We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
261
48
11
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
48
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road boot room next year family sauna spa area ski holiday all day dining older kids busy road ski room lovely hotel heated boot ski schule high standard booked directly with the hotel booked a junior suite full board package
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 323 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from our 5th visit to the Steiner hotel in Obertauern.

We initially were recommended the hotel by friends after coming to Austria for over 20 years.

The hotel customer service is 5 star and nothing is too much trouble for Thomas Andrea and all the Steiner staff.

Food is superb. The quality of wine offered is excellent. The staff remember you from previous visits. You always feel incredibly welcome and like you are going home to family.

There is a range of rooms and suites available and for the first time we had two separate rooms as our children are getting older. They are immaculate clean and well equipped.

The ski and boot room at the bottom of the hotel is the best I’ve been in across Europe.
Each room has a dedicated locker with heated boot racks.

Access to the slopes is directly across the road from the hotel and very easy to get to for all levels of skiers.

We absolutely love our holiday to the Steiner and always feel totally relaxed and well looked after for the whole week.

Please Steiner....don’t change what you do you have an incredible hotel that makes your guests feel important and always very welcome.

Congratulations and thank you again to Thomas & Andrea Who greet all their guests personally. Kathy on the bar, Who remembers every year what you drink!!Elisabeth The breakfast chef, Karin & Rita who looked after us in the dining-room. And not forgetting the lovely Porter whose name I have forgotten always remember this when we walk through the doors at the beginning of the week.

Alison & Steve Barrass

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

The Steiner is definitely the best hotel that we have stayed in whilst skiing.
Rooms are very well equipped large and comfortable. Including bath showers and toilet.
Reliable working safe excellent double wardrobe space television and very comfortable beds.
Dressing gowns are provided for the indoor pool.
There is an excellent secure internal boot room with individual lockers and heated boot dryers

Best of all is the food. Basically all you can eat breakfast of every type imaginable.

5 course meal in the evenings. Children are well catered for.
There is a buffet everyday in the late morning lasting to well into the afternoon.
The service and staff could not be more friendly and helpful.

This is our first family holiday with grandchildren to this hotel and it is now our place of choice !
The ski area is literally opposite the front door and boot room. The ski slopes are

suitable for all standards including grandads!
The local ski school is just 2 minutes away down a gentle blue run.

Also good bar. Great place for English speakers as well as other languages

Room Tip: You won’t go wrong wherever you end up. We have 3 rooms and all excellent
Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Scottbradwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steiner_1, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Steiner, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear Family Scottbradwell,

thank you for taken the time, to write about your Holiday experience on Tripadvisor!

We would like to say thank you for your positive Rating about our Holiday!
We are more then happy, that you enjoyed your stay that much!

We also would like to say thank you for your nice words about our whole staff and our kitchen!
We, and all of our staff are doing the best, to make your Holidays a Special one!


We are looking forward to welcome you another time in our Hotel!

With Kind regards from Obertauern!

Family Steiner and the whole Hotel Steiner Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018

Stayed at Hotel Steiner 16-19 March 2018. What a great place , proper hotel , great service , great amenities , very polite staff , excellent restaurant , beautiful decor, ski in / ski out.
Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: i dont think they have bad rooms , i stayed in 2 rooms , due to my late booking , and both were very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _horningmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steiner_1, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Steiner, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Dear Family Horningmike,

thank you that you have taken the time to write about you stay here on tripadvisor!
We are more than happy, that you enjoyed your stay that much!
We´d like to say thank you, for your nice words about our staff and our kitchen!

We are looking forward to welcome you again!

With kind regards from Obertauern!

Family Steiner and the whole Hotel Steiner Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018

Last week we booked into Hotel Steiner, we came here some years ago, it has been extended and rooms upgraded but still has the feeling of a family run hotel.
Firstly the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful especially Susie who looked after us in the restaurant and bar, she worked very hard (and late) to make sure we enjoyed our stay, this young lady is a little gem.
We booked very last minute and were given a lovely suit, no view as such but quiet and very comfortable and clean, we will have to book a bit earlier next time and get one of the beautifully up dated rooms with views.
The food is amazing, you will never go hungry, the variety, presentation and quality is outstanding and the wines are great.
The family are always around for any help or queries which is reassuring and makes a difference.
The boot room is luxurious and to ski in and out of the hotel is a bonus.
The attention to detail in this hotel is remarkable, every thing is done to a high standard, I will be recommending Hotel Steiner and thank you for a wonderful week.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Family07Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steiner_1, Inhaber at Hotel Steiner, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Dear Family07Scotland,

first of all thank you very much for taking time to share your holidayexperiences here at Tripadvisor. We are happy that you and your party enjoyed your stay here with us! We and of course our great staff always try to create a memorable stay for our guests!

We hope to welcome you again soon to our hotel!

Kindest regards

Thomas and Andrea Steiner
and the Hotel Steiner staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018

A great view of the mountains and slopes from my suite at the Steiner, with easy access to the slopes - just a walk across the road from the hotel. The well equipped spa and treatments are a bonus. I'm amazed not to have piled on the pounds as the meals were delicious - made from healthy fresh ingredients plus some lovely pastries and great wine. The staff are friendly and helpful in this welcoming family run hotel.

Room Tip: book a room overlooking the slopes if you can
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AGCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steiner_1, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Steiner, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2018

Dear Family AGCity,

thank you very much, that you have taken the time to write about your Holiday in our Hotel on tripadvisor!

We are very happy that you enjoyed your Holiday that much!
Thank you for your positive rating about our kitchen and our great staff!
We, and also our great Team are doing our best to make your Holiday a Special one!

We would be more then happy to welcome you another time in our Hotel!

With kindest regards from Obertauern!

Family Steiner and the whole Hotel Steiner Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews