We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely traditonal Hotel worth recommending!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Phoenicia Malta
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valletta
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely traditonal Hotel worth recommending!”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

The hotel has a charm which many modern hotels lack. Rooms were clean with very comfortable beds and pillows.The grounds were kept tidy and the pool area was large enough,with plenty of room for sun beds, even though it is a fair walk from hotel through the gardens. The breakfasts were probably the best we have had in Europe with everything you could possibly want. The staff were very proffesional and friendly. We had no complaints at all for a weeks break from our party of 6 to celebrate a birthday. If I go back to Malta this is where I would stay!!!

Room Tip: All rooms looked ok to us , we had the standard ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,291
    644
    167
    53
    22
See reviews for
242
1,385
113
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Good quality hotel but definitely worth upgrading to a harbour view room as road noise is a bother in lower grade rooms. Friendly, helpful staff and just a hop, skip and jump from the city which is lovely even with most of it currently undergoing renovation/development.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiVol31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in May 2012 in Room 104 which is a Superior room with balcony but NOT refurbished as are the top 2 floors. Also noted that 1st floor is a smoking floor although we had not been told this (but we did not detect any smell of smoke in our room). Do not bother to upgrade to a balcony room unless you can be assured of a garden or harbour view as we had a view of a road, 2 car parks and an artificial sport pitch. The bedroom was a good size and reasonably furnished other than the old style CRT TV - not even wide screen - of 20 years vintage and this is a 5 star hotel? Bed very comfortable although pillows very soft and no alternatives available. The bathroom was large but seriously in need of updating. On arrival in the room the air conditioning would not worked but was fixed quickly following a maintenance visit. The next morning we found that the bracket of the old-style shower was loose and could really only be used as a handheld. This was reported and fixed although still remained essentially an old-fashioned low pressure handheld with a wall bracket. Having sorted out the shower we then discovered that the toilet - not 5 star. Having stopped the water spraying over the floor we realised that the toilet was leaking from the base. This too was reported and fixed. So we can only assume that housekeeping liaison with maintenance is poor as when we reported issues they were fixed straight away. Other than this we thought the housekeeping was good. Overall the hotel was well-staffed with pleasant, helpful and efficient staff. Restaurant service was good with excellent levels of staff attention. Tables cleared and laid swiftly. We had the Sunday night buffet which was excellent and coincided twice with the local tango club night which was great. Club bar was comfortable and hospitable and there was entertainment on several nights. Location was perfect if you want to explore the old city as we did and catch a bus to other sights and the hop on hop off tourist bus stops opposite the hotel. We would certainly stay here again but be very careful about which room we book.

Room Tip: As stated in my review be careful about any rooms not on the 3rd or 4th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citytraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The Phoenicia is a lovely hotel with a taste of old fashioned luxury. It is excellently placed for experiencing the city of Valletta and exploring further afield as it is right next to the bus station. Service is very good, the bars and restaurants all offer top class service and the tucked away outdoor pool is wonderful. Just a word of warning - do not book this hotel through You Travel. We did and You Travel had failed to pay the hotel for our accommodation, which had been paid in full 3 months previously. Eventually following a number of phone calls the bill was paid two days into our stay but an apology from You Travel was not forthcoming. Please take my advice and do not use You Travel ever - hopefully Hotel Phoenicia will also cease to deal with them in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julia15w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The Phoenicia fully deserves its star rating.
The staff are excellently trained....The customer definitely comes first here and nothing is too much trouble.
We were their for our 10th anniversary and had a fabulous time. Try the brasseries.....Wonderful food...Good wine list....Wonderful service and the crepe suzette Mmmmmmmm.
The grounds are lovely and peacefull with lots of little seating areas away from it all. Hard to believe you are less than one minute from the bus station and the walled city of Valletta.
Thanks for a great stay....Ticks all our boxes and one to return to!
Ian & Alison

Room Tip: Corner suite fabulous but it is over the bar so you may here entertainment over the weekend or if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imarobertson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We visited the Phoenicia from May 3rd to 8th and found Valletta to be one of the most interesting cities that we have ever visited. The hotel is ideally located for walking into the old town with much to see, and immediately adjacent to the bus station. The hotel and its rooms are spotlessly clean with a good restaurant, and convenient access to its own beautiful gardens and swimming pool. The staff were extremely competent, friendly and helpful, and the receptionists have a great sense of humour. I fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Hotel phoenicia is a beautiful luxurious hotel in the centre of Valletta. The service was plesant. Especially the restaurant- and roomattendants. The rooms are very pleasant and have all creature comforts. The garden and pool area is wonderful for relaxing and getting away from it all.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.3 km away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,833 reviews
1.9 km away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
0.7 km away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,538 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valletta
533 reviews
0.4 km away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenicia Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenicia Malta

Property: The Phoenicia Malta
Address: The Mall, Valletta, Island of Malta FRN 1478, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Valletta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenicia Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star luxury in Malta’s historic Art Deco hotel. Hotel Phoenicia, one of the leading 5 star hotels in Malta, is located at the City Gates of Valletta, Malta’s capital city and UNESCO heritage city. Just 50 meters from city gate, it is perfectly placed for discovering the historic walled city, feasting on Caravaggio’s paintings and exploring the magnificent harbours. The hotel also boast magnificent 7 acre garden. The island's central bus terminus is just meters away civing the possibility to explore the whole island by bus. A stay at the Hotel Phoenicia is an unforgettable experience. Our charming staff will ensure your every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Phoenicia Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Hotel Valletta
Phoenicia Hotel Malta
Hotel Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing