We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great holiday at this beautiful villa”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Chilbury Mortimer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Chilbury Mortimer
Welcome to Chilbury Mortimer! The Kitchen has a Fridge Freezer, Dishwasher, Microwave, Oven / Hob and lots of cupboard space.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Welcome to Chilbury Mortimer
Welcome to Chilbury Mortimer!
The Kitchen has a Fridge Freezer, Dishwasher, Microwave, Oven / Hob and lots of cupboard space.
The kitchen is stocked with lots or cutlery, crockery and glasses.
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining Room with solid oak table and chairs. The table can extend to seat 8 people.
The Dining Room has patio doors leading to the pool or covered verandah with built in bbq.
Dining Room
The Living Room has a corner sofa that can seat 6 people.
There is a 42' plasma TV with android system giving access to all UK TV, Sport, Movies, News, Music.
The Living Room is light and airy with ac / ceiling fans. Patio doors lead onto the 2nd verandah.
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
There is a lovely log fire to keep you cosy in the wintertime : ) Central heating is also available.
The Downstairs Bedroom
Bed 2 is a double room on the groundfloor with fitted wardrobes, ac and ceiling fans.
The Downstairs Bedroom
The Downstairs Bedroom
The Downstairs Bedroom
Stairs
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Second Bathroom
Second Bathroom
Second Bathroom
Terrace
Terrace
Terrace
Patio
Patio
Patio
The photos were taken in winter when we had a huge supply of logs! In the Summer these are not there
Patio
Patio
The Pool
The Pool
The 10m x 4m Pool with Roman Steps making it easier to slip into the water.
The Pool
The Pool
The Pool
Grounds
Grounds
Grounds
Entrance
Street
This Fabulous Beach is only a 5 minute walk away!
The Beautiful Sea Caves Coastal Path
Beautiful Fitted Kitchen with Granite Worksurfaces
More of the Kitchen
The Solid Oak Dining Suite
Bedroom 2
Stylish Bedrooms have En suites and Verandahs
Plunge into the Private 10m x 4m Infinity Pool
Bathrooms have Cool, Beautiful Italian Tiles
Sip a Glass of Wine and Enjoy a Fish Meze at Agios Georgious Harbour
Cyprus is Rich in History and Antiquities
Relax on Coral Bay's Sandy Blue Flag Beaches
There are Stunning Sea and Mountain Views
Capture Magnificent Sunsets on Beaches 5 mins walk away
A Terracota Pot Overflows into the Infinity Pool
The Gardens are A Wonderful Place to Relax in.
More of Chilbury Mortimer Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Paphos, Paphos District

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Thomas K
Hamilton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great holiday at this beautiful villa”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We returned just yesterday from a two-week holiday at Chilbury Mortimer and I'm writing this review on behalf of all the family - 3 adults and 3 kids (aged 7, 10 and 11). Our family take a villa holiday each year - recently in Portugal, Lanzarote and Orlando - and this was undoubtedly the best villa yet. It was spotlessly clean and well-presented but the most impressive features were the outside space and the infinity pool. We adults could chill-out with a glass of wine in the shade of the porch, whilst still keeping a eye on the kids as they played in the pool. We also used the barbeque and outside dining table as a break from restaurant dining. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the stay at this beautiful villa and the owner, Louise, couldn't have been more helpful. For example, when I told Louise that the pump for the 'infinity pool' had stopped working, she arrived at the villa within the hour and got the pool maintenance contractor to fix the problem next morning. Also, although the supermarket is only a 10-minute walk from the villa, the free car included was a great bonus for easily ferrying heavy supplies back home. In fact, when the car battery gave up, Louise again came to the rescue and the battery was changed next day. We were also pleasantly surprised to find that the car supplied was a 7-seater so we could all travel to Paphos to visit the archaeology park.

In our experience, it's rare to discover an ideal villa with such a genuine, caring owner and so we thoroughly recommend Cilbury Mortimer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside space and pool
Liked least: Weather a little too hot!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
Hi Tom,
Thank you so much for your lovely review and it was wonderful to meet you all! It is rewarding to have such lovely feedback and I hope to meet you all again. I value all of my customers and understand that it is a big decision to book a holiday online. The reviews people give others confidence to book holidays with owners directly - so thank you Tom and to everyone who has stayed at Chilbury and taken time to give us feedback.

Take Care and hope to welcome you back in the future! : )

Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnetteSk...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellence place to chill & Relax”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

It was a lovely villa - Very well located - within walking distance of the beaches. Louise - the owner was very helpful in providing information on places to visit - a car was provided for our use- this was very generous of her - we had a couple of little issues - one fan is the twin room was very noisy - but was not overall a concern to spoil our holiday - The pool could have been a little bit more crystal clear and maybe maintained , more visits by the pool cleaning guy - but overall an excellent villa. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Maybe a little local traffic noise - not too much though!!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
Dear Annette,
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. It was lovely to meet you all and I am glad you had a great holiday together!
Take Care
Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Immaculate spacious villa with all home comforts”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We enjoyed a peaceful holiday in Coral bay. Louise is the most helpful and friendly owner. We arrived very late at night she organised the transfer and left milk, wine, bread etc in the fridge. She let us use her car and left us alone to enjoy our holiday. The location of the property is perfect - in a quiet residential street, 15 mins walk from the centre of Coral bay and close to a beautiful beach. The house was very comfortable, clean and tidy, it is homely and the kitchen is as fully equipped as at home. The bedrooms are good sizes with plenty of wardrobe space. The pool is a perfect size and the outside dining area and comfortable lounge a real bonus. The house has views over the mountains from the balcony. It is a beautiful property. We loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2015
Dear Julia,
Thank you very much for leaving us such a glowing review! I have a lovely team who take care of everything at Chilbury and it is so rewarding to hear that our guests are enjoying their holidays with us.
Thank you very much for choosing Chilbury and we hope to welcome you back in the future : )
Take Care
Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great villa in a quiet location, but not too far from lots of stuff to do.”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The villa location is very good. It sits just outside the main tourist area of Coral Bay, nr Paphos. Trips both ways up the coasts and inland were fab.
You can walk to the beach and to a small supermarket for supplies.
The villa itself is well set up and the outside living and private pool are perfect.
Overall a great place to unwind and have some fun with my teenage kids.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outside living space
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2015
Dear Richard,
Thank you very much for holidaying at Chilbury and for the feedback that you left us. I am glad that you had a lovely holiday with your family. Anything we can do to help you in the future, please let me know.

Best Wishes

Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony b
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“paradise”
Reviewed March 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have just read the review of November 2014. what can i say, it is totally unfounded, his comments are cruel and damaging, i just felt we had to say being just a few weeks there before them I just can not understand all his comments, he evidently must live in a palace that is all i can say. The host was attentive and obliging in every way and she should be proud in the way she looked after us. we are booking the villa again this year and we are very well travelled and I only stay in the best places, so I will leave the gentleman with this in mind. if you can not say any thing nice do not say anything at all.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2015
Dear Antony,
thank you so very much for your review - it really means a lot thank you! We have had reviews since the 'November one' through Owners Direct however not on Trip Advisor - to receive comments like that were quite upsetting to say the least!
It would be great to see you again - just let me know when is a good time for you. It was lovely to meet your family this time Antony and anything I can do to help with your plans to come back, please let me know.

Take care
Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heatherad...
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“disappointing villa”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I am very sorry to have to write this review of the villa but I feel it is only fair to let other travellers know of our experience especially in light of the current glowing reviews on tripadvisor and Owners Direct. When arriving at the villa we were very pleased with the size and location and the thoughtful welcome package. This was soon outweighed by the realisation that the villa facilities were badly in need of some upgrading. We soon realised that there were no teaspoons! teatowels, bathmats, only 5 cups (one a children’s snowman cup) 2 tumblers, no shower curtain over the bath/shower, only 3 unbroken loungers, light shade and bulbs missing, controls for the fan/lights not working and the settee and chairs on the terrace falling apart. We rang Louise in the morning to be told that it was late in the season and due for a refurbishment, but that was not our problem as we had paid in good faith for a 5 star villa. By the end of the second day most of the items had been dealt with (apart from the terrace furniture and shower curtain). Unfortunately, because of the cold evenings, we needed to use the emersion heater to heat the hot water for showers in the mornings and at night one day as the sun was not shinning but this wasn’t working so I had to contact Louise again who sent someone round to fit a new element, whilst we appreciate that things could break down, it took two days and three visit until we finally had hot water. We couldn’t work the washing machine but after much fiddling Louise managed to get it going although when we tried later in the week we still couldn’t manage to work it so we gave up. We were only at the villa for a week, although Louise kindly let us stay longer on the final day as it was not booked until later in the week but a considerable amount of that week was taken up with what we consider should have been unnecessary telephone calls, this is definitely not a 5 star villa in our opinion at the present time and even with the promise of a refurbishment we would never consider returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: the facilities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2014
Thank you for your second review Johnny B / Heather following the one already left on Owners Direct. I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay at Chilbury, I genuinely thought you had all enjoyed the villa and area. Chilbury is booked continuously and mostly regarded as a well maintained villa catering for every need. We work hard to please all of our guests, I am sorry that Chilbury fell short of your expectations.

Chilbury is my home and business. I take the condition of the villa and the time guests spend there very seriously. I am driven to create a ‘home away from home’ where people feel completely relaxed and provided for.

I certainly did not say that Chilbury was due for refurbishment or give any excuses as to why the villa should be less than perfect. I listened to the points raised and respected your wishes by responding immediately. I am not sure why this has been stated in the second review as it is just not necessary to refurbish a property to add spoons or provide tea towels and it is not in my nature to be unhelpful.

I would like the opportunity to respond and inform potential guests how ALL of the points, raised in the 2 phone calls made to me, were dealt with mostly within the hour:
- Shower curtains were not mentioned to us during the holiday - however the 2 shower rooms do have curtains.
- Bath mats/hand towels were there.
- In addition to the 24 spoons (of 3 different sizes) already in the drawers we provided 8 more spoons along with further cups/glasses. The cupboards are very well stocked with cutlery and crockery etc. The reference of 2 tumblers almost implies that there are not over 20 other glasses in the cupboards and I am really sorry that the mug with a snowman on it, offended you.
- Tea towels hadn’t been left, I am very sorry about this, it was a genuine oversight and we provided them immediately.
- The parasol was not broken however it was not at your desired height – we extended this for you with the little lever at the side of the parasol pole that allows it to slide up and down.
- A leaky kettle was not reported to us and only brought to our attention via your Owners Direct review. We can find no fault on checking it – kettles can leak if filled beyond the max level.
- The washer didn’t work as the child lock had been pressed – I was a little perplexed at first as we have no need to use this function, however once I realised what was wrong and on releasing the child lock, I left the machine happily doing laundry. The housekeeper has since used the machine and had no problems.
- 1 bulb from the trio of spotlights and a battery from 1 handset were replaced.
- We had 3/8 sun loungers broken; we did ensure there were 5 sun loungers, enough for each guest in your party, however I respected that you did not like the sun beds with thick mattresses by the pool side and we supplied 2 more standard loungers in the afternoon of your first day. The rattan on the outside furniture has deteriorated towards the end of the season, whilst I don’t think this is an eyesore and whilst still being comfortable to sit on, it will be replaced.
- Hot water is solar powered with an immersion heater booster if needed. The immersion was working when last needed; the problem reported on day 3 was dealt with instantly! Hot water elements can gradually corrode overtime in the water and they can also fuse when the immersion heater is left on for too long. To reduce the chance of this happening in the future there will be a timer fitted.

In another review that you left on Owners Direct earlier this week, you have referred to my villa as being neglected, needing money spending on it and poor value for money. Chilbury is 15 – 35% less in price to neighbouring villas as all bookings are made directly and not via a third party. Chilbury is a charming stone villa in a peaceful location minutes from restaurants/beaches. We don’t charge extra for welcome packs, ac, Wi-Fi, or baby equipment. We take pride in our high standards of customer care, maintenance, cleanliness and I am interested to see genuine ‘like for like’ comparables offering better value.

I feel this is not a fair, justified or deserved review. I did use the word balanced in my previous response however I appreciate that you have now acknowledged the size/location of Chilbury, courtesy welcome pack and late check out. If there was something you just didn't like or something you wanted more of or when there was a genuine problem with the water element - we were on it and delivered instant service with a smile. I would like to point out to people reading this review that the previous guests left less than 24 hours before Johnny and Heather’s arrival and left much different feedback of their experiences.

It is not pleasant to put your heart into something and have both your work and home pulled to pieces. I am not sure how exactly we managed to lose 3 stars overnight – especially as you told the housekeeper how lovely Chilbury was and that you would like to come back at some point - however you are only as good as your last review.

I do note that on Owners Direct you have used the name Johnny B and on TripAdvisor you have used the name Heather Noblett and as they are written in different styles with different titles, it could imply that they are 2 separate reviews.

We have had a great year at Chilbury Mortimer and met some lovely people. In light of the other glowing reviews, one theory maybe that those people came on holiday and enjoyed Chilbury. The response that we generally receive gives me the confidence that the service we offer and Chilbury itself are what the majority of people want. I would like to thank all of my customers who have holidayed at Chilbury and it is always a pleasure to welcome those who do return.

If you would like to stay at Chilbury Mortimer and have any concerns at all I am more than happy to send further testimonials and photos.

Best Wishes Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison P
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous villa”
Reviewed October 24, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I would highly recommend this villa. . The villa caters for your every need - we had a really lovely time, the villa is very clean, really comfortable, very well equipped and the kids (11,8,8) loved the pool. We also stayed at another villa managed by Louise in Pissouri, which was equally well equipped and also highly recommended. Louise was extremely helpful - we only booked the night before we were due to arrive following problems with another villa we were due to stay in (not managed by Louise!). We spent the second week in October at the villa, weather was fanastic - a very pleasant and sunny approx 27/28 degrees every day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2014
Hi Alison,
Thank you so much for taking time out to write a review on Chilbury Mortimer - it's so rewarding to have such wonderful feedback! It was a pleasure to be able to help you and I am so happy that you all had a great time :)

Take care and please keep in touch

Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing