We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views!”

Salzburg Fortress (Festung Hohensalzburg)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17.40*
and up
Salzburg Fortress All-Inclusive Entrance Ticket
Ranked #1 of 170 things to do in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This amazing 11th-century castle overlooks Salzburg from a hill on the outskirts of the city.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We did not get a chance to enter the fortress because of time, closed early. But we did had an amazing time with the views, great pictures.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 833jurgenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"funicular ride"
in 178 reviews
"audio tour"
in 338 reviews
"torture chamber"
in 63 reviews
"marionette museum"
in 131 reviews
"walk up"
in 243 reviews
"basic ticket"
in 79 reviews
"salzburg fortress"
in 198 reviews
"state rooms"
in 141 reviews
"views are amazing"
in 60 reviews
"cable car"
in 286 reviews
"surrounding countryside"
in 73 reviews
"festung hohensalzburg"
in 64 reviews
"interesting history"
in 63 reviews
"old town"
in 296 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 59 reviews
"mozart concert"
in 55 reviews
"sunny day"
in 57 reviews
Filter

639 - 643 of 10,041 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Took the train up to the top since we were in a crunch for time. Worth the visit to see Salzburg and the surrounding mountains. Stop have a beer or two in the cafe up top surrounded by some surreal landscape. The fort is nice too :-)

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank travelingking23112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We took the cable car to the Salzburg Fortress and had a private guide which showed us the old and wonderful rooms of the bishops. Furthermore there is a wonderful view from the castle to the city and countryside. We loved it

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 270herg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

This was probably the highlight of my visit in Salzburg. The views are breathtaking. One side you can see all Salzburg, and the other side the Alps. The fort is also very interesting. Makes you feel as if you are taken back in time.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Wintermax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018

I only had the opportunity to see a few of the spaces at the fortress since my only chance inside was for one of the evening cocnerts. The concert room was beautifully appointed, and the concert was excellent. The view from the concert room is superb before dark, but obstructed after dark by the strong lights shining up on the castle from below blotting the view.

The stairs, however! The stairs are a problem! To ne honest, I can't speak for the part of the castle viewable on the regular tour route, but I was aghast how many stairs had to be climbed to get to the concert room, and how exposed some of those stairs were to the elements. I know that the elevator was unknown to the castle builders, and that there are rules about how heritage buildings can and cannot be modifed ... but really? Can't there be some accommodation made for those folks who are mobility challenged?

If, however, you can make it up to the concert hall, you should be treated to a first-class evening of music making.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank SyrinxSounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salzburg Fortress (Festung Hohensalzburg) also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Salzburg Fortress (Festung Hohensalzburg)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing