We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Priceline
US$223
View deal
Trip.com
US$218
View deal
Agoda.comUS$227
eDreamsUS$246
StayForLong
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (888)
Filter reviews
888 results
Traveller rating
519
234
62
39
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
519
234
62
39
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake view market square superior suite a rick steves tour perfect location fairy tale large balcony third floor free shuttle the hotel's restaurant beds were very comfortable visit hallstatt trout there is no air conditioning amazing views nespresso machine austria
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 888 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2019

We stayed one night in the SGB at Hallstatt. The hotel is directly onto the lake at the rear, and directly onto the main market square at the front. Decorated in what I would guess is traditional Austrian style. We had a double room with a balcony overlooking the lake. Reception staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. We had all meals externally on the decking directly onto the amazing Hallstatt lake. Breakfast was the usual fare, nothing surprising or amazing there, but good. Dinner was high end, service was excellent and quality of food and ingredients was excellent. When all the day trippers had gone home about 6pm it was absolutely idyllic to be on the lake and see the sunset and wake up to an absolute calm silent lake in the morning before yet another onslaught of tourists the next day. The only slight irritation, and I am really being picky here, is that because the hotel is on the main stunningly beautiful square, a lot of day trippers nip in to use the toilets, which I don’t think the hotel can control it just means a longer queue the normal if guests want to use the toilets. This hotel and its location is amazing, everything is very close by, loads of shops, bar and restaurants, plus a slow walk to the funicular to the observation point high up in the mountains. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. We stayed in June the temperatures were high 36,37 or 38 degrees, there is no air conditioning.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 7, 2019 via mobile

This beautiful hotel is perfectly located right in the old town on the main square as well as on the lake. Our room was on the 4th floor and we had a breathtaking view of the lake. The room was lavishly decorated with every amenity you could want. Robes and slippers, a multi-charging station for tablets and phones, high end toiletries, coffee and tea station with small assortment of coffee & teas, and mini bar / fridge. We had 3 meals here as we wanted to take advantage of the beautiful outdoor dining area right on the lake. Free WiFi is included as well as breakfast buffet is outstanding and very good quality. The ONLY negative with this hotel is no AC. As it was quite hot during the day it took some time for room to cool off at night. They do provide fans so we stuck one in the large window and the temperature cooled down enough so that the fan could bring in the cooler air for comfortable sleeping. There is also no parking at this hotel which I imagine is the case with most hotels in the old town. You must park in one of the 5 city lots, with lot 1 and 2 being the closest that also offer free shuttle service to hotels in the old town, but if you don’t get there early enough they fill up quickly. Lots 3, 4 and 5 are further from old town and do not offer free shuttle to hotels so you either walk 1.5 miles with luggage or take a taxi to your hotel.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank POz917
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 5, 2019

The hotel has a great location and had a great restaurant as well where we had dinner. It is right in the middle of the square. From the rear side of the hotel is near the lake area where you can see very beautiful sites. The only downside for me is that the hotel does not have airconditioning in their rooms.

Date of stay: June 2019
1  Thank il0vet0travel8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 1, 2019

Simon( the friendly and funny staff member)checked us in to this beautiful hotel. It is slap bang in the middle of Hallstatt. It is full of character and charm. We celebrated my sisters 40th there and Simon made the occasion extra special. I would definitely return and recommend this cool hotel with great service.

Room tip: Try to get room 205 great balcony and fantastic view
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Catriona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 21, 2019

Have just returned from a wonderful stay in Hallstatt with a small group of Master Gardeners. This was our favorite place on the tour. The hotel is simply wonderful, the views are exceptional and the staff could not have been more helpful. Simon at the front desk was so good to my group. The rooms are delightful, the food was great and the setting on the lake with the backdrop of the Austrian Alps cannot be beat. Once the crowd of day trippers depart, there is no more perfect place to stay and wander. It was worth every penny to experience this delightful town and this exceptional hotel. For a small town of just over 770 people there is much to see and do.

Room tip: choose a room with a view of the lake and mountains
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews