We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Restful Rioca”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Rioca

Villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa
Lounge area Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Villa
Lounge area
Kitchen
Master bedroom
Relax in the Gazebo
Beach at Coral Bay
Lovely grounds
Old Cypriot village
Paphos harbour
Coral bay beach
Beautiful mature gardens
Alfresco dinning
Beautiful views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Paphos, Paphos District

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michael L
Middlesbrough
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Restful Rioca”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

I've just returned from Cyprus after my 4th visit to Villa Rioca. I can't emphasize enough how much my family enjoy staying here and so I'm reviewing it again to help readers decide if it's for them. My original review is entitled 'Secluded and Restful'.
Villa Rioca is situated just over 2 miles uphill from Coral Bay. The access road is little more than a single lane tarmac track lined with Villas, street lights and pavements in places, but unlit and pitch black where it runs through plantations. The distance from Pafos airport is about 19.25 miles and the owners directions are excellent and easy to follow.
The front of the Villa looks out over a ravine to the suburbs of Peyia while at the rear there are views across the valley of a dry river bed to high ground we (being Western movie fans) have christened 'Apache Ridge'. There are also side sea views to be enjoyed.
Entering the Villa, the ground floor is open plan with a spacious, well equipped kitchen and dining area with seating for 6.The lounge has 2 leather sofa's, fireplace, TV, WiFi, satellite and DVD. There is a downstairs cloakroom and the 3rd twin bedroom is also located downstairs.
A marble staircase leads up to the 2nd twin bedroom with its own small balcony where stunning sunsets can be appreciated. The master bedroom is very spacious with 2 patio doors leading onto a balcony and terrace with table and seating for 4 people. All bedrooms are en suite and the master en suite is equipped with a corner bath featuring a moulded seat for those too tired to stand while taking a shower. All the beds are comfortable and there is ample wardrobe space. At the rear of the Villa is the pool area.
This comprises a sheltered outdoor dining area with seating for 6, leading onto a terrace that wraps around a 10m x 5m pool fitted with Roman steps and a pool ladder. Other features - a BBQ featuring a sink with running water, a shower to wash off the sun cream and good quality sunbeds, parasols and occasional tables allow 6 people to enjoy the pool terrace and the gardens. The gardens are well stocked with Palms, Strelitzia, Hibiscus, Bouganvillea and Cactus and these can be enjoyed from the shade and comfort of a wooden Pergola equipped with a small suite of cane furniture. The gardens are maintained by 2 very hard working Bangladeshi gardeners - nice lads, so say hello if they turn up during your stay. We have also met the agent for this property and we can confirm that Helen and her partner are very approachable, helpful and again, are real nice people. I've never met the owners but from the way they answer my email inquiries, I've formed the opinion that they are anxious for visitors to enjoy their stay and will respond promptly to requests for assistance. I would definitely recommend car hire as it will give guests the freedom to access Supermarkets, Restaurants and Cafes in and around the Coral Bay area as well as enabling sightseeing around the island. Again, I would also recommend taking a small LED torch to aid in seeing and being seen should the urge to enjoy an evening stroll into Coral Bay seize you.
In conclusion, if you like peace and quiet, if you want independence and a home from home with the freedom to do want you want, when you want, then this Villa is most certainly for you!
PS. Thanks to former guest Milly for the use of her Map.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gardens
Liked least: My son's untidiness.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41_mrsg
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Villa, stunning views, great holiday”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at Villa Rioca and can honestly say that it lives up to all the previous reviews. The Villa is spacious, immaculate, modern with everything you would possibly need and ask of a villa. The booking process was quick and easy and Russell very helpful with any queries we had. Before arriving at the villa we had read about the distance from amenities in the reviews but shrugged it off as we as a family enjoy to walk - but bear in mind that it's a different story when you have 32 degree heat from the sun! ha ha so we decided to hire a car for a week. Before we hired the car we relied on taxi driver Kev 00357 96 483474 who is the most honest, helpful, reliable cab driver we have ever known and was willing to help us in any way he could. - he even dropped us a loaf of bread at 5am one morning to save us going to the shops! Coral Bay & Paphos where great places but we was quite happy to stay by the villa and have drinks on the terrace. Overall the holiday, villa locals and place was great and we have already said that Cyprus especially Villa Rioca is on our holiday list for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everthing
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place, great location, wow!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

What a stunning villa, clean, great views and a fantastic pool. The villa comes equipped with all that you will ever need, including the much needed wifi for the teenagers!! The owners were very easy to book with, offering great insight into the island. Can't recommend highly enough.
A fantastic family holiday was had by all and we can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Ultimate Relaxing Holiday - A Real Gem!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Stayed with partner and little one for a week in this most lovely villa based just up the hill from Coral Bay near Peyia. First impressions are very important on holiday and the villa really does have that 'Wow' factor! Beautiful location looking down on Coral Bay from the immaculate garden and swimming pool terrace and the surrounding countryside.

Inside the open plan kitchen is well appointed with a lovely cool lounge and dining room. Also downstairs is a lovely cool twin bedroom with ample storage and separate large ensuite - we could really see that the villa could easily accommodate a larger family or three couples.

A marble staircase leads to another twin bedroom again with large ensuite plus the master bedroom which looks out to a large terrace on the first floor overlooking the beautiful gardens and a wonderful sea view - perfect for evening drinks and dinner by candlelight!

It's obvious that great care and attention has been given to provide a perfect Cyprus holiday experience - we spent a lot of time at the villa but it was also well-placed to visit the beautiful hill towns and villages plus the beaches of Coral Bay or further afield to Paphos and Petra tou Romiou - 'Aphrodite's Birth Place'.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gardens and Pool
Liked least: Leaving! Wished we'd booked for two weeks!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The loaction and amount of space
Liked least: coming home to the English weather!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adrian D
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Villa, Stunning Views”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Great villa and stunning views, loved every minute of our stay there and here is why.

The views to the back of the villa are sensational, my wife preferred the mountain view and I preferred the sea view, but talk about cake and eat it, we had both and was just a view you would never get tired of.

The gardens were impeccable and a lovely gazebo area which looks especially nice after dark with the outside lights on.

We really enjoyed and made use of the excellent sized swimming pool and the sunbeds were very good quality too and plenty of shade when needed from the parasols. Made our lazy days by the pool most enjoyable.

Inside the Villa is lovely too, the kitchen is spacious and very well equipped including nice big fridge/freezer.

Master bedroom was a good size room with a good size bed. Second bedroom upstairs had a nice little balcony to the front of the house which we enjoyed first thing in the morning.

The main upstairs balcony is a great space and enjoyed so many sunsets looking out to the aforementioned mountains and sea. The excellent IPod dock provided a nice bit of background music.

Are there any downsides? Maybe one depending on how important privacy is to you in that to the left of the villa there are two other properties that look out directly over the property, this initially did concern us, but one remains empty most of the summer as this is used mostly as a winter residence and the other you would hardly know they are there so neither are holiday lets which might have made this a different story. It was lovely and peaceful the whole time we were there and this is pretty much borne out by previous reviews.

One final point, the villa owners were extremely helpful throughout the booking process and always willing and ready to respond to requests for information, also the local agent was very friendly and helpful the couple of times we needed her.

All in all a fantastic villa and would thoroughly recommend it to you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 23, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and views
Liked least: Chilly pool when weather was cool
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing