We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Comfortable Retreat Amongst the Concrete of Paphos” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elysium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elysium Hotel
Ranked #2 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“A Comfortable Retreat Amongst the Concrete of Paphos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We had a one week stay at the Elysium and enjoyed our stay. I have to say I agree with many of the comments made by other contributors, both positive and negative. Yes, it is a 5 start hotel but that is reflective of the facilities it has on offer rather than suggesting it is comparable to some of the world's best hotels. It's smart, unpretentious and comfortable, albeit in a "bling" kind of way. The rooms were a good size but yes there are niggles with things like leaky plugs in the basin. That said, the beds/pillows were comfortable and it was quiet at night. The reception rooms are comfortable and grand. The grounds are spotless and well manicured and the outside pool area is lovely, though a bit cold in February to use it. The indoor pool was perfect and not heavily used. Staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and happy to go out of their way - we were the only people in Feb who wanted to eat breakfast outside and they made a table up every morning for us. I disagree with the contributor who thought the buffets were repetetive. I thought there was more than sufficient variety and the food was excellent. It was also notable that whatever time we went for breafast or dinner in the generous time window, the food was always fresh and plentiful. Drinks are expensive in the hotel (around €22 minimum for local wine, €6 for coffee, €10 for a cocktail) but then I found the wines good quality and not dissimilar to London restaurant prices. Overall we found Paphos itself underwhelming but the Elysium provided a very comfortable and enjoyable bolt-hole for a winter sun break.

Room Tip: The pool side rooms have a pretty garden outlook but in February it was the side of the hotel facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrightonBelle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,503
    440
    103
    39
    24
See reviews for
897
1,639
58
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Just come back from a week at the beautiful Elysium Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus. We were met in the courtyard by the very friendly and efficient head porter Fontas who took us in and sat us down and provided us with a welcome drink making us feel very special. Fonts was extremely helpful and friendly every time we saw him.
We were then taken to our room by the receptionist and unlike many hotels she stayed with us and explained how everything in the room worked and she also was most helpful.
Throughout the week we were acknowledged by EVERY member of staff from the bottom to the top. The staff at this hotel are obviously very well trained. Nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel itself was superb. The weather was dreadful for the first 3 days of our holiday but we didn't mind as the hotel has so many facilities to keep you happy which include an indoor heated pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, hammam, excellent gym, spa treatments, hairdressers, various classes to name but a few.
The food was excellent, it was themed every day (Indian, Greek, international, Cypriot to name but a few). Occasionally there was live music in the background during dinner but not every night. They also have a la cart restaurant but as the food is so nice in the restaurant we didn't feel the need to go and pay extra in the other restaurants. We did find the bar prices very steep but if you go to a hotel like this it is to be expected and the price wasn't just for the drink you were served a trio of snacks with the drink also. There was entertainment in the bar some nights, we felt if it had been every night we would have been more inclined to stay in the bar for longer. The room we had was a deluxe sea view room which was overlooking the pool and beach it was well worth the extra cost as the view was lovely.
Although the weather was bad we didn't want to leave.
If you can afford this lovely hotel book as soon as you can you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whitwillhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
228 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I just returned a few days ago from a wonderful 3 night stay here. I enjoyed every bit of it. The welcome at reception and by the staff was very warm; quickly, we were on our way to our rooms (I was travelling with a friend, and each had a room). The rooms were beautiful, spacious, well appointed, and welcoming. The views were beautiful. If it is a bit 'resorty' and not 'authentic', what of it? I love authentic as well, but there is a place for sybaritic luxury in my life as well.
The food was wonderful, everything was wonderful. I shall return.

Room Tip: Both rooms (one partial sea view, mine seaview, were virtually the same. get the partial view and sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BunclodySenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We have travelled to many hotels throughout Europe but I would say this is the one we have felt most comfortable in. The staff are extremely welcoming, warm and friendly. The room was perfectly clean and met our every need. We had a partial delux seaview. Our balcony had sun on it for most of the day and provided a suntrap from the cool wind. The food was delicious and varied but do watch out for the magnificent deserts they don't do much for the waistline! The weekend was a bit busy but the staff did not falter and even suggested we use a quiet side room for breakfast on the Sunday. There is a path near to the beach which leads along the coast to Pathos, highly recommend this walk(it was February). We had a wonderful relaxing week and definitely one hotel we will return to.

Room Tip: delux partial seaview was perfect. Tea and coffee facilities were a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inneedofrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Booked this weekend break on Special offer, for half board and room stay. From the moment we arrived we were so amazed by the service and the hotel itself, we were met with a welcome drink, our bags taken up to our room (which had everything we could wish for). We chilled out in the Spa all afternoon. Bliss. The evening meal was fantastic, beautifully presented and plenty of choice. Fantastic entertainment and cocktails in the bar after. Breakfast again was fantastic so much choice and variety. It definitely lives up to its five stars and would recommend anyone to book a stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank booth_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have just returned from a six night stay in this beautiful hotel. I can fault nothing, the staff were courteous and efficient, nothing was too much trouble, absolutely perfect for a relaxing break. The dining experience was a bit more hectic at the weekend but the food and service was amazing, really enjoyed the themed nights. Will not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

If I had a criticism it would be the location, the 'beach' is non existent but the bus service is excellent, don't bother paying 40 euros for transfer from the airport; no 612 bus leaves the airport every hour (on the half hour), takes you straight to the harbour in about 30 minutes. Catch a 615 to Coral Bay, (every 15 minutes) alight at the KFC sign- about a five minute journey- and walk a hundred yards. cost 2 euros!! Spend the rest in the bar!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Europhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here for one night only mainly because of the arrogance of the management, who believe their own internal processes are more important than the guests requirements. Ambience and staff were first class. Internet €5.00 per hour??

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melndeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.7 km away
The King Jason Paphos
2.8 km away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
3.0 km away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#18 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
2.3 km away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#21 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
4.6 km away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Property: Elysium Hotel
Address: Queen Verenikis Street | PO Box 60701, Paphos 8107, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paphos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#2 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#3 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elysium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Resort Paphos
Elysium Hotel Paphos
Elysium Paphos
Elysium Cyprus
Elysium Hotel Cyprus/Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing