We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
65
17
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
17
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock wall no elevator bar next door ventilation system upper part eggs to order top floor old town glass wall quiet at night bars and restaurants the location is perfect visiting luxembourg first floor comfortable bed city centre francois
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What they don't tell you when you book is that the place is closed from 1600. We arrived at 6pm after a tiring drive to find the place locked. No response on pressing the intercom. Once we found wifi we eventually found an email with an access code which was sent that day. Not that helpful if you are traveling and don't have constant email access. The second issue is that it is dangerous carrying bags up and down the stairs to the rooms. We were on the top floor and had to negotiate two spiral staircases with our bags to get to the room. Not recommended for anyone with a health condition. Lastly lots of little annoyances - the shower didn't work (it just leaked on the floor) which was just as well as you cant stand up in the bath; the double bed was two single mattresses pushed together; parking is expensive ($50 a day) or inconvenient (have to keep on topping up the meter every three hours). For what they charge I would expect better than this. We never felt welcome..

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018

On a trip back home from Germany we were looking for a place to sleep. We didnt’t stay at the hotel because my husband was unable to go to the 4th floor. It was really a pitty because this is really a beautiful hotel. It’s in the quiet Grund area of the city just next to the elevator to go to the “top” area of the city. The lady at the reception was extremely friendly, she helped us to find another hotel in the city.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nisic1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2018

My wife and I have a lovely stay for one evening in Luxembourg. The location of La Pipistrelle was enticing with the elevator next door taking us up to the old city.
This small intimate property is beautifully designed and appointed.
The staff was gracious and made sure we had a good spot to park the car nearby.
The breakfast was good
We stayed during a period of very hot weather. Since the hotel is anchored against the rock wall of the old city it helps keep the temperature more moderate in both summer and winter. The hotel doesn't have air conditioning, but it stayed reasonably comfortable. Adding air conditioning or at least an electric fan would be my only suggestion.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2018

we were so excited as we came down the windy road to the lower area of Luxembourg. We felt like we were entering a grown up Disney land. We found this gem of a place called LA Pipistrelle. As you enter you feel like you are visiting a place from hundred of years ago that was brought into the 21 century. - the owners succeeded in creating an amazing and fun room while keeping with the criterion of unesco- so no elevator and that means walking up stairs that are over a 100 years old.. very narrow. The room was decorated to give the feeling that your coming home after a fun day exploring luxembourg.

Room Tip: we loved the second floor - couldn't see going up those spiral stairs with our suitcases
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank brendann20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2018

Staying at La Pipistrelle is a one-of-a-kind experience. We came with friends and since I made all the reservations, they didn't know about the B&B being built right into the wall of the old city fortress and were so excited when we entered! It was a perfect mixture of history and edgy newness. The B&B itself seems brand new but they've preserved the integrity of the original building by using the wall of the mountain as one of their walls, preserving the old wooden stairs, and mixing older pieces of furniture in with the modern amenities. Francoise, the owner welcomed us in and made us feel like we were old friends returning for a visit. We had the first floor room (2nd floor if you are American)which was spacious, clean, and bright. There is a Nespresso machine in the room. The glass enclosed bathroom was modern and minimalist, but featured the original fortress rock wall with lighting. The bed and linens were of fine quality and super comfortable, especially after walking all over the city! There are some nice tables to sit at outside. As we sat waiting for the others in our group one morning, Francoise was so kind and offered all of us some complimentary coffees, a lovely way to start the day! We did not opt for the breakfast, but Francoise gave us some excellent recommendations of places to eat! It's location is perfect, right in the heart of the historic and charming Grund District. There is an elevator two doors down that you can take directly up to the city and it is also just a short walk to the fortifications. Unfortunately, it is not accessible for those with mobility issues.

Room Tip: Know that the third and fourth floor rooms are only accessible using a spiral staircase that doesn't have a railing.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 1Lizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews