We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
262
90
26
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
90
26
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pedestrian zone the main square place d'armes relais chateaux cafe de paris valet service beautiful room hotel is located old town perfect location the bed was extremely comfortable luxury hotel the hotel staff lovely hotel rental car front desk staff third floor
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 386 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2018

My wife and I spent two nights here after a week's bike ride along the Moselle. We don't usually spend this much on a hotel, about $250 per night, but wanted to pamper ourselves. We had a third floor room overlooking the courtyard. The hotel was very quiet, clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The furnishing were quirky, I suppose meant to be stylishly hip, as is the City as a whole, but we didn't share the designer's taste. Probably the most unusual feature was a glass shower stall directly in the sleeping area, providing no privacy for the person taking the shower.

The staff were extremely polite and helpful with good English, and the breakfast, although quite pricey was beyond expectations. Being on the central square provided for live jazz both nights and good people watching.

Room Tip: Note that there are very limited Sunday breakfast options beyond the hotel and McDonalds, cafes and restaurants are closed Sundays.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubert B, Directeur général at Le Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jim O,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience about your stay in our establishment.

We are happy that your stay with us was up to your expectation and that you have enjoyed your stay with us
.
We hope to welcome you again soon

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2018

You cannot find a better location. On the Place d'Armes, in the middle of the pedestrian district, within very short walking distance from most banks, with many restaurant options around. The hotel is in an old house and is part of the Relais et Chateaux association. Breakfast is good, service as well, but our room, despite being very large (and very high as it was under the roof with a beautiful visible beams ceiling) lacked a number of attentions, especially in terms of decoration. No large mirror so guests cannot look at a full size image of themselves before going out. The doors leading to the bathroom and the wc are in glass and transparent on the side ( so much for privacy). Their decorator had the funny idea of selecting a bathroom seat that looks like a giant ball. Funny indeed...until you try to seat on it, something neither the manufacturer, nor the decorator, nor the hotel manager had bothered to do. So, overall, perfect location, nice staff and hotel, but nothing that makes you say: I'll come back.

Room Tip: take a high floor, on the front if you like to look at activity, on the back if quiet
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A7842DKeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubert B, Directeur général at Le Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear A7842Dkeva,

Thank you for sharing with us your Hôtel Le Place d’Armes experience.

Our hotel is indeed in an ideal location, in the heart of the old town of Luxembourg, to allow our guests to discover the city and for shopping, as everything is only a stone throw away.

We take good note of your remarks about your room and thank you as it is thanks to your feedback that we are able to improve our service. However please note that, while not directly available in the room, we do have large mirrors that are available upon request that allow you to have a full view of yourself. In some rooms, the doors leading to the bathrooms and toilets, are made of glass but covered with an opaque film, to ensure privacy when needed, including in the room you were in.

We however still hope to welcome you next time in Luxembourg to experience another one of our 28 rooms and suites.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2018

This is the place to be in Luxembourg, right in the center. We arrived on a Saturday, when the flea market in the Place was in full swing. It was a bit intimidating driving through the crowds--it's a pedestrian precinct--to get to the hotel, but everyone was charming. The hotel is exceptionally well organized--they had told us how to get through the pedestrian precinct; the room was fabulous, a very spacious two-story suite. The hotel is a rabbit warren consisting of three old buildings but everything is charmingly done. Can't comment in food as we did not eat at the hotel, except for breakfast, which is very well done although a bit on the expensive side. The hotel is very service-oriented and has been one of our best experiences in travelling around Europe.

Room Tip: Better not to look out over the Place as it can be noisy. Looking out over the interior courtyards is very agreeable.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubert B, Directeur général at Le Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Dear BenXL,

Thank you for leaving behind such a wonderful comment about your Hôtel Le Place d’Armes experience. Our entire team has our guests’ satisfaction at heart and we are happy that this has transpired during your stay with us!

As we are located in the heart of the pedestrian zone, we send to all the guest that have booked a parking spot in our secure underground parking, detailed instruction to ensure a smooth and untroubled arrival to our hotel.

Speaking of our establishment, it is composed of seven different buildings, some of them being from the 18th century, giving the impression to be lost in time in this modern city of Luxembourg.

We hope to welcome you again for your next trip in Luxembourg and hope that you will be able to discover one of our three different dining experience in one of our three restaurants!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights with my husband. It was the highlight of my entire trip! The rooms were absolutely stunning and the luxurious interior was beautiful! The staff was really helpful and friendly through out my trip. But the best part of this hotel is its location. It’s righttt in the centre of Le Place D’armes and it’s such a happening square, I could go in and out of the hotel any time without worrying about transportation tickets costs etc. Everything is on walking distance and there are a lotttt of cafes, restaurants and shops right in front of the hotel! It’s perfect for a romantic getaway too. Had their breakfast at cafe Le Pless and it was great. Attaching photos! I’d definitely recommend it for a super convenient and comfortable stay!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ak3402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubert B, Directeur général at Le Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Dear Ak3402,

Thank you for sharing with us your Hotel Le Place d’Armes experience.

Our hotel is composed of seven different buildings and 28 uniquely decorated rooms and suites, allowing our guests to discover unique atmospheres in every rooms!

As you mentioned, our location in the heart is ideal to go and discover everything this city has to offer! And the shops are only a stone throw away!

We hope to see you again in Luxembourg and give you the chance to discover another of our collection of rooms.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

This was a beautiful hotel. The food was amazing. The staff were very friendly and efficient. I would definitely recommend this hotel. It is fantastic. It is suitable for all, those with children and without.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubert B, Directeur général at Le Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Dear Clare B,

Our entire team is happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for sharing your experience with us.

We would be more than happy to welcome you again soon for your next Luxembourgish trip.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews