We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
19
9
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
9
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews soup ski room desert skis lift slopes skiing
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2017

Enjoyed the half boarding. Breakfast is reach with fresh joucies, bakery and hot meal (choose your egg type, they'll make it for you).
Although there is a menu you choose from for the dinner, but if you do not like the meat they make your choice.
Great location, very close both to the center and to the slopes. You do not need to use your car either.

Room Tip: Ask or book upper floor due to the view
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank judpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2016

We arrived home yesterday from Obertauern from our skiing week staying at the Alpenland. It was my first time at this hotel, though the rest of the family have stayed there before.

As others have said, the hotel is in a great position, very close to being ski-in, ski-out. The hotel rooms are very clean, nicely adequate rather than plush, but the food is exceptional. You are asked to choose your evening's starter & main course at breakfast time, and your choices are then beautifully cooked and presented - delightful!

The family and staff are all very friendly and I would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2015

Our 3 person family visited this hotel in early March and I have to say that the location is absolutely great for skiing. The hotel had clean rooms and we stayed in spacious Hotelappartment. Personnel were very friendly and spoke good english, in case you don't speak german. Breakfast had very wide selection of food to choose from and you could order additional omelet, scrambled eggs or sunnyside up included the price. The half pension dinner generally included a starter salad buffet, soup, starter, main courses(you may choose between veggie, fish and meat) plus desert and cheese buffet. Wines were priced reasonably and they had pretty good selection of those. Sauna area was very clean and spacious and offered different saunas in which to relax after a hared day of skiing.

Room Tip: I recommend hotel appartments for families.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Markku R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2015

Just got back from Obertauern on a one week skiing trip, a group of 5 adults.

We thoroughly enjoyed the Austrian break (our 2nd visit to Austria having visited Zell am See in Feb 2012 - again a great trip).

This was our 7th ski trip having previously visited France and Andorra as well as Austria.

Our basis for the 5* rating:

1) Great communication with the hotel owners in advance of the holiday - booking direct was easy and the combined half board and ski package represented very good value
2) Excellent friendly staff, despite German being the main spoken language
3) Good size room - we opted for the 30 sq m double room
4) Great food - good choice all round from the varied buffet breakfast to the 5 course evening dinner - the afternoon hot drinks, cakes and pastries are also a nice touch
5) The wellness and sauna/steam room facilities were good too after a hard days skiing

Although the hotel is not technically ski-in/ski-out as the closet lift (Zentralbahn) is only about 100m away and therefore use of the ski and boot store is perfect to gain easy and almost immediate access to the slopes.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and the ski area is great for our intermediate level of skiing ability. Just one point (covered on other reviews), I hope the 'no smoking' in public places comes in to force soon in Austria - the bar area was a little smokey on most evenings but this small gripe does not stop me from awarding a 5* rating.

Try the Alpenland, based on our experience you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Go for the larger double rooms!
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Alpenland for a fantastic week of skiing in February 2014.

Location-wise it's pretty hard to beat - the hotel is at the top of a small hill behind the Pernerlift (small practice slope 17a), so in a morning it is just a minutes walk down the road, (or indeed some people skied down the road!), pop on your skis and a gentle glide to the Zentralbahn. To return at the end of the day you end up with a very short walk back up the hill, but this just took a couple of minutes and was not too taxing - even with 2 tired kids in tow! A short walk down the hill has you right in the centre of town for the shops, supermarkets and restaurants so it really is very handy, but is set back enough that you don't get any noise at night.

The owners of the hotel are very friendly and helpful, (and their English is very good luckily as our German is not great!). We sorted our room with no hassles via email and everything was just as promised. We booked a "hotel apartment" room because we were travelling with kids and the separate bedroom with door was a godsend as it meant that we could put the kids to bed and stay up later ourselves. The room was very spacious, comfortable and was kept in immaculate condition throughout our stay. The room had a safe, fridge and TVs in both the living area and the bedroom - everything that you could need. We really enjoyed the food in the hotel and there was always plenty of it. There was a good varied menu throughout the week and the waiting staff were truly excellent - we really felt cared for. There is also a free wellness area which looked very nice but we didn't use so can't really comment further upon. The boot room is small but has everything that you need. During the half term days it did get a little busy in there, but prior to half term it was always lovely and quiet in the boot room.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel. For value for money and location I think it's pretty hard to beat. If we came back to Obertauern we would definitely consider the Alpenland again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank themilnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews