We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
The BEST museum in Europe

Being a WWII US Army historian and militaria collector, this museum had been recommended by friends... read more

Reviewed October 30, 2018
Maje88
,
Boston, United Kingdom
Military Museum Diekirch, a little bite more …

3 stores high building, 20 chambers. Chamber 14 is a large room with several vehicles. I visit the... read more

Reviewed September 25, 2018
Peter R
Read all 308 reviews
  
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveller rating
239
62
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
62
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews both sides on display military history definitely worth a visit audio guide huge collection world war large scale clean toilets large number in excellent condition national museum around the corner ww ii couple of hours two hours artillery pieces
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 308 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Wow! There are countless War museums around the world but this one is so wonderfully detailed, authentic, and interesting it stands out! It tells the story of WW2 from both sides and has an abundance of artifacts. Really interesting and glad we didn’t skip it!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Nickykoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MNHM_Diekirch, Leiter Front Office at MNHM National Museum of Military History, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear Nickykoala,

Thank you for this excellent review.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2018

I have visited this museum a half dozen times and I always enjoy it. This was my wife's first visit and she was astounded by the large collection of military vehicles. Two American battle tanks and a couple of American artillery pieces are on display outside the museum and a large number of military vehicles and crew served weapons are found inside. In addition to this, there are uniforms, a large display of both American and German sidearms, grenades, bayonets and fighting knives. Also a large display of military medical items can be found. The museum is primarily a WWII museum but items and information from every conflict that soldiers from Luxembourg have fought in are to be found. Entry is cheap...Euro 7.50 for adults. The one downside is that there is no longer parking available just outside the museum. One has to find parking (and pay) in one of the city parking lots.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Gurney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MNHM_Diekirch, Leiter Front Office at MNHM National Museum of Military History, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2018

Dear Gurney B,

Thank you for your review. I hope you will visit our museum another dozen times. To be clear: Our entry fee is 5€/adult and 3€ for students or children over 10 years. It's even cheaper than you thought.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018

I visited this museum not knowing what to expect: was totally bowled over by the depth and breadth of the collection here and the amazing way it has been displayed. The vehicle hall, packed with everything from Jeeps to a Hetzer, was a total surprise. The staff could not have been more helpful. An absolute must!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank battlefieldhistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MNHM_Diekirch, Leiter Front Office at MNHM National Museum of Military History, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Dear battlefieldhistorian,

Thank you for your great review. It's always good to hear that our visitors appreciate the museum.

Thanks a lot.

Thessy Schmit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2018

My visit here was pre May 2017 so can't recall entry fee but it wasn't expensive. I found 2 hours wasn't long enough, so much to see. I recall one could get a coffee there too but it is just a short walk from the centre of Diekirch where there are plenty of places for refreshment.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank paddywalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MNHM_Diekirch, Leiter Front Office at MNHM National Museum of Military History, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2018

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately you cannot get any coffee here, only refreshments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2018

Very awesome! It didn't look that big from the outside, but you can become lost quickly once your inside from the size of the museum. The museum is well organized and has a nice flow to the way it is sorted. I was amazed at how many vehicles they were able to get upstairs and crammed into one giant room. Plenty of mannequins in different scenes and plenty of different types of artifacts. A must see site!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank kaptin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MNHM_Diekirch, Leiter Front Office at MNHM National Museum of Military History, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2018

Dear kaptin8,

Thank you for your excellent review. We hope that you will visit our museum again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews