We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing wedding events”
Review of Hilton Cyprus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Cyprus
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Nicosia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We attended two wedding events over the weekend and unfortunately I have to say that in general the food was a disappointment. The cocktail reception was held in a room to small for the number of people and the air-conditioning was almost non-existant. The nibbles were something I could have made at home and knowing the price that was charged for this event it was unacceptable! The drinks however were very nice.

We then attended the dinner which was reasonably good for a buffet however I did choke on a salmon bone that caused me to go to the washrooms in order to remove it. Much more care should be taken in both cases, it is the Hilton after all.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank eyhcyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive review which is appreciated. We were sorry to see that the wedding reception you attended was not to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies regarding the salmon bone and your comments regarding the food have been passed on to our Executive Chef, for his direct attention and care.

Regretfully, when the terrace doors and fire exits are left open so that smokers can mingle outdoors, the air-conditioning although working non-stop, is of course, not as effective.

Also the attendance at Cypriot weddings is somewhat unpredictable, with many wedding receptions being more popular and having a much higher attendance than anticipated, which is always great for the couple concerned.

Please be assured that the Management's intention is to continue improving the product in order to attain our guest's complete satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,097)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Cyprus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

744 - 750 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

I was there for two nights at the hotel was beautiful, excellent spa and a delicious breakfast
Service is very good

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Araz-ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mragheb, General Manager at Hilton Cyprus, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

We were pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your taking the time to post your constructive review.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus, in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

In Nicosia, I usually stay at the Hilton Park, which I have reviewed -- I said there weren't any really good hotels in Nicosia and, although the first tier wasn't as good as it would be in other cities, it's good enough and the Hilton Park is in it. On this trip, I decided I wanted a change, and especially the possibility of a better breakfast, and so I tried the Hilton. It is better than the Hilton Park, but it's also quite a lot more expensive and the question is: is the improvement in facilities worth the extra money?

I can't quite make up my mind. Service here is good, but so it is in the Hilton Park. The rooms here are a little better, the breakfasts are quite a lot better, the bar is marginally better and there is a choice of restaurants, which the Hilton Park does not have. I didn't eat in any of them, though, so I can't comment on quality.

With one exception, the staff are friendly and helpful. I decided to ignore the one exception -- an older man (about my age, in fact), who responded to my request to extend my stay by an extra night in a way that astonished me. Okay, they were full, but a simple "I'm terribly sorry, I wish I could help but I'm afraid we're full" would have been fine. I did not expect to be treated as though I'd asked him to pimp his granddaughter. I think, though, that that is simply his manner and I'd guess he's senior enough that -- although they must be aware that he is no PR man for Hilton -- no-one feels able to retire him.

I'm left with the question I started with -- is it worth the extra money? -- and I still don't know. But I have to go back to Cyprus shortly and the fact is that I'll probably choose the Hilton again. So I suppose I must think it is. Just.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bagster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive review which is much appreciated.

We were glad to see that your stay with us met your expectations and was to your general satisfaction.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the incident with the Front Desk and kindly be assured that our Front Desk Manager has been alerted accordingly, to ensure that there is no such repetition.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus, in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We had a 5 night stay in July 2012 whilst my girlfriend presented at an international academic conference at the university nearby. The hotel is situated not far from the centre of town, just off one of the main streets into the centre. We checked in at 3am after a flight from the UK, all was well, our room was ready for us, the night checkin was straightforward and quick. Our room was a good size with a balcony overlooking the parking lot and entrance. The room had climate control, a must when outside temperatures were in the high 30s Celsius.

There is a variety of bars and restaurants in the hotel, we used a couple which were typical of any international hotel, quite expensive but great service from the waiting staff and a good choice of drinks.

There is a lovely swimming pool, ideal to cool down, and sun loungers around it. The lifeguards and pool attendants who gave out towels for the pool were again friendly and helpful.

The hotel is a fair walk from the old town, around 30 minutes, which in the intense heat can be tiring, the good news is that taxis are plentiful and cheap, around 6 euros during the day and 7 at night. There is a bell just outside the front entrance to call a taxi and they appear very quickly.

The reception and porters were very helpful.

A nice stay in a great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkMYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

We were very pleased to read that your 5 night stay with us was an enjoyable one and that our team members were friendly and helpful throughout your visit. It was good to hear that the amenities and services provided within the hotel were to your satisfaction and that the taxi service was prompt.

Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review which is appreciated and we look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Excellent service!! Profeesionals and at the same timefriendly approach.
The breakfast is superb; the atmsosphere in the pool bar is very relaxing; we have organised a business meeting followed by a corporate presentation and then dinner offered to approximately 65 guests (out top business partners in Cyprus) and everything went smoothly & nice; perfect evening!!

Room Tip: Very nice spacious rooms
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tassos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

We were very pleased to see that you were impressed with our team who met your high expectations and that the services and amenities provided, contributed to your Company's organised events being such a success.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback and we certainly look forward to your return visit, in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed at the Hilton for one night end of June 2012. The Hilton is located at the heart of Nicosia. Excellent location.

The rooms are really clean and of high luxury. They need a serious renovation though since they look quite old and heavy. When staying there you dont really bother to look at the old doors or the dated carpet floor since the rooms is offering everything you need.

Breakfadt was included in the room price but it was nowhere near to a 5star luxury hotel. Had better breakfasts at 4star hotels many times. Comparing it to other 5* hotels it feels really poor.
In any case the breakfast is usually included in the room price so take advantage of it.

I have been a member of the hiltonia fitness club for the last 3 years so i can write a couple of things on that also. The outside pool is just perfect. Great atmosphere, calmness even on summer Sundays that gets a bit crouded. The inside underground pool is really small though and not always at a good temperature during winter. Thr gym is quite good. A bit crowded from locals that are members of the fitness club so dont expect easy access to all the facilities at all times.

The outside pool bar serves great coffees, coctails, juices but a bit pricey. Not much compared to coffee shops in Nicosia and Limassol.
The serious problem is when it comes to dining at the pool bar-restaurant or even ordering food to eat on you sunbed.
The prices are close to 2 Michelin Star restaurants in France or Spain. Just unacceptable to serve pool bar food on plastic tables and sunbeds and charging it double the price of good restaurants or bar-restaurants in Nicosia or Limassol. Never eaten there and not planning to.

Overall the Hilton Cyprus is a really good experience. Pricey but good. Certainly not value for money.
Would recommend it for business trips, anniversaries or 1-2 days stays for higher budget tourists that want to see a bit of Nicosia.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IasonasCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us your detailed and most constructive review, which is much appreciated.

We were pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that overall you were satisfied with the services and amenities provided. Admittedly, our prices are somewhat higher than Europe in general, although, we do try to keep them as competitive as possible and in line with other 5* hotels on the island.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This is probably the best hotel in Nicosia. The rooms are nice and clean, the swimming pool is great. The staff is helpful. The breakfast buffet is adequate. The only drawback is that it is far from the old town. Practically, you need a car to go to the old town. Another drawback is that sometimes, the swimming pool is closed early on weekends for local weddings.

Room Tip: Try a high floor.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hexagone6x6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Thank you for posting your constructive review of our hotel which is much appreciated. We are pleased to see that you had and enjoyable stay with us and our amenities/services were to your high expectations.

Weddings by the Pool can be somewhat of an inconvenience to our resident guests, we must agree, but there is a great demand for this which we do try to keep to a minimum, with the majority being held indoors. As you can appreciate weddings are a very big social event in Cyprus and are inherent in the culture.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cyprus, in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nicosia
4.1 km away
Hilton Park Nicosia
Hilton Park Nicosia
#2 of 26 in Nicosia
656 reviews
3.2 km away
Asty Hotel
Asty Hotel
#3 of 26 in Nicosia
466 reviews
1.5 km away
Centrum Hotel
Centrum Hotel
#5 of 26 in Nicosia
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#4 of 26 in Nicosia
176 reviews
3.9 km away
Merit Lefkosa Hotel & Casino
35.5 km away
Golden Bay Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cyprus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cyprus

Address: Archbishop Makarios III Avenue | Agioi Omologitai, Nicosia 1077, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nicosia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nicosia
#1 Spa Hotel in Nicosia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nicosia
#3 Business Hotel in Nicosia
Price Range: $270 - $583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cyprus 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Cyprus is the only 5 star hotel in Nicosia and counts over 45 years of experience. Location: Just 45km/30 minutes from Larnaca International Airport and only 15 minutes walking distance from the city centre, shopping and entertainment areas; conveniently located next to the business district. Accommodation & Room Types: There are 294 rooms available out of which 19 are suites and 76 Executive rooms. Hilton Guest Rooms: All Hilton guest rooms are non – smoking and feature a working desk, direct-dial telephone line, Internet and wireless connection, TV and Pay-TV, hairdryer, mini bar, electronic lock system, individually controlled air-conditioning, smoke detectors, sprinklers, private balcony,safe deposit boxes, bathrobe and slippers, magnifying mirror and tea & coffee making facilities. Executive Rooms: All Executive rooms, which are 20% larger than the Hilton guest rooms, are fully equipped and decorated to the highest standard, enabling you to unwind in comfort after a hard day, or to continue working effectively from your room. Guests staying in the Executive Wing can enjoy complimentary access to the Executive Lounge. The Executive Lounge allows you to lounge in an elegant environment where breakfast, hot drinks and cold refreshments, cocktails and canapés are served free of charge throughout the day. International newspapers and magazines and a comfortable satellite TV corner make the Lounge a real “home away from home”.Accessible rooms are also available. Services & Features: Guest facilities and services also include a Business Centre, shopping gallery with a hairdresser & barbershop, bookshop, bank, taxi and car rental services and free car park facilities. Free WiFi is available in all public spaces of the hotel.The hotel also offers various meeting rooms and facilities that can accommodate either a small meeting or a conference for up to 720 delegates. The Hiltonia Health Club features a fitness centre with outdoor and indoor swimming pool, 4 tennis courts, a squash court, and Spa area with steam bath, Jacuzzi, Sauna and beauty centre, which allows you to pamper yourself with a massage and spa treatments. Dining & Entertainment: The Fontana restaurant is available for all-day dining. Enjoy our Hilton Breakfast, in the morning, and for lunch or dinner choose from a wide variety of traditional or international buffet or the a la carte menu. If you are seeking a comfortable and friendly atmosphere, the Paddock Bar invites you, after a hard day’s work, to enjoy cocktails and drinks by ordering your favourites. The Lobby Lounge of the hotel allows you to lounge in a relaxing atmosphere and invites you to enjoy aromatic coffees and delicious dessert or even a light snack including Hilton Classic meals. Traditional afternoon tea is served daily on weekdays. Enjoy refreshing cocktails and tempting snacks at the seasonal Pergola Grill & Bar, situated next to the outdoor swimming pool. At night time Pergola transforms into a magnificent restaurant offering a tempting a la carte menu with a wide selection of grilled dishes, delicious steaks and the finest wines and spirits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Cyprus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cyprus Hotel Nicosia
Hilton Hotel Cyprus
Hilton Hotel Nicosia
Hilton Nicosia
Nicosia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing