We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Phoenicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Phoenicia
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We visited the Phoenicia from May 3rd to 8th and found Valletta to be one of the most interesting cities that we have ever visited. The hotel is ideally located for walking into the old town with much to see, and immediately adjacent to the bus station. The hotel and its rooms are spotlessly clean with a good restaurant, and convenient access to its own beautiful gardens and swimming pool. The staff were extremely competent, friendly and helpful, and the receptionists have a great sense of humour. I fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    635
    164
    53
    21
See reviews for
234
1,357
111
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Hotel phoenicia is a beautiful luxurious hotel in the centre of Valletta. The service was plesant. Especially the restaurant- and roomattendants. The rooms are very pleasant and have all creature comforts. The garden and pool area is wonderful for relaxing and getting away from it all.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bruxelles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

The hotel is fantastic, we had great beds and bathrooms on the top floor - recently renovated. I probably would have liked the older rooms more, see tips on rooms. The staff was most helpful, friendly and knew clients and their preferences after a few days, old school excellence. The breakfast was delicious without being over the top. The pool in the garden was unbeatable. After a day taking kids to the many cultural gems on Malta the relaxation in the full size pool offers paradise. We only had dinner once in the restaurant, which is relatively expensive for Malta and opinions in the family were mixed, some things great, others too much 'hotel food'. The lounge and the bar plus terrace on the other hand are fantastic, from times when travel was still an elitist luxury

Room Tip: Bus station is rather noisy. Best rooms face garden. Top floor is redecorated - other floors have mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWBRUXELLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We went to Malta to follow Lymond around Dorothy Dunnett's The Disorderly Knights, and, while the Phoenicia couldn't quite match up to the thrills of Birgu in the 1540s, it provided a lovely background to our imaginative efforts. Comfortable rooms, rather a nice restaurant downstairs, good room service, and breakfast (with champagne thoughtfully provided with the buffet) made getting out of a very cosy bed worthwhile.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dervorgilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greater manchester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

we cannot thank the staff at the Phoenicia enough for giving us a wonderful weekend break. we travelled as a group of four, as a birthday treat for one of our party. when we arrived (before 11am) we were told our rooms were ready and we had been upgraded. the rooms had not been refurbished but the furnishings were very comfortable and we had three balconies (just in case we got bored with the views!), overlooking the town, the gardens, and the harbour. breakfast was substantial with cold and hot buffet as well as "cooked to order" items such as omelettes and pancakes. we had lunch on the terrace which was not only very enjoyable but reasonably priced for a five star hotel.
add to this service with a smile from all of the staff we encountered, and a location which is ideal to walk across the city gate into valletta centre (or to the bus terminal to visit further afield), whilst this may have been our first visit, it certainly will not be our last.
in a world of cloned, identical hotels the Phoenicia stands out from the crowd

Room Tip: harbour view and balconies are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen3154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We have spent a great week at the beautiful Hotel Phoenicia and would like to thank the staff for always being there to help, nothing was too much trouble. The cleanliness, comfort & the food & wine were excellent . Special thanks to Frieda & Francis, may Valletta keep winning the Cup.!
Will definitely stay here again our next visit, thank you.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor & happy with our room, we faced the bust terminal but got used to any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

When we arrived around midday our room wasn’t quite ready, so we were offered free coffee in the Palm Court Lounge, a lovely large room with a central bar, perfect to soothe us after a very early start to our journey to Malta. After a short wait we were told the room was ready and that our luggage was on the way up. Room 317, a deluxe harbour view room, did not disappoint. It was clean, nicely decorated, comfortable and had a lovely view over Marsamxett Harbour.
The hotel is quite grand, but has charming, welcoming feel. The restaurant and bar are really nice rooms, and the walk down through the gardens to the pool very pleasant. Valletta is virtually next to the hotel, and everything in the city is within easy walking distance. We found some very good restaurants, and lots of friendly Maltese.
Breakfast at the hotel couldn’t be faulted, with a very good selection of hot and cold food, including eggs cooked to order.
Throughout our stay we found every member of staff to be attentive, helpful, friendly and focussed on the needs of the guests. All in all, we were very pleased with The Phoenecia, and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Offthetouristtrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.3 km away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,573 reviews
0.6 km away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,209 reviews
0.3 km away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#5 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.8 km away
Palazzo Consiglia
Palazzo Consiglia
#6 of 13 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phoenicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenicia

Property: Hotel Phoenicia
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Phoenicia 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Phoenicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing