We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
14
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 15 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2018

Bastion Inn is my favorite accommodation I've ever stayed in my life.
The owner Burc is very amazing and helpful, he could solve any problem you have if it is possible. The room is very comfortable and clean, you would be able to enjoy the tasty food made by Burc and fresh air in the backyard. I really hope I would have a chance travel back to North Cyprus again in Bastion Inn!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank YuehCathay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melike K, Owner at Bastion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2018

Dear Yueh,

It is an honour to be the 'favorite accomodation' of our guests:) Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed our comfortable and clean room and facilities. Bastion Inn will be waiting for you.

Best,
Burc & Melike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2018

We stayed in the Pomegranate room which was lovely – compact but bijou – with a shower room ensuite. All immaculate.
Traditional Turkish breakfast was delicious.
Burc could not have been more helpful in suggesting places to visit and where to eat for dinner.
It's just 5 minutes walk from the Ledra Palace pedestrian crossing. Parking can be a bit tricky but there is a car park just round the corner.

Room Tip: The Pomegranate Room is the most traditional being in the old part of the buiding. Free wifi
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieMacPosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melike K, Owner at Bastion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2018

Dear Rosie,

thank you for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed our breakfast. Your feedback on the car park would be very useful for our future guests I believe.

Looking forward to host you again.

Best,
Melike & Burc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2017

I stay in many hotels all over the world and seldom give a 5 star rating but The Bastion Inn deserves it. I stayed 2 nights at the hotel during a self booked holiday in Northern Cyprus. This is a small and intimate place that was built as a private home by one of the owner's grandfather and was recently renovated as a hotel with just 3 guest rooms. The owners also live on the premises. I booked the Bastion Inn because it was inside the Nicosia (Lefkosa) old city walls while most other hotels are outside. Arriving by taxi it was possible to drive right up to the door although the old city streets can be a bit confusing with one ways and in one case a street blocked by a van with no driver in sight. Google maps GPS worked well using the address provided with the booking.

The hotel is modest from the outside but obviously newly renovated and in keeping with the area. The front section contains one guest room, a guest lounge and the owner's kitchen and office. A separate back section contains 2 guest rooms and the owner's bedroom. A lovely courtyard is between the 2 sections with table and chairs, a couple of loungers and pretty gardens including mature pomegranate tree. Breakfast was served in the courtyard but could also be served in the wide hall of the front section in case on inclement weather. Tea/coffee making facilities and mineral water were always available in the hall way.

My room was in the back section. It had 2 single beds with old fashioned iron bedsteads, a small desk, fridge, closet and a good sized bathroom. The latter was decorated with pretty blue patterned times and had a nice sized shower which was something of a luxury after several previous hotels with showers apparently made for midgets. The area was surprisingly quiet at night given that it is a dense residential neighbor hood. There was good in-room wifi that also stretched to the courtyard. Breakfast was served any time from 8am onwards and tailored to your request. I had traditional Cypriot both days which was fresh and ample.

Being within the old city walls it was easy to walk to all of Nicosia's tourist sites and pop back to the hotel for a rest before striking out again. The owners helpfully provided a tourist map and suggested places to visit. I particularly liked the Dervish Pasa Mansion which is only about a block away, Rustems' bookshop and Buyuk hammam. In Nicosia there are very few places open for eating at night. I struggled to find anywhere after 8pm the second night. I am sure that there were places - I just couldn't find them and the streets were mostly dark in the main pedestrian area.

One thing that guests should bear in mind is that the Bastion Inn only takes cash so plan to have enough to pay for accommodation on arrival. Their tariff seemed very reasonable for the quality and I paid in euros but it is also possible to use TL or USD. Incidentally, the owners speak excellent English.

I highly recommend the Bastion Inn as a very convenient and relaxing place to spend a night or two or maybe more.

Room Tip: With only 3 rooms I expect that they are all good
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melike K, Owner at Bastion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2018

Dear Jane,

After solving an issue to be able to finally respond to this very kind and nice comment, I am here to thank you.

It was great to host you, we still have the book you left for our guests/us, and there were few other books left after you, so if you come back one day to Bastion Inn, there will be new books to read:)

It is nice to hear that we could make you feel comfortable with our facilities, and I am sure your comments will provide a realistic image of Bastion Inn for our future guests.

Best,
Melike & Burc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melike K, Owner at Bastion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews