We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
63
90
79
32
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
90
79
32
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mattress topper coral bay garden wing kids disco followed by bingo meals breakfast animation lady cold desserts amenities provided short walk down the road inclusive wine complimentary shampoo the sun bed situation positioned hotel ignore bad reviews hotel location is great natural shade cheese ham
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 298 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2017

The reception staff were friendly and informed. There were a more than a few occasions where they would finish their discussions about guests or tv or nights out before helping which wasn’t great. Overall they were nice and helpful though

The bar staff were awful. There is one guy who was always speaking with guests and ensuring they were happy. He did a lot of table service. The others were rude, aggressive and rolled their eyes when you ordered. This was pointed out by a lot of guests. Getting drinks was not a nice experience. The drinks were all very strong and were half alcohol, quarter ice and quarter watered down flat coke.

The restaurant was lovely. The staff were friendly, helpful, smiley and generally very happy. The food was flavoured, varied and always fresh and hot. Gorgeous, colourful and tasty fresh salad bar.

The spa and indoor pool staff were also lovely and happy and were always around to help. The facilities were clean, working and ideal. Very enjoyable experience.

My room was looking over the bar so I couldn’t sleep until at least midnight every day. I contracted a bug there and had an awful fever for two days as well as a bad stomach. When asking the bar staff for water, they were less than helpful and ignored me for ten mins whilst serving men and giggling with each other.

I went with Tui amid their rep was very helpful, made herself available and was very informative.

The cleaner was very sweet and incredibly flexible. Especially when I was unable to get up when I was ill.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank 906philippaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicos L, Director of Sales at Crown Resorts Horizon, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2017

I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to writer your comments and would also like to ensure you that we are always take into consideration our guests' feedback towards future improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back at CROWN RESORTS HORIZON in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2017 via mobile

Spent a week at this hotel found it to be clean and tidy the food was good and the staff especially Jamie ( barman) and Greta (animations team ) was great xx the biggest let down for this hotel we found was having to hear 5 oap women and 1 man whinging big time about anything and everything ( you people if you are reading this are a total disgrace to the British ) if you want 5 star treatment go to a 5 star hotel but I bet you will still find something to complain about , do you not know they work for pittance and don’t get paid enough to have to put up with your whinging 24/7 xx we found this hotel to be great xx

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
6  Thank thomson0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicos L, Director of Sales at Crown Resorts Horizon, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Thank you for your comments. I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back and kindly ask you to advise us in advance together with any special request you may have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2017 via mobile

Where to start,the food can't rate highly enough perfect for vegetarians and meet eaters several different varieties on the themed evenings and restaurant service was great
Room clean and tidy and fresh towels every day could do with different channels on the tv
Reception area clean and tidy with helpful staff.indoor facilities very good swimming pool Jacuzzi spa etc very good
Bar area could have been bigger and different beers etc but good
Entertainment repetitive bingo every night and quiz and little to easy but owt is better than nowt
Went with 3 others and no major complaints from anyone
1 thing is very poor Wi-Fi thro out hotel
Poor free WiFi in reception area and have to pay in rest of hotel as this is basic in most hotels a upgrade is needed but in saying that would return anytime of the year.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank AndyHarris06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicos L, Director of Sales at Crown Resorts Horizon, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Thank you for finding the time to write your experience at CROWN RESORTS HORIZON. Your comments have been taken into consideration for further improvement.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2017

Just had a week at the Crown horizon and I can honestly say we had a fantastic weekend, hotel was nice and clean, staffeta very friendly and the food was very gd with a wide and varied range to suit all tastes and diet.
I can't fault the week we had there and will be re booking again for another visit

Room Tip: All rooms gd size
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank kevin9912016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicos L, Director of Sales at Crown Resorts Horizon, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Thank you for your kind words.
I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back at CROWN RESORTS HORIZON in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2017

Shabby, fading rooms, with dreadful loud bingo, quizzes and DJ preventing sleep till after midnight. A truly disappointing experience from an expensive hotel which is in desperate need of investment and fresh management.

On arrival late at night, there was no record of our booking despite a confirmed reservation number directly from the hotel's website. We were lucky that a room was available at all - although with hindsight, perhaps unlucky...

We stayed in the hotel with friends and there were many problems with several rooms.

On the first night, a bathroom ceiling in one room collapsed when they closed the bathroom door. Fortunately there was no injury.
Another bedroom had rats/mice scurrying in the walls at night. They had to be moved to another room.
One person son got locked in a bathroom and had to wait 30 minutes to be drilled out of there.
There were small dead flies in the orange juice machine at breakfast one morning.
There are many stray cats in the garden in the day. At night we saw stray cats walking the corridors INSIDE the hotel on the first floor.
Our room booking simply said free internet access – but it was not free in our room. This is misleading.
The evening "entertainment" was dreadful, very loud and very late. It meant we could not even try to sleep until at least midnight most nights. We asked them to turn down the volume and stop earlier so we could sleep. No changes were made. Very few guests were listening to the entertainment. Most were very unhappy with it. You need to listen to what your guests want.
The carpets and decorations in the hotel are very old and worn.
Several rooms had safes that did not work.
There was no hot water one morning.
It is clear that not enough (any?) money is being invested on upkeep and maintenance.

When we complained about these matters, the manager didn't show up. On making a formal complaint afterwards, the hotel manager denied everything.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank atraveller447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicos L, Director of Sales at Crown Resorts Horizon, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Firstly I apologize on behalf of the Management and staff as we clearly have not succeeded in meeting your expectations.
Secondly, I would like to ensure you that we are always take into consideration our quests feedback towards future improvements. The mass majority of our guests do not share the same opinion and we are doing the utmost to maintain and improve our services and standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews