We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
28
10
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
10
4
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 44 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2017

The hotel is really one hotel spilt into two with walkways underneath to get from one to the other. We booked the Zehnerkar but actually slept in the Obertauern hotel.

The reception and dining areas are in the Zehnerkar hotel.

The bedrooms are very very spacious, biggest we have had in the Alps! ample storage for your clothes. Very clean, bathrobes and slippers are also provided. No tea & coffee making facilities, just for your info!

The Hotel has a swimming pool and then there is a spa area, which has two Saunas, a steam room, a solarium, an ice room and another room, which we didn't go in and a gym! (didn't use that either). Be aware, you have to go in the Saunas naked, there are signs up! it took us by surprise, I can tell you! We didn't go back after the first visit, as I'm a prude! shame though. really lovely after a day on the slopes.

Restaurant:- WOW, 5 courses every night. A soup, followed by a starter, followed by salad from the extensive salad bar, your main and then pudding, and there is always cheeses out too! I have to admit that I chose not to have the main a couple of nights as I couldn't eat it all. You have a choice of three main meals, and you make your choice at breakfast by marking it on the menu. Try the Austrian wines, we were impressed.

Breakfast has all the usual, cereals, bread, pastries, fruit. There is always boiled eggs and fried eggs and sometimes sausages and bacon etc...

There is a ski locker for each hotel, the more convenient is the one in the Obertauern as you walk outside and you are just a stones throw away from the snow. You have to walk around the building to put skis on, and then you can ski along the flat to the lift located to the left of the hotel.

The night life in the hotel is very quiet, but we found a very lively bar in the town called the Hans Gruber, it seemed like most of the resort were there.

The slopes were well maintained, the lifts were good and easy to get off, unlike some French ski resorts, heated seats on some lifts and visor for snow and rain protection if needed. There are plenty of places to get a much needed drink on the slopes too.

We had a lovely few days here. I would definitely bring the children, lots of easy blues and reds. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and happy to engage in conversation and reception were always informative and friendly.

Room Tip: Use the underground walkway past the swimming pools and saunas, to get to the other hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bibste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2017

This was a fantastic location for a ski holiday with several families - the staff were professional, friendly and accommodating to the needs of a big group. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and well maintained. The leisure and spa facilities are a real bonus.

Everything you could want from a hotel really!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2017

Returning for a second time to Hotel Zehnerkar felt like going home. The staff are so friendly and welcoming and will do everything possible to make your stay both memorable and enjoyable.

We stayed in the same room as last year - a "health suite" which means that we had a sauna in the bathroom and plenty of space for myself, wife and 12 year old son.

The food in the hotel was uniformly excellent with the buffet breakfast far too tempting (you are carb loading for the day after all!) and the 5 course dinner always interesting and tasty.

The hotel is bang in the middle of Obertauern so perfectly located and there is a short ski run (50 metres) at the back of the hotel to the nearest lift.

If you haven't been to the area before it's perfect for all levels of skiing - we were blue / red run skiers last year and this year progressed to blacks of which there were several and of varying levels of difficulty.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great although the sofa beds are a little hard - better for younger children than older teenagers or adults.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisTurner66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2017

We went to Obertauern and stayed at Hotel Zehnerkar and it was wonderful. It´s located just beneath the skislope. This hotel has wonderful food, we stayed for 9 nights and we never got the same food. Wonderful taset on everything we had to eat and drink. And the jam they do it´s wonderful. The room was exelent, well cleaned, cleaned every day, the swimingpool is great and to go there after skiing that was wonderful. There is also a Sauna and they have Finish sauna, wet sauna, solarium, infrared cubes and relaxing room. The have fitnessroom also.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Bergthora Margr... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2017

As a large family we have been coming to this hotel each Christmas time for many years and we have known and been visiting Obertauern since the early 1980's! The hotel is run by the family and the standards are extremely high and relaxed and nothing is too much trouble. The accommodation is spacious and has very comfortable rooms and there are excellent leisure facilities, and there is a wide selection of delicious food. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful and always have a smile despite working extremely hard for our benefit. We really look forward to our return as the village has a welcoming atmosphere and the variety for those who ski or snow walk is extensive and interesting. Being central, the nearest ski lift is only 50 metres away from the hotel and you can ski right back to the door. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms in Hotel Obertauern, which is connected to the back of Hotel Zehnerkar, are very quiet as they are away from the road.”
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Golfredroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews