We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food”
Review of Penny Black Bar

Penny Black Bar
Ranked #19 of 197 Restaurants in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Penny Black Bar with its baby grand piano, open fireplace and leather seating is more than just a standard hotel lounge bar. Guests can sit, relax and watch live sports whilst sipping their favorite cocktails or wine, accompanied by delicious snacks, tempting platters and freshly made desserts. The Penny Black Bar has a vast bar selection, friendly service and terrific food at value prices; it is the perfect retreat to meet friends and colleagues.
Reviewed October 14, 2017

The fish and chips nigh was destroyed with frozen fish and after the next one destroyed with deep fried and like mush lol. My partner is Michelin star holder shelf we send the fish back and after we was treated like poo

Thank Woofy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Callus, General Manager at Penny Black Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017

Dear Woofy27,

On behalf of The Management and Staff at The Penny Black, I would like to thank you for sparing some time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

I am extremely disappointed to hear that your visit with us did not live up to your expectations Your constructive comments regarding the staff has been discussed accordingly with F&B Manager & Executive Chef.

It is only through your feedback and suggestions that we keep improving our product to ensure expectations are met.

Once again we apologize for the inconvenience caused during your visit and hope that our commitment to continuously improve will make you re-visit Penny Black in the future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
General Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 268 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2017

The bar is within the Victoria hotel and has no windows. If you want a quick drink then its ok. Its not the bar you would sit in all night and take in the atmosphere, there are many better ones to do this.

Thank oowweenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Callus, General Manager at Penny Black Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Dear oowweenn,

Your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent visit at Penny Black Bar is most appreciated and acknowledged.

Your constructive comments have been discussed at Management level as this reflects what our guests expect from us here at Penny Black Bar.

We do hope to host you once again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2017

Great bar and Alfred and staff are brilliant.
Food is good too. If we wanted something a bit different they were most obliging and always did their best to give us what we wanted.

Thank butterflyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Callus, General Manager at Penny Black Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Dear butterflyNottingham,

Thank you for placing your positive comments about your recent time at Penny Black Bar on TripAdvisor. We love to hear what our guests have to say about their experiences.

We do hope to host you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
General Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

Do stop by during happy hour and let Martin or Alfred mix you up something good. They also have some nice local beers and a good food menu and will show live football if you ask. Proper pub with very friendly staff.

1  Thank RTM1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Callus, General Manager at Penny Black Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Dear RTM1908,

On behalf of the Penny Black team, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We are really glad you had a delightful time and enjoyed both the atmosphere and food served.

Looking forward to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Kevin Callus
General Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2017

Stayed at the Victoria and the Penny Black Bar is opposite Reception. Staff friendly and chatty and menu ok but not extensive. The only downside for us was the Bar didn't open till mid afternoon. They do show Sports and the times we spent there it was never over crowded.

Thank bbdaddio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Callus, General Manager at Penny Black Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2017

Dear bbdaddio,

Alfred and the rest of Penny Black Bar's Management and staff would like to thank you for placing your positive comments about your recent time with us.

We look ahead to hosting you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
General Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penny Black Bar also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to Penny Black Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing