhouse type of hotel, there are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m_aelag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We came upon this hotel almost by accident as we were walking in the area (we live in gozo); we were struck by the hotel's hidden away charm and the friendliness of the staff as we popped in for a coffee. We decided to have our wedding here on 26th October this year (2011) and WOW we were not disappointed. We met with the hotel's most helpful manager Mr Brian Caruna to discuss our requirements, and they were met to the the smallest detail and beyond. We had a pre wedding gathering for drinks 2 evenings prior to the big day and staff helped us to drag enough chairs into the lovely bar to accommodate our friends and family, which considering this was not a booked event, was lovely, as we had the whole room just for our party. And by the way, the bar prices are not over priced.
Our wedding day dawned bright and sunny and we decorated the outdoor pagoda area to our own requirements where we were to get married; we did the same with the interior where we were to have our reception. Staff were SO helpful, polite and caring. The service went without a hitch, and afterwards we had delicious canapes and sparkling wine outside, served by smiling staff who genuinely seemed to be enjoying the day as much as we were! The wedding buffet was simple tremendous; for the first course we had 10 different salads, presented with such attention and care; home made lasagne, home made vegetable soup (delicious) or pasta; then, much to the amazement of our guests who thought thay'd finished, we had roast beef, baked ham in pastry and chicken breasts, as we requested, in breadcrumbs. All accompanied by lovely veg and potatoes. The desserts were, again, as we ordered, small, individual pasties, cheesecakes, profiteroles, etc etc, all looking perfect and plentiful. Along with our seperately ordered wedding cake, the staff set out hand made chocolates, which were a surprise to us, and absolutely gorgoeus. As my husband and I are entertainers, we sang briefly at our own wedding! staff joined in and danced along with us all, whilst continuing to give us all the best of attention, never failing to smile. We had people join us from the rooms upstairs as they couldn't sleep for the noise of the disco; it was one big party and we were told that the hotel had never seen anything like it! We had the honeymoon suite on a complimentary basis, and it was wonderful; spacious comfortable room with breathtaking views over Marsalforn and the sea beyond. We had booked several family members and guests staying in the hotel, all of whom had similarly comfortable rooms with great views; all our guests commented on the high standard of food and service here. I went down one evening at 3am to ask for a pot of tea for my mother in law and it was made without fuss at no charge. The hotel has 3 swimming pools all well appointed with ample space for all the guests. There are lots of nooks and crannies in this hotel, which add to its charm and grace. Faultless, absolutely faultless; we are already planning our 1st anniversary party here for next year.

Room Tip: ask for a valley view, which actually gives you a view over the valley AND the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank georgiarose209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We are repeaters in this hotel and we can say that it is excellent. This year we booked a bungalow which is just opposite the hotel. We would highly recommend these bungalows because they are wonderful. They have been recently refurbished with all new facilities and appliances you would need to make your holiday memorable. The service is excellent and staff are very friendly and helpful especially the chambermaids who kept the place spic and span without even disturbing 5 minutes of our holiday. We stayed there for a week in November and the quietness and peacefulness is something unimaginable, not to mention the awesome country views you can see even from your bedroom. We definitely book another bungalow for the coming year.

Room Tip: Definitively choose a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This is our 8th visit to this Hotel, and when ever we visit Gozo we will not think of staying anywhere else. The hotel its self is a typical farm house style building with lots of charm and character something that is very unique. We now have two children and although in november,pools are cold during the summer its haven for kids.with two good sized pools and a childrens pools, it is the ideal hotel for us.The staff are very accomodating in fact on check in when receptionist noted the young one,he asked if we needed a cot, which we did, as i had forgotten to order one. The food is very good breakfast are plentyfull and dinners are very wholsome,especialy the Friday buffet. Rooms are spacious and very well equiped with all that we needed, nothing was to much trouble foe the staff. will defenitly see us again. thankyou.

Room Tip: Bungalow are very good for families because they have a kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xaghra
4.8 km away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
4.5 km away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,217 reviews
15.3 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
712 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
816 reviews
1.9 km away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornucopia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornucopia Hotel

Property: Cornucopia Hotel
Address: 10 Gnien Imrik Street, Xaghra, Island of Gozo XRA 102, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xaghra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Xaghra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornucopia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cornucopia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornucopia Hotel Xaghra
Cornucopia Hotel Island Of Gozo/Xaghra, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing