We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing - I would definitely stay here again!”
other travellers have booked this property
Private Roof Sun Terrace with Panoramic views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Roof Sun Terrace with Panoramic views
Dining with a superb view of Sliema setting your scene Open plan Kitchen, Living, Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
40 reviews
Private Roof Sun Terrace with Panoramic views
Dining with a superb view of Sliema setting your scene
Open plan Kitchen, Living, Dining area
Outside Table & Chairs
Valletta Water Front - Restaurants
View of Sliema from Roof Top Terrace
Kitchen island with Stools
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
The old Telephone and Letter box, by Cafe Cordina a short walk from Old Mint
Shower Room
Kitchen Island
Spiral Staircase to Double Bedroom at Lower Level
Double Bedroom at Lower Level
Relax on the sofa
Upper Barrakka looking over the Grand Harbour a short walk from Old Mint
Enjoy the outdoors in this Historical City
Large Private Sun Terrace with the Penthouse
Dining table
Private Roof Sun Terrace for the sole use with the Penthouse
Water Taxi Valletta to Sliema, just 3 minutes walk from Old Mint
Relax in Valletta
Water Taxi Valletta to Sliema 3 minutes walk from Old Mint
Upper Barrakka Gardens loading of the Canon at Midday
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Valletta, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
KEberhard
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing - I would definitely stay here again!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed in the penthouse apartment for a long weekend and all I can say is that it wasn't long enough! The apartment itself is very impressive, modern facilities whilst the building itself maintains it's old world charm. The penthouse has a very spacious living/dining room with everything provided for to make you feel at home, whilst the bedrooms are equally as comfortable. Most importantly the penthouse comes equip with a fantastic outdoor area with outdoor table/dining chairs to enjoy the lovely weather as well as an impressive rooftop with sunbeds and an amazing view over Valletta/the harbour, with spectacular views of the sunset. The location is also spot on - literally a few minutes walk from various bars/restaurants in Valletta to enjoy the local food (pastizzi!) and night life. The owner Claire was very nice and helpful to answer our questions and provide a source of information on our arrival. I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone thinking of visiting!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location/conditions/apartment - everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMilhazes
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment with amazing rooftop view”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This place is just amazing, the entry of the building is beautiful, makes you feel like you just enter the time of the Knights!!! The penthouse is spotless, spacious and decorated to a high standard. The apartment is very well equipped, the kitchen has everything you need to prepare a meal. There is plenty of outdoor space, there is a balcony with a big table and chairs, just outside the living room, and upstairs there is the rooftop, with sunbeds and an amazing view of Malta, make sure you enjoy a glass of prosecco while watching the sunset!!!!
Claire is so friendly and helpful, always available to give suggestions, thanks for the hospitality. The apartment is in the centre of Valletta, 5min walk to a lot of restaurants and cafes, good places to start the day with a traditional pastizzi! And at night there are plenty of bars with live music a few meters away. Definitely a place to go back!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the sunset on rooftop
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateThorp
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views across Valletta”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I would definitely recommend this apartment. It perhaps isn't suitable for children though, due to the spiral staircase down to the second bedroom. The views are lovely and it was nice to have somewhere to sit outside. The view from the dining room table is to die for. Claire was very helpful, as well as the letting agent lady. I would choose the option of a taxi pick up as the place could be difficult to find and Valletta is very hilly in places. I would recommend the bakery next door for your daily bread and eggs. Be careful of the bakery stairs though! The only reason this place does not get 5 stars, is the fact there were only 3 outside chairs and 3 sunbeds. 1 of these sunbeds was also broken. When the place is advertised for 4 people, surely there should be 4 of everything. When we mentioned it to the letting agent on checkout, she said they had broken last week. We were not sure about this excuse and would have preferred to have been told before hand. That is our only criticism.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Lack of satellite TV channels
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambo49
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Stunning views & great service”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The penthouse was a superb light filled open plan apartment with 360 deg views from the rooftop terrace. Claire the owner was a charming and exceptionally helpful host- even drove us across Valetta to our next accommodation! She was prompt in response to any query and unfailingly cheerful. Recommend the airport pickup service as apartment could be hard to find in old Valletta's narrow streets.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Base for "the real Valletta"”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Valletta has lots of steep steps and road , so difficult for the less mobile.
Old mint No 1 and 2 and the penthouse, have been furnished and decorated to a high standard, the lift to all 3 properties is a +bonus.
Accommodation is great and the view from the Penthouse rooftop is super.
The property is designed for adults (personal opinion) as the spiral staircase for children could pose a problem!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner and agents are 1st rate.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingfishe...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Accommodation and Great Views”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay in the Old Mint Penthouse. It was clean, spacious, well equipped and has excellent outdoor space for relaxing and wonderful views.
Although the penthouse has a second double bedroom, you have to go down some steps to get to it and you would certainly be the loser if you were going with another couple and had this bedroom!!
As mentioned in other reviews of this property the sliding doors to the terrace do not shut or lock, potentially a security problem, but highly unlikely as it would be very difficult to get on to the terrace any other way! Also don't expect much from the TV if your only language is English - anyway there is too much to do and see to want the TV.

I do have a few niggles though:-
a) You will be charged for the use of wifi (Why? Please include it in the overall cost)
b) Your fee includes an allowance of 5 euros per day for electricity, if you use more than this you will be charged (We kept well in our allowance but just used the hot water heater, kettle and toaster).
c) Booking not neccessarily the easiest with additional costs and conversion from GBP to Euro not to your advantage.

Being in the centre of Valletta you are very close to the ferry to Sliema, about 10 minutes from the taxi boat to the Three Cities and the bus station. Republic Street is just 5 minutes away. Two doors away is a bakery, pizza and general store all rolled into one. Valleta is a wonderful place with superb views from many places.

Finally, I would highly recommend the Old Mint Penthouse.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a feedback review and on the whole you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, I would just like to make some points in answer to some of your comments;

1) The second bedroom is accessed via spiral traditional Maltese steps of which are displayed on the advert.

2) The Patio doors from the living area to terrace, have caused us issues in terms of the locking mechanism, which is a manufacture fault of whom will be visiting the Penthouse to again fix the problem.

3) The TV package in English (May 2013) offers as follows; Euronews, CNN International, Euro Sport News, Russia Today, Discovery World, Boomerang (Kids), KidsCo, Physique TV. I have stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels that generally have BBC World News, Euro News, CNN International.

4) Internet Charge, we offer a secure WiFi system that comes without bandwidth restriction 24/7 for Eur5.00 per day and not Eur5.00 per day for 90 minutes as many offer. Like anyone else in business we need to make money, the whole block and accommodation refurbishment cost circa Eur1 million, which is quite an investment and just like hotel we need to make a profit, in return we offer the best private short let accommodation in Valletta.

5) Electric consumption is monitored only due to certain guest that spoil the fun somewhat in leaving lights on and air conditioning when they are not in the accommodation, I note you wasn't charged.

6) We advise on our cost response email the exchange rate and give a link to the website we take the conversion, which is the daily average rate, in terms of certain currency exchange rate companies, banks the rate is fair.

Sorry to perhaps appear defensive I just want to point out in the best possible way my answers to your comments. I am delighted you did on the whole enjoy your stay :) Rgrds Paul...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroppy36
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The penthouse was great and the views were fantastic”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was a beautiful apartment and really well equipped and furnished. The views from the terrace were amazing, but the spiral staircase was not for the faint-hearted or the vertically challenged. We did make a lot of use of the lower balcony area, it was great to have some outside space. The location is ideal, close to the Siema Ferry (Carrefour Supermarket & harbour cruises) and also close to the centre of Valletta and the bus terminus to get to the rest of the island. Our taxi from the airport had trouble finding the address as we didn't have a house number. The website is not great at flagging up the actual address, it is buried in the booking form - NUMBER 21. I missed it and we got dropped off a long way from the apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Access to the terrace (not good with heights)
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing