We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (606)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveller rating
365
137
54
31
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
137
54
31
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silent city duplex suite walled city private terrace historic setting within the walls hot tub unique hotel sleeping area spiral staircase rooftop restaurant your luggage cooked breakfast medina restaurant welcome drink top floor a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 606 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2018 via mobile

Definitely an option to consider for one or two nights if you are a new couple - hopefully still in love - or a discerning, older couple spending your children’s inheritance and looking for a bit (a lot) of quiet. This is in essence a rather grand bed and breakfast with some of the trappings of a 5 star hotel, and some of the shortcomings of the former.

The welcome to the hotel was touching and there was a nice balance between the experienced staff and the eager, maybe slightly obsequious, green(er) staff during my stay.

The (shared) terrace room, decorated in a faded country style chintz, also shared the outlook with the terrace of restaurant, which therein lied the main problem. If you want an early night (prior to midnight) and you are staying in those rooms, bring earplugs, as the noise does carry.

The compromise pool offsite is located at a somewhat nondescript function centre, also open to non-guests as some sort of ‘pool club’. It sufficed, I guess.

The restaurant is the highlight - the tasting menu with paired Maltese wines was superb.

Characterful bucket list hotel, worth visiting only once, I’d suggest.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanpierrecassar, Responsable relations publiques at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Thank you for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you loved The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux. Your kind words have been warmly received and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again very soon!

Many thanks and kind regards,

Jean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2018

The Xara Hotel in Mdina is an old style luxury hotel. We had a lovely duplex room with the sleeping area cleverly designed to fit within the old palace room. The bathroom was great too. We had a balcony overlooking a quiet street and could watch the horse drawn carriages clip clop along the street. Mdina is known as the Silent City and there was really not a lot to do except walk around, viewing the plethora of medieval palaces and other buildings. A trip to Rabat, outside the city wall is definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nigben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanpierrecassar, Responsable relations publiques at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Thank you for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you loved The Xara Palace Relais & Châteaux . Your kind words have been warmly received and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again very soon!

Many thanks and kind regards,

Jean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

I have already stayed this hotel 3times.
Whenever I stay, I was satisfied with all. The staff is very kindly. And the view in the room is really good. Room service's cost is reasonable and delicious. Also room condition is classical and brilliance. I strongly recommend this hotel if you want to stay Mdina.
이미 이 호텔에서 3번 숙박했었어요. 항상 숙박할 때마다 매우 만족해요. 스탭들은 친절하고 룸에서 보는 뷰는 정말 예뻐요. 이번엔 룸서비스를 시켰는데..가격도 괜찮았어요. 룸 컨디션은 당연히 고전적이고 화려했구요. 혹시 엠디나에서 숙박하실 계획이시라면 이 호텔을 추천해드려요. 늦은 저녁의 엠디나와 이른 아침의 고요한 엠디나를 경험할 수 있으실거에요^^

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
Thank Alice7654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanpierrecassar, Responsable relations publiques at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Thank you for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you loved The Xara Palace Relais & Châteaux. Your kind words have been warmly received and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again very soon!

Many thanks and kind regards,

Jean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

We are staying there now. We were given a comfortable room next to the restaurant on the top floor which was supposed to close at 23:00. I am writing this review now waiting outside the room for some noisy guests to finish their dinner. It is 23:30 already and the staff assured me in the last two hours it will be taken care off.
After a long flight, I can’t sleep in a five star hotel. Very bad experience

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Ranquantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

Highly recommend! Perfectly located in the middle of Mdina. It really is an old palace!
Was a few issues on check in, but thanks to Olga the hotel supervisor, we were very happy with the outcome.
Wonderfully decorated suites.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanpierrecassar, Responsable relations publiques at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Thank you for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you loved The Xara Palace Relais & Châteaux . Your kind words have been warmly received and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again very soon!

Many thanks and kind regards,

Jean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews