We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
122
35
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
35
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool boutique hotel pillow menu basement spa decorated differently wedding week beautiful palazzo quiet street lower barrakka gardens amenities including cannot recommend this hotel enough lovely toiletries highly recommend the palazzo steam room reception team ceiling fan free bottled water
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 165 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2017

What an exquisite, delightful gem the Palazzo Consiglia turned out to be. Beyond its exquisite finishing, this Hotel contributed significantly to the success of the wedding week in Malta, thanks largely to the superb service and hospitality extended by the General Manager, Robert and his team, in particular Ksenia, Boyan, Elizabeth and the other ladies on duty at the front desk.

They were responsive, thoughtful, considerate and always on hand to see to our requests. Maricel remembered how I liked my coffee at breakfast, and that I preferred sparkling to still water. Housekeeping was always prompt and clean. Restaurant reservations and transport bookings were efficiently seen to each time. If you're a guest, you also have the option to order in from one of the nearby restaurants - someone from the hotel will be sent to pick up the order, and you can then dine within the hotel itself - either in the foyer area (lovely ambience with the open skylight), or within the cosy breakfast dining room.

The Palazzo Consiglia is the only place to stay in Valletta if you want to avoid crowds, and prefer the intimacy of a sympathetically restored 400-year old Maltese "palazzo" with personalised service.

The below ground spa area is a peaceful haven and sanctuary to escape to after a day's outing, and the roof-top pool and deck chairs are a divine feature, as it overlooks the fortified capital of Valletta.

Dear everyone at the Palazzo Consiglia - our heartfelt thanks for making our stay so memorable. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MajidiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2017

small boutique hotel with very helpful, efficient and friendly staff in the centre of Valletta. Situated in a quiet street near to the city centre with numerous good restaurants and close to the picturesque harbour.

Room Tip: All bathrooms are beautiful but only two rooms have walk in showers
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Palazzo Consiglia for five nights to attend a wedding. Many of the wedding's principals and guests also stayed there as well. All told we took up 9 of their rooms. The staff bent over backwards to meet all our requirements. Example: one of the guests is a university student who needed to study for exams. The manager went out and bought a desk and chair for his room. Whenever we needed extra water the receptionist willingly provided it.

Minor problems such as a clogged drain was fixed promptly as was a loose toilet seat. However the shower door lacked proper seals so water ran out onto the bathroom floor if one took a vigorous shower.

The hotel offers a decent buffet breakfast, not extravagant but with a fair selection of choices. Quantities appear to be limited, though, probably to reduce waste, so go early.

The roof top pool and basement spa and sauna is wonderful.

The hotel's location is very convenient, being in walking distance of many great restaurants such as Nenu the Artisan Bakery. A nearby "must see" is the 'Malta Experience' and a tour of the nearby 'Infirmary'.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ken Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2017

We went to this hotel's lounge for wine and a cheese platter. The wine was visibly cloudy and obviously corked but the staff denied it. It was undrinkable!!! No replacement was offered nor any reduction in the price. The food was mediocre and the presentation was uninspired to say the least. The staff even seemed reluctant to give us our change, seemingly expecting a 25 Euro tip for a substandard product. We would not recommend this hotel for food or drink.

Room Tip: We didn't stay at this hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Midge1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoConsiglia, General Manager at Palazzo Consiglia, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2017

Thank you for putting forward your concerns to the management. I have personally spoken to the team member concerned and took the necessary action in order to ensure such an embarrassing situation does not repeat itself.
Please accept our sincere apologies for not providing the excellent quality of food and service several other guests experienced ever since we have been operating the hotel.

Should you wish to visit us again please do not hesitate to contact me directly. We would really appreciate if you could give us a second chance to make up for your recent negative experience at our lounge.

My sincere apologies once again.

Meanwhile, we look forward to hearing from you,

With warm regards,

Robert Borg Millo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2017 via mobile

I've been fortunate to stay in many lovely hotels but the Palazzo Consiglia was one of the best.

The hotel arranged for a car to collect my sister and I to meet our parents who were already staying at the hotel. We were met with such a warm welcome, hot towels and a drink.

Our room was incredibly spacious and elegant and the beds were very very comfortable. The staff were superb and the breakfast was plentiful. The location of the hotel is also great for exploring all of Valletta!

A truly beautiful hotel with wonderful staff.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Hana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews