We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the range restaurant”
Review of Borda Estevet

Borda Estevet
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed March 10, 2017 via mobile

Have visited Borda Estevet a few times during my work visits to Andorra. Used originally as a family farmhouse, the "borda" is a very distinctive construction of Andorra.They mainly focus on traditional mountain cuisine. Although seafood dishes are also available, choices are limited for obvious reasons. Specialties such as the "trinxat" (mashed potatoes and cabbage cake), "graellada" (assorted char grilled meats), "embotits" (sausages) or the wonderful "arros de muntanya" (creamy meat and veggies rice) are a must here. Not a paradise for vegetarians, to be honest. Their wine selection include the most important Spanish brands, and the after-lunch liquor selection is not to be missed. As for the waiting service, it's just first-rate, extremely professional, understanding this is not the type of swanky, luxury restaurant one can find in a big city. Business meetings are frequent, and properly handled I must admit. All in all a great culinary experience. Highly recommended. Will definitely go back there if I have the chance next time I'm in Andorra.

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank Francesc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 504 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2017

Not the cheapest place in the world (meat dishes can be up to €30 each), but a great selection of Andorran and foreign meat (no Chicken option surprised me). Andorrans tend of undercook their meat so make sure you up it a notch or two when ordering in terms of cooking style. Lovely (romantic) interior of an old stone barn. Service can be a little slow but it's worth it!

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Al Ru F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2016

One of the best meat restaurants in this catalan paradise. Try to cook your meat on your table. Very nice wines and perfect jamon.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GEORGE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2016

We dined here at the recommendation of our hotel receptionist, and it was one of two recommendations where she was spot on.

It is a little out of the town centre, in an area that appears to be going through some renovation, but close enough to our hotel for us to walk.

It is a large “barn-like” structure, with small windows, and my impression was that it is more targeted at the winter tourist scene, with a large fire at one end. As we were there in June it wasn’t lit, and the interior was a little cavernous and empty – especially as we were the first diners to appear. However, as more people arrived it became much more attractive. It is always difficult for non-Spanish diners out of season here, in that whilst we would want to eat around 20;00, they don’t turn up before 22:00, so restaurants tend to be slow starters.

We were welcomed and shown to our table, and the waiter made some recommendations as to what was available. I had the “Mountain Grill”, a mixture of small portions of steak, lamb, chicken and pork, heated on a slate at the table, and my wife had turbot. Both were excellent, and the accompanying wine – again recommended by the staff was also very good.

Unlike other reviewers, we found the staff pleasant and easy to contact, although as none appeared to speak English I can understand some people’s difficulty.

A high point was the “Sweet Trolley” where all their desserts were laid out and one could choose a dessert live, something that has disappeared from most restaurants, and something I miss.

Overall, it was a very good evening, the food and wine excellent, and the staff attentive without being obtrusive. Prices are slightly higher than other restaurants in the area, but it was worth it, and the phrase “You get what you pay for” is very relevant.

Highly recommended.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank briangb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Andorra for two nights & this Restaurante was the one we went too on our first night. It is a restaurant that specialises in steaks. The meal was very good & so was the service.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank connoisseur_y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Borda Estevet also viewed

Andorra la Vella, Andorra la Vella Parish
Andorra la Vella, Andorra la Vella Parish
 
Escaldes-Engordany, Escaldes-Engordany Parish
La Massana, La Massana Parish
 
Sispony, La Massana Parish
Andorra la Vella, Andorra la Vella Parish
 

Been to Borda Estevet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing