We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like in a fairy tail!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Ranked #3 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Like in a fairy tail!”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for just one night and we were given the suite. This hotel is absolutely fantastic. If you want to experience the atmosphere of an Austrian village, this is the place to be.
Staff was super friendly and very helpful. Our room was just adorable, all wood and marble.
This hotel is at the top of the main street of Salzburg just under the rock. The restaurant on site is considered up scale and reservation is a must. Just 50m down the street there is the sister restaurant with a more casual atmosphere.
We loved the Goldener Hirsch, definitely the best hotel in Salzburg! We will be back!

Room Tip: The hotel offer a vallee parking but you can easily park under the "rock" which is just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefy211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    179
    39
    16
    11
See reviews for
227
492
37
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We went to salzburg in December 2011 for the christmas markets. We travel to various destinations within Germany and Austria annually for these. On this occasion we decided to stay in the goldener hirsch and what a great decision this turned out to be. The hotel is completely charming with traditional decor and excellent service. we were warmly greeted on check in and shown to a gorgeous room. The bar is very sweet and was full of festive touches, including a large candle surrounded by a Christmas wreath on the bar. Service was excellent but unobtrusive, the barman always appearing just when you needed something. We had dinner in the more casual of the two restaurants in the hotel and the food was delicious. We enjoyed our stay so much that in January, when we decided to take a train journey through the alps from Zurich to Innsbruck and on to Salzburg we stayed here again. We had another wonderful stay and are looking forward to a return visit

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eidub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Loved the hotel just as much the second time around!

Reserved, understated refinement. With handcrafted furnishings, looped rugs, and the rustic hunting lodge or Austria equestrian feel to the hotel, some may find this less than luxurious. Those that don’t appreciate this style may view the hotel as outdated, and worn. We loved it . . . again!

Saw 7 different rooms (due to the undying patience of the staff in trying to accommodate my whim for a huge bathroom – this attempt was way and above and appreciated). All are different, all beautiful – if you like simplistic comforts – if not, you should look elsewhere for plusher touches.

Some rooms have lower ceilings than others – so ask to see your room before hand to ensure the ceiling height is acceptable to you … but all are ruggedly rich! Not slick, not gold, not silk, and not bold. Rustically Rich.

The staff is professional (with the exception of one condescending person). Not bubbly, or overly friendly, but service orientated. (Like long term hospitality experts vs. overanxious hotel employees.) They call each other "my colleague", if that gives you a clue.

Some may find this less than personable. I’d label it polished service, as one staff member told me that most of the staff have been there ten years+ and were more like family than employees, and felt their guest should be treated with great respect while visiting their home.

It is not an inexpensive hotel, so be prepared to spend if you use the hotel’s amenities. This 600+ years hotel is not like or feel like a modern day chain hotel, nor will the amenities, i.e. parking, gym, business centers, heating (heating pipes – loved it!) or A.C. fit seamlessly into the building. They are provided, and current, but not to the level of a modern facility. Although a Starwood property, it still maintains its’ aged character.

We have stayed in many differently rated properties, from hostels to 5 star hotels, and ratings determine your expectations. If you are open to a culturally different, ‘Old World Salzburg’ 5 star experience, from the huge solid wooden door upon entry, to the stag and elk décor and wood beams throughout, to the traditionally Austrian dressed housekeeper, to the cotton linen and authentic food, this is THE wonderfully located, fun, quaint Salzburg place to stay.

Hotel Goldener Hirsch is 600+ years of history and ambience, catering to all walks of life, and is thus uniquely different. Different strokes for different folks!

Room Tip: Ask to see room, as some ceilings are low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HopesandDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We ate dinner in the restaurant on 5th February. We were not staying in the hotel. It was a very disappointing experience. The food was adequate but for the price (E195 without gratuity) we expected fine dining and the meal was certainly nowhere near that standard. The menu indicated a `cover charge' of E4.20 per person. When we came to pay the bill we were told that that was for the bread!, Quite apart from the fact that my wife hardly touched the bread, I find it a very strange way to charge for bread.
Booking on line was very straightforward. There was a reference to `a special occasion'. I wrote that it was the birthday of my son, and the response was `we will do our best to accommodate your request'. No mention was made of this on the evening. When we left there was no attempt to bring our coats to us. We were pointed towards a door. And that was with the restaurant less than a third full.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank colinlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The Hotel Goldener Hirsch is a must stay if you can do it. Situated on the same street where Mozart was born/lived, it's a perfect place to walk out of the hotel and be right in the heart of Salzburg. The room we stayed in was a good size and comfortable - we had a large bathroom that had a bathtub, a separate shower and a separate powder room. It was private, intimate and functional. The staff is straight forward professional: Helpful, thoughtful and with wonderful ideas for days trips. Definitely would return to this lovely hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSEMcCauley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We booked this leg of our honeymoon in a rush which was silly given it was over a weekend and many of the hotels were fully booked. We ended up picking the Goldner Hirsch after reading the great TA reviews and when we arrived considered ourselves very lucky we had landed a room in this old-world hotel.

The staff was friendly but with a good balance of experience and efficiency. We arrived early and were prepared to store our bags but were kindly escorted to our already set-up room and better yet, welcomed with glasses of proseco as a honeymoon treat. Our room (an exclusive double) felt enormous compared to our previous Parisian hotel (which was a junior suite) and was beautifully furnished in a traditional / antique style and included free wifi. The whole hotel is built in an old mansion with split levels, lots of corridors and nooks and crannies filled with little lounges - perfect for escaping the cold with a glass of red.  There is a cozy bar with deer horns and photos of music world celebs (I assume) who have visited the hotel. There are also two restaurant choices (both Austrian) - one finer dining and the other bistro-style. The location is absolutely brilliant - couldn't be better actually! Right in the old town and on the main pedestrian street. Very close (2-10 mins walk) from all the sights. Oh and boy does Salzburg have sights to see - this is truly one of the most picturesque towns I have ever visited.

Some small negatives (these were few and far between) - the mattresses and pillows are much to soft for our liking. I woke up each morning with no relief from my sore back. The breakfast (which was a great Austrian style buffet complete with eggs, cereal, fruits, cheeses, pickles and cold meats) was not included in the room charge and I feel was somewhat over-priced at 32 euro per person each morning (effectively adding 64 euros per day to our overall room rate). Also, included on the hotel's recommended dining locations in Salzburg was a so-called romantic restaurant located at Schloss Monstein. We went and I would recommend avoiding at all costs. See my TA review for more info.

Overall an impressive and really enjoyable hotel experience. We will stay here again without considering another venue on our next visit and will unhesitatingly recommend to our friends!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thebondipantry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

All what you would expect from a normal 5 star, expensive but justifiable. Old romantic building but well equipped. Walking distance from anything you might want to see in Salzburg. Quiet, though located between two 'touristic' streets. Very professional staff. Nice restaurant ('Herzl') downstairs (though also expensive).

Perhaps only one discomfort - you can't really have a 'new' atmosphere in a very old building, compared to new hotels that were built for purpose. In our case, we had some scent in room when we arrived. We believed it was coming from old wooden furniture. After leaving windows open for a while couple of times, the scent went away.

Room Tip: if you are travelling with a big family (we were 5 - me, wife, 3 kids), they will offer you intercon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingKindergarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
1,493 reviews
0.4 km away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
682 reviews
0.8 km away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 132 in Salzburg
438 reviews
0.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.0 km away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg

Property: Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Address: Getreidegasse 37, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple Conde Nast Gold list and Travel + Leisure World's best awards winner - all our 69 rooms and suites boast authentic Salzburg-style décor handpicked by Countess Harriet Walderdorff. The original antiques, handmade furniture, and native rag rugs are opulent and discreet at the same time, and honor 600 years of hotel history. Meeting point of local and international celebrities year round who appreciate the flawless and discreet service the hotel is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Hirsch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing