We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel bar”
Review of Penny Black Bar

Penny Black Bar
Ranked #17 of 205 Restaurants in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Penny Black Bar with its baby grand piano, open fireplace and leather seating is more than just a standard hotel lounge bar. Guests can sit, relax and watch live sports whilst sipping their favorite cocktails or wine, accompanied by delicious snacks, tempting platters and freshly made desserts. The Penny Black Bar has a vast bar selection, friendly service and terrific food at value prices; it is the perfect retreat to meet friends and colleagues.
Reviewed November 17, 2017

Looked good in the photos, but typical hotel bar, clean but lacked any atmosphere. Drinks expensive.

Thank Jacqui I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Callus, General Manager at Penny Black Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017

Dear Jacqui I,

On behalf of The Management and Staff at The Penny Black, I would like to thank you for sparing some time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

I am extremely disappointed to hear that your visit with us did not live up to your expectations.

It is only through your feedback and suggestions that we keep improving our product to ensure expectations are met.

Once again we apologize for the inconvenience caused during your visit and hope that our commitment to continuously improve will make you re-visit Penny Black in the future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
General Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 277 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2017

Lovely and relaxing pub in The Victoria. Really enjoyed the cocktails, and we watched the football here too. Fab staff!

Thank rachybaby84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Callus, General Manager at Penny Black Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Dear rachybaby84,

Thank you for placing your positive comments about your recent time at Penny Black Bar on TripAdvisor. We love to hear what our guests have to say about their experiences.

We do hope to host you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
General Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile

Had a drink here regardless whether you finished you had to pay at 3pm and we sat in darkness to finish off

Thank hasting16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Callus, General Manager at Penny Black Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Dear hasting16,

On behalf of The Management and Staff at The Penny Black, I would like to thank you for sparing some time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

I am extremely disappointed to hear that your visit with us did not live up to your expectations.

It is only through your feedback and suggestions that we keep improving our product to ensure expectations are met.

Once again we apologize for the inconvenience caused during your visit and hope that our commitment to continuously improve will make you re-visit Penny Black in the future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
General Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile

As part of the hotel, we ended most of our evenings here. The elder bar staff were all friendly and funny with recommendations on what to drink

Thank Flaips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Callus, General Manager at Penny Black Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017

Dear Flaips,

Thank you for placing your positive comments about your recent time at Penny Black Bar on TripAdvisor. We love to hear what our guests have to say about their experiences.

We do hope to host you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
General Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2017

Trying to seat 8 people is never easy in a popular bar, but together with helpful staff it was never a problem. We would meet here prior to dinner in the restaurant. The staff were friendly and very accommodating ensuring good service. It was noted that a lot of residents ate in the bar, and the food looked good.
The bar had a good atmosphere, pleasant seating arrangements and staff who were efficient and had good communication skills.

Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Callus, General Manager at Penny Black Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Dear Bob M,

Thank you for placing your positive comments about your recent time at Penny Black Bar on TripAdvisor. We love to hear what our guests have to say about their experiences.

We do hope to host you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
General Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penny Black Bar also viewed

 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to Penny Black Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing