We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
261
48
11
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
48
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road boot room next year family sauna spa area ski holiday all day dining older kids busy road ski room heated boot ski schule excellent hotel high standard booked directly with the hotel full board package big hit
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 323 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2018

Hotel Steiner had been recommended to us by friends. And it did not disappoint!
First-class service from the moment we arrived coupled with exquisite food and a top-notch wellness area made for a fantastic week.
The only negatives were the relatively large number of young children running around in the restaurant and the family next to our table who did not even bother to report to the hotel staff that their child had vomited all over their table (an unbelievable sight and experience), but the hotel cannot be blamed. Indeed, the staff were very apologetic.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steiner_1, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Steiner, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Dear Family Keith R.,

thank you that you have taken the time to write about your Holiday experience on Tripadvisor!
We are more then happy, that you are safe back home and the you enjoyed your Holiday that much!
Thank you for your positive Rating about our whole staff and the Food!
We and all of our staff are doing our best to make your Holiday a Special one!

We would be more then happy, to welcome you another time in our Hotel!

With kindest regards from Obertauern!

Family Steiner and the whole Hotel Steiner Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2018

The Steiner is simply excellent in every regard - ski in ski out, great food, great facilities, great service.
It is a family run hotel and there is a very warm welcoming atmosphere.
We stayed with our granddaughter and the play room was very good also.
Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: great views to the front
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eoghanlynch2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steiner_1, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Steiner, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Dear Family Lynch,

thank you very much, that you have taken the time to write about your Holiday experience on Tripadvisor!

We are very glad, that you are safe back home and that you spent your Holiday in our Hotel!

We would like to say thank you for the positive Rating about your Holidays!

We hope, also your granddaughter enjoyed her Holidays!

We all do our best to make your Holidays a Special one!

We would be more then happy, if we could welcome you another time!

With Kind regards from Obertauern!

Family Steiner and the whole Hotel Steiner Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2018

This was our first visit &, with any first visit there is always a degree of uncertainty as to the Hotel accommodation standards &, our personal requirements. However, Hotel Steiner ticks all the Boxes &, does not disappoint. Lovely ambiance, clean, welcoming &, excellent facilities including spacious Ski Locker Room, Spa area, Restaurant & Bar. Food is superb with very, very good variety inc. the Dessert &, Buffet Evenings. It is more or less Ski in/out - just across the Road from the Hotel. Rooms clean, tidy & well appointed with just a need occasionally to open the Window to let in the Mountain air.
Staff were 5* - friendly, helpful & professional with nothing being too much trouble. We appreciated the Steiner Family being visible at various times & having a Chat with their Guests. Also, Mr Steiner welcoming Guests for Dinner was thoughtful
We will definitely return. Brilliant experience.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steiner_1, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Steiner, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2018

Dear Mr. Michael H.,

thank you, that you have taken the time to write about your experience in our Hotel on Tripadvisor!

We are very thankfull for your positive Rating about our whole staff and our Food!
We all give our best to make your Holidays as Relaxing as possible!

We are very happy, that you want to return and that we can welcome you another time!

With kind regards from Obertauern

Family Steiner and the whole Hotel Steiner staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2018

Third time stay at the excellent hotel Steiner in Obertauern.

This time round the Plattenkar bedrooms have been updated and renamed to Wildsee Alpin or Wildsee Classic and are light and modern with very comfortable beds. They are at the back of the hotel so are nice and quiet.

The food once again was fantastic with an amazing choice at breakfast,lunch and dinner and as its an all day dining concept you can choose to eat as much or as little as you like throughout the day at times to suit your days activities.

The pool and relaxation areas were great to have after a full days skiing on the slopes and the whole hotel is very smart and is kept beautifully clean.

Fantastic ski and boot room too!

All the staff at the reception, the bar and in the restaurant were excellent, very helpful and friendly. On the first evening we were shown to our table in the restaurant personally by the owner Herr Steiner which was a lovely touch. This table is your allocated table for breakfast and dinner and at lunch you choose to sit at any of the free tables or in the lounge if you prefer.

Great location with the ski slopes easily reached across the road in front of the hotel and next to bridge 5 where the Grillitsch ski school meets.

Would highly recommend the hotel, it is a fantastic place to stay in Obertauern.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jonrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steiner_1, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Steiner, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2018

Dear Mr. Jonrick,

thank you, that you have taken the time to write about your Holidays in our Hotel on Tripadvisor!

We are very thankfull for your positive Rating about our new rooms and we are happy, that you like them!

We also like to say thank you about your positive Rating about our whole staff!
Each of them are doing their best, to make your Holiday a Special one!

We would be more then happy, to welcome you once again in our Hotel!

With kind regards from Obertauern

Family Steiner and the whole Hotel Steiner Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2018

We have been coming to the Steiner regularly for almost 10 years and it remains excellent in every respect. All the staff are very helpful and friendly, with the Steiner family very much present and visible and ready for a chat. The hotel itself is very clean and comfortable, with lots of places to sit and relax with a book when the weather closes in. The food is also excellent with a great variety of options to meet all tastes. Easy access to the pistes across the road. We have recommended the hotel to friends, have taken family to stay there and are planning our first summer visit. Probably the best hotel we have stayed in for a ski holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IJMCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steiner_1, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Steiner, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2018

Dear Family,

thank you very much, that you have taken your time, to write about your experience in our Hotel at Tripadvisor!

We would like to say thank you for the positive rating about our whole staff and the great Food!
We, and also our staff, is doing their best, to make your Holidays as comfortable as possible!

We would be more then happy, to welcome you also in summer!

With kind regards from Obertauern

Family Steiner and the whole Hotel Steiner staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews