We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay, Amazing Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Basilica Holiday Resort
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Only decided to have a holiday a few days before we came so didn't really have much time to do research but reading the reviews on here we picked this place over others and really pleased we did. We had a 2 bed apartment which was very clean and as described. Z bed in the living room for our 9 year old which we never used as the 2 singles pushed together easily slept 3 of us. Free aircon in both bedroom and the main living area, worked ok, could have been a little colder but no complaints. Bathroom ok. Kitchen was quite old but very tidy and clean. Spoke to reception regarding lack of pans, bowls, utensils and missing shelves from the oven and a selection of new items were put in our room within a few hours. Unfortunately we needed to wait a few days (weekend) to get a solution to our broken oven but the hotels response was really impressive and incredibly generous and more than made up for the problems we'd had. Best single thing about the holiday was the swimming pool which is huge with no really deep parts, loads of sun beds and shady areas. Music was much nicer when they played traditionally rather than the 80's cd which seemed to be on all the time. I'm not sure what the price for all inclusive is but be advised eating out for a family of five is about €20 each for a very basic meal with a couple of drinks and the food available in the harbour was very touristy. We ate in the hotel for 5 days and thought it was pretty good. All seems fresh and was varied each evening. I stuck to trying to eat rice, salads, grilled meat etc and thought it was great. Beers could have been colder as could the AC but I guess the chillers are fighting as it's about 35 degrees. Some good entertaining provided which broke the day up and was a welcome addition in the evening.

I can only judge what is good value / service based on what we paid which was £1500 for 7 nights for a 2 bed apartment, inc flights. For what we did pay we feel it was an amazing holiday and could not have asked for anything else. Staff at the hotel were really nice and very helpful and sorted our issues quickly allowing us to enjoy our holiday. A special thanks to the lady who cleaned our room daily always changing the towels and making the beds up nicely so it was like new each evening. Hotel in general is what you should expect from a slightly older place, all seemed maintained well and clean which is good. Beds were really comfortable, loads of storage, quiet and lots of space.

Just to add, had a great big washing machine for €2 so headed home with most already done!!

Thank you again for sorting out problem in such a nice manner it was really kind of you and really made for a great holiday. We had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr. Kenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Just returned from Basilica Holiday Resort. What a great holiday. We arrived late at night but check in was easy. There were 3 meals in the fridge if we required. The room was clean. Food was excellent, very good choices as buffet service. Thanks to Lucas, Victoria, Harry, Nick (bar) and Adam and all other staff who were always friendly, polite and helpful.
Thank you also to the big boss man for the bottle of wine.
The pool was excellent with sun beds readily available.
The only issue we had was we could not keep our room as our flight was late and had to shower in the changing rooms but understood as it's one of the busiest times of the year.
I will not hesitate to return in the future. Thank you again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank kaz1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Have just returned from Basilica Resort Hotel and all in all had a very good time
.
On arrival everywhere was closed (we arrived at approx 12.30am) but we managed to have a look around the pool area which looked amazing. The pool and surrounding area was tastefully lit and made a huge impression.

Check-in was really quick and we were taken to our rooms as opposed to being sent. Gentleman on reception was very pleasant and helpful.

The room itself (Thalia 103) was a very good size with kitchen/lounge area, one bedroom and bathroom. The furniture looked ‘very tired’ and we had 4 different chairs around the table. Nothing matched. The balcony was minute and view awful. We were overlooking the apartment opposite with about 10 feet between us so we had to keep the curtains closed to avoid being stared at or staring at the people opposite. However, we were offered another room in a different block but that view was of a brick wall and garage so we decided to stay where we were. The bedroom was of a decent size with two single beds put together, two bedside cabinets, wardrobe and dressing table. The chair to the dressing table was so big you couldn’t use it as you couldn’t pull it out because it was so close to the beds. A hairdryer was provided.
The bathroom was of a decent size with wash hand basin (with no plug which was reported but not fixed so we had to leave the tap running if using it to freshen up). The shower was the usual over the bath type but ok.

The apartment was very clean on arrival. We had towels changed every day but the apartment itself was not cleaned daily. Probably every other day but as we were not in it that much it didn’t matter to us. Who stays in their room while on holiday.

The pool area was beautiful. Very clean and plenty of sun loungers spaced all around the pool and garden area. The pool itself was wonderful. Very clean (the cleaners were there around 6am cleaning it) and warm with a spa at one end.

All staff were very pleasant and helpful with the Entertainment Team taking first place. They kept us entertained most evenings with different shows etc and were brilliant. A special mention has to go to Molly, who with pleasant encouragement got us to join in the activities which we enjoyed once taken part. She was also a brilliant tourist guide informing us about or directing us to places we asked her about. However, we feel they were very unfair to her every day. Whilst other staff were ‘under cover/in shaded areas’ she was not. She had to perform activities in the scorching heat for 30-45 minutes 2-3 times a day but she always did it with a smile on her face. The temperature was approaching 30 degrees so to do aqua aerobics classes in that heat (we were in the pool so we were cool) must have been unbearable for her. We think they could have provided some shade for her.

The restaurant was very clean. Food was wonderful with lots of variation every meal time. We also noticed there was an excellent selection of food for vegan’s’/vegetarians.
We were all inclusive and the drinks selection was widely varied. Fresh water was plentiful and all drinks for poolside were in plastic cups for safety reasons obviously. During your meal all drinks were provided in the appropriate glasses.

The hotel itself is also in a brilliant location very close to everything with excellent supermarket opposite for self caterers.

All in all we had a very good time at Basilica Resort Hotel. It’s a very good 3 star hotel which we would gladly return to.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Carole132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

I visited the Basillica last year and hope to return later this.
Fytos the owner is a gent and all the staff are friendly and accomodating.
The rooms are clean and spacious with excellent amenities... including air condition which is a godsend. I was put in the new accomodation just over the road from the main reception and it was no problem at all.
The food was basic but perfect for what was needed as I ate out on a few evenings through choice.
In the heart of Paphos this hotel is in an ideal situation that isn't too noisy but not too quiet.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Wonderful holiday with my family made special by the friendly staff and entertainment team,lovely food,great pool and hot weather,rooms great,clean and good maid service ideal location close to shops,bars and sights will return indya x

Room Tip: Block across the road all refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank indyarscott07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We booked a week at this hotel - on arrival (1am) the member of staff on the reception was really helpful - he told us he would show us to our room, it was on a different street from the hotel reception. We got in and went straight to bed that night. However in the morning we had a proper look around and the room was really lovely, very modern with UK plug sockets and the air-con is fantastic, but the room was covered in hairs.... All over the floor, the bathroom sink had toothpaste in the bowl before we had even used it, the mirror was all splashes really very unclean. We had towel changes each day which was great however.... The bedding I had lifted my suitcase onto the bed and it left a dirty mark on the duvet so the next day after being out the cleaners had been in.... Still hairs all over the floor and bathroom no cleaner, but looked as if my bed had been changed which was great however later that night we discovered all they had done was swap my duvet onto my partners bed!!!!. At night we decided to sit out on the balcony the view was really disappointing we had a load of overfilled bins and running dirty water the smell was awful and the air-con filter fans I presume that's what they were... One on each side of our balcony and we couldn't hear a thing each other was saying due to these massive fans! When we went to the reception area there was a man who offered us all inclusive for €23 per day which is really very good however we declined as we enjoy going out and about for meals and after this they staff didn't really give us the time of day didn't feel welcome at all. Really disappointed and wouldn't come back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We have recently returned from two great weeks at the Basilica Holiday Resort in Paphos. As some have mentioned, the room was a little dated but it was perfectly clean and the real bonus was that it was very spacious. A big thank you to the ladies that cleaned our room.

There were always sun loungers available around swimming pool.

The facilities were tidy and well kept. The entertainment was good with the team being friendly and not "in your face".

Another bonus for us was the food - buffet style but lots of variety and top quality. The waiters and bar staff were very friendly with a mix of characters. One of them, Lucas, really made our holiday as he was very friendly, always helpful and very professional. He had a real confidence about him that really made us feel comfortable.

A big thank you to Lucas. He really did contribute significantly to making our holiday fantastic. He is one of the reasons why we will return next year.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1 km away
Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort
0.2 km away
Pyramos Hotel
Pyramos Hotel
#40 of 84 in Paphos
536 reviews
0.6 km away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#31 of 84 in Paphos
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Crystallo Apartments
Crystallo Apartments
#54 of 84 in Paphos
321 reviews
1.1 km away
Princessa Vera Hotel Apartments
0.8 km away
Apollonia Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basilica Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basilica Holiday Resort

Address: Basilica Complex | P.O. Box 60195, Paphos 8128, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range: $29 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Basilica Holiday Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Basilica Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basilica Holiday Hotel Paphos
Basilica Holiday Resort Cyprus/Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing