We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Alpina(Obertauern)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Appartements Sunshine(Obertauern)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Schneider(Obertauern)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpenhotel Perner(Obertauern)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andi's Skihotel(Obertauern)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Aparthotel Samson(Obertauern)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
259
47
11
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
47
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadboot roomnext yearfamily saunaspa areaski holidayclimbing wallall day diningolder kidsbusy roadski roomlovely hotelheated bootski schulehigh standardbooked directly with the hotelbooked a junior suite
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 320 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2018

We did not chose this hotel for its 4 stars, we chose on location and the fact that it is family run. However, this hotel absolutely deserves every one of its 4 stars, and then some! A kettle and tea / coffee things were all that was missing but maybe that's just a British thing! Anyway we were quite able to live without it as everything else was perfect! The hotel was in a perfect location for our ski holiday, just across the road to the slopes. They have the best ski and boot room I've ever known, a large dedicated locker for your room with heated boot rack and plenty of seating. Then it's out of the ground floor level door and across to the slopes, easy!
The rooms and public areas are all a good size, smart and spotless. The lovely spa area is included in the price and there are lots of areas where you can relax quietly with a book and a drink.
We were full board and the food is fabulous. A huge breakfast buffet where chef cooks eggs to order. Lunch is also buffet with hit it and cold choices and a small buffet runs throughout the afternoon. For dinner you can have up to six courses, 2 or 3 of which are freshly cooked to order. The food was all very good, no complaints at all.
Staff are all friendly and welcoming, the lady that runs the bar remembered what we liked to drink each evening.
Oh and nearly forgot the fabulous view of the mountains from our wimdow!
We were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel and would definitely stay again. Highly recommended!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steiner_1, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Steiner, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2018

Dear Helen D.,

we´d like to say thank you, that you have taken the time to write about your experience in our Hotel on Tripadvisor!

We are more then happy for the very good Rating!

We´d like to say thank you for the positive words about our kitchen and staff!
We, and also our staff are doing our best to make your Holidays as comfortable as possible!

We would be more then happy, to welcome you again in our Hotel!

Family Steiner and the whole Hotel Steiner Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from our 5th visit to the Steiner hotel in Obertauern.

We initially were recommended the hotel by friends after coming to Austria for over 20 years.

The hotel customer service is 5 star and nothing is too much trouble for Thomas Andrea and all the Steiner staff.

Food is superb. The quality of wine offered is excellent. The staff remember you from previous visits. You always feel incredibly welcome and like you are going home to family.

There is a range of rooms and suites available and for the first time we had two separate rooms as our children are getting older. They are immaculate clean and well equipped.

The ski and boot room at the bottom of the hotel is the best I’ve been in across Europe.
Each room has a dedicated locker with heated boot racks.

Access to the slopes is directly across the road from the hotel and very easy to get to for all levels of skiers.

We absolutely love our holiday to the Steiner and always feel totally relaxed and well looked after for the whole week.

Please Steiner....don’t change what you do you have an incredible hotel that makes your guests feel important and always very welcome.

Congratulations and thank you again to Thomas & Andrea Who greet all their guests personally. Kathy on the bar, Who remembers every year what you drink!!Elisabeth The breakfast chef, Karin & Rita who looked after us in the dining-room. And not forgetting the lovely Porter whose name I have forgotten always remember this when we walk through the doors at the beginning of the week.

Alison & Steve Barrass

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

The Steiner is definitely the best hotel that we have stayed in whilst skiing.
Rooms are very well equipped large and comfortable. Including bath showers and toilet.
Reliable working safe excellent double wardrobe space television and very comfortable beds.
Dressing gowns are provided for the indoor pool.
There is an excellent secure internal boot room with individual lockers and heated boot dryers

Best of all is the food. Basically all you can eat breakfast of every type imaginable.

5 course meal in the evenings. Children are well catered for.
There is a buffet everyday in the late morning lasting to well into the afternoon.
The service and staff could not be more friendly and helpful.

This is our first family holiday with grandchildren to this hotel and it is now our place of choice !
The ski area is literally opposite the front door and boot room. The ski slopes are

suitable for all standards including grandads!
The local ski school is just 2 minutes away down a gentle blue run.

Also good bar. Great place for English speakers as well as other languages

Room Tip: You won’t go wrong wherever you end up. We have 3 rooms and all excellent
Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Scottbradwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steiner_1, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Steiner, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear Family Scottbradwell,

thank you for taken the time, to write about your Holiday experience on Tripadvisor!

We would like to say thank you for your positive Rating about our Holiday!
We are more then happy, that you enjoyed your stay that much!

We also would like to say thank you for your nice words about our whole staff and our kitchen!
We, and all of our staff are doing the best, to make your Holidays a Special one!


We are looking forward to welcome you another time in our Hotel!

With Kind regards from Obertauern!

Family Steiner and the whole Hotel Steiner Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018

Stayed at Hotel Steiner 16-19 March 2018. What a great place , proper hotel , great service , great amenities , very polite staff , excellent restaurant , beautiful decor, ski in / ski out.
Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: i dont think they have bad rooms , i stayed in 2 rooms , due to my late booking , and both were very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _horningmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steiner_1, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Steiner, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Dear Family Horningmike,

thank you that you have taken the time to write about you stay here on tripadvisor!
We are more than happy, that you enjoyed your stay that much!
We´d like to say thank you, for your nice words about our staff and our kitchen!

We are looking forward to welcome you again!

With kind regards from Obertauern!

Family Steiner and the whole Hotel Steiner Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018

Last week we booked into Hotel Steiner, we came here some years ago, it has been extended and rooms upgraded but still has the feeling of a family run hotel.
Firstly the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful especially Susie who looked after us in the restaurant and bar, she worked very hard (and late) to make sure we enjoyed our stay, this young lady is a little gem.
We booked very last minute and were given a lovely suit, no view as such but quiet and very comfortable and clean, we will have to book a bit earlier next time and get one of the beautifully up dated rooms with views.
The food is amazing, you will never go hungry, the variety, presentation and quality is outstanding and the wines are great.
The family are always around for any help or queries which is reassuring and makes a difference.
The boot room is luxurious and to ski in and out of the hotel is a bonus.
The attention to detail in this hotel is remarkable, every thing is done to a high standard, I will be recommending Hotel Steiner and thank you for a wonderful week.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Family07Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steiner_1, Inhaber at Hotel Steiner, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Dear Family07Scotland,

first of all thank you very much for taking time to share your holidayexperiences here at Tripadvisor. We are happy that you and your party enjoyed your stay here with us! We and of course our great staff always try to create a memorable stay for our guests!

We hope to welcome you again soon to our hotel!

Kindest regards

Thomas and Andrea Steiner
and the Hotel Steiner staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews