We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intriguing, historical and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau Le Mas de Montet
Ranked #1 of 1 Petit-Bersac B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 January 2015

When entering petit bersac into the gps it took a while before it centered outside the hamlet of Petit Bersac. We knew what we were in for, a nice hideaway on our road trip, good restaurant and charm, for us it was the perfect place to unwind on the way to our finish line in St Emillion. The pool was lovely if a little on the chilly side. We had a huge room on the top floor overlooking the garden. Another nice touch were the bikes free of charge, although there is not much to bike to in the immediate area. The approach through the immense gate is impressive, the look of the chateau is a little different from most in the area. This was partly explained by the history of the ownership dating back to Scottish Calvinists in the late 17th century. We stumbled on this place on line when it was briefly mentioned as the hideaway of Francois Mitterand and his mistress, since it was on our route and looked great we took a gamble and booked it. We were not disappointed. The place could use a little help though, but since it only has about ten rooms which I am sure are not always fully booked I can assume that staffing can be difficult. This place could be super exclusive with some investments but for now, is accessible to everyone. Give the Mas de Montet a chance, you'll be glad you did

Room Tip: when you go for dinner, make sure you close the windows as your room will be crawling with insects o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank patten36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2014

We stayed there for 5 days with our two children ( 5 years and 1 year old) to attend the wedding of my brother-in-law, and a day didn't go by when we didn't remark about how incredible the place was. Not only is it outstandingly beautiful, but the staff, THE STAFF! I can't say enough good about the staff! Lise and Paul... They were amazing - very professional and accessible and accommodating to any of the needs we had for our kids (it being so dark at night in the country and our eldest afraid of the dark, I had asked for a nightlight, and having none on hand, was provided instead with LED battery powered candles to create a relaxing ambience for us to fall asleep to every night). They thought of everything for us, including swimming diapers for our baby should we wish to use the pool! There were toys and games, which rarely got used as our kids just LOVED to run around the grounds, playing in the extensive and beautifully maintained vegetable garden (often eating half of it before they were done). And the food... Oooh la la! We ate like royalty every day! I am having foie gras withdrawal! The breakfast every morning had the most variety of any hotel I had ever stayed in in France, including fruit and walnuts grown on the estate! And THE WEDDING! It was the PERFECT location for the wedding. The staff helped make it a beautifully personal and seemingly effortless event. The groom himself was as impressed as we all were, and was sure to give the staff a standing ovation during the reception! I will post this review on every travel site I can find, as it's the least I can do to show my great appreciation to the Chateau and its staff for helping create unforgettable memories for us all! Merci Lise et Paul!

Room Tip: The large suite we had, had a window in the bathroom that was at ground level and when opened, was h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chantale56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2014

Our friends got married at the Chateau and had a pool party the next day. All I can say is WOW. I would love to get married there. Or even just hang out! The venue is incredible and beautiful. It is rustic and inviting and classy. The staff is beyond gracious, kind and hardworking. Never have I seen a group of people work so hard. They were invisible beings, making sure we were fed and well hydrated. They stayed up super late and were the first ones up in the morning with smiles on their faces. I simply can't recommend this Chateau enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ash_spiegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at Le Mas de Montet for a week with family and friends and I can't say a bad word about it. It was amazing. The Chateau was incredible and everything that you would expect both inside and out.
This was the first time that the Chateau had been let for a week as a whole as it is normally a hotel. The owner who lives next door maintained a discrete presence to ensure that the facility was being cared for.
The room was more like a suite for me and my two children. The Chateau was amazing both inside and outside and the pool was excellent.
Bakers in the local village and supermarkets close in Riberac.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ridders69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here for an entire week with friends and family, with the Chateau and grounds exclusively for our use, as part of the wedding celebrations for our daughter. With a marquee erected on the lawn for two days the Chateau provided a truly magnificent setting for a very memorable wedding.
The architecture and decor are superb, and the grounds, pool, and local area provided ample opportunity for relaxation for the rest of the week. The owners were extremely flexible, and accommodating in providing us with the facilities to be "self catering" for the majority of the week, other than the wedding itself. I would not hesitate to recommend this as a venue for anyone seeking a high quality venue for a wedding.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed one night in the Presidential Suite, and would have loved to have stayed a week or a month! The grounds and chateau are stunning and have an authentic history. There is a relaxing pool. The exotic tree collection throughout the acres of land is truly astonishing. The food and wine were superb and nothing was too much trouble. The staff were polite, courteous and highly professional yet warm, friendly and welcoming. Hardly anyone in the UK will know about this place, but it really is worth a visit. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Presidential Suite if you can, but all rooms are of a high standard, with impeccable presentation an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ESheep01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our family of four stayed for a few nights in the chateau - within easy of of many lovely local spots. The owner was very keen to help us enjoy our holiday, she packed us a picnic basket when we wanted to lunch by a local river, and drew a route on a map for our bike rides to the local town (we borrowed bicycles from the chateau). The chef in the restaurant also cooked a dish we particularly requested, and on the evenings that we didn't eat in the chateau, we tried some of the great local restaurants. I would highly recommend both this hotel, and the surrounding area. A wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CJWOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chateau Le Mas de Montet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Le Mas de Montet

Address: Lieu Dit le Mas de Montet, 24600 Petit-Bersac, Riberac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Riberac > Petit-Bersac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Petit-Bersac
Price Range: $252 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Le Mas de Montet 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent place to relax with the opportunity to explore the Dordogne, the Charente, and the Bordeaux region. Four-star Chateau Le Mas de Montet, a beautifully restored Renaissance chateau. President Francois Mitterrand - a regular guest. Sumptuously appointed with period furnishings throughout, the privately owned Chateau provides elegant luxury, comfort and complete relaxation. The Chateau has recently undergone an extensive program of renovation and has a brand new 15-metre swimming pool open from April to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau Le Mas de Montet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing