We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
British Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Osborne Hotel(Valletta)
US$178
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$173/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$245
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$317
US$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Ellul(Valletta)
US$294
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
La Falconeria(Valletta)
US$275
US$255
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palais Le Brun(Valletta)
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$106
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveller rating
88
155
94
68
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
155
94
68
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand harboursmall liftbudget hotelthe buschurch bellsfantastic viewsview from the balconyair conditioningsteep hillold stylemaltarenovation
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 444 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Ideal location, good service and good for short stay. Hotel was clean and suitable for guests who do not require a pool etc and need a good base to return to after days out.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank hugh w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Just back from four nights in Valletta and very happy with our stay here. Yes it's a two star and simple, but the service is first class. Everything spotlessly clean, room done and towels changed every day, flat screen satellite tv (english channels a bit limited but you don't visit Valletta to watch eastenders!), hairdrier, comfortable beds. I contacted reception before our stay to ask if we could have a kettle in our room and it was there waiting, no extra charge. It's worth paying extra for a room overlooking the grand harbour, the view across to Vittoriosa is spectacular. We had 106 - huge balcony with table and chairs to sit out and I spotted some sun loungers in a cupboard, which we didn't use but were clearly available.

Breakfast nothing fancy - juice, tea/coffee, bread, cheese, ham, jam, etc. - but plentiful and good for filling up before a day's sightseeing. Also, it was served in room with same view as above - wonderful!

Location is brilliant - just a short walk from the bus station and everything of interest is within easy reach. If you're in Malta for just a few days, don't bother with the slick but soulless tourist traps up the coast,stay in Valletta at the British hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidmontebello, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

I would like to thank you for your positive comments and am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to mention one small thing , there are actually more than 20 channels in English, amongst them BBC entertainment , BBC news , Eurosport channels, MGM , travel channel ,discovery, discovery & living, Zone reality and quite a few more. Once Again thank you for your feedback
regards

David Montebello
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Its a 2*. The lift does not go to all the floors doing stairs are a problem I would suggest you raise this with them when you book. We arrived at 10:30pm. The kitchen was closed yet the staff, who are extremely friendly managed to sere is soup & a main course with a bottle of local wine. Good value for money. The hotel is dated but good value for money

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinerDinerFaversham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidmontebello, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thank you for your comment . I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and my staff managed to provide some food , even after the restaurant was closed. Its not easy finding somewhere to eat after 10.30pm especially on your first day so I can imagine the feeling of not having to wander at that time looking for a restaurant. Yes some rooms are not accessible by lift all the way due to the old structure of the building which is one of the oldest lodging places of the city dating back to the Knights of St John. It 's what makes it stand out from other hotels in Malta if you like culutre and historical buildings. Once again thanks for the comments
regards

David Montebello
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2012

As with all Maltese people, there is always a welcome and nothing is too much trouble. All the staff were very apologetic about the upgrading taking place, which will make the hotel even more attractive - lovely cool stairwells and newly decorated rooms. Very convenient for everything in Valletta and close enough to the buses and ferries. We will be back again !

Room Tip: Pay out a little extra to get one with a balcony/terrace view across the Harbour - well worth it.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kipper29_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidmontebello, Manager at British Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2012

Thanks for your lovely comments . Works nearly completed in the floors and should be ready just before the two feasts coing up this month and Easter next month which is already quite full . I hope that you can visit us again another year

regards and thanks

David Montebllo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights in mid January then returned for a further 2 nights a few days later after returning from Gozo. We were really impressed with the staff friendliness, cleanliness and the views of the Grand Harbour. The hotel is one of the best for location, close to the good bus services which allows one to travel easily all over Malta and is centrally located near all the restaurants, shops & attractions. In our opinion the Lonely Planet review 'short changes' the hotel. We were travelling in off-season which permitted us to have a spacious harbour view room without pre-booking! The hotel is older style but that adds to its charm.
We wouldn't hesitate in staying again and recommending it to other travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for the harbour view rooms!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter-and-Hilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidmontebello, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2012

Thanks for your positive comments about the staff and the hotel. We try our best to make you feel at home as I know the location alone although one of the best on the island is not enough if you are not made welcome. I look forward to having you or any of your riends staying here again especially now that most of the refurbishment has been completed. Thanks again

David Montebello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews