We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,106)
Filter reviews
1,106 results
Traveller rating
828
202
48
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
828
202
48
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews festival wing old world charm old town low ceilings the main shopping street austrian hospitality favorite hotel charming hotel turn down service large bathroom perfect location antique furniture sitting area modern amenities mozart's birthplace upgraded to a suite an upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 1,106 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2018

The Goldener Hirsch's exquisite history and authentic Old World charm is outstripped only by the gracious attentiveness of its staff. We were traveling with five family members, and thus needed two rooms. The front desk and hall staff were exceptionally accommodating in arranging for three of us in one room and two in another - in adjoining rooms - and the stay was wonderfully comfortably and absolutely memorable. The location is ideal for touring - central to all the sites and easily accessible by car - but it is the property itself that is stunning. This isn't merely an old structure hollowed out to make a contemporary hotel; it is a piece of 600-year-old history that maintains the core of its soul, unfettered by contemporary comforts. We have been fortunate to stay in a number of premium hotels across Europe - and all of the major luxury names in the US - and the Goldener Hirsch will remain a favorite of ours for years to come. Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tricial0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2018

We have been there and we stayed directly in the centre of Salzburg. All importing things to visit are around the hotel. Reception started with the first impression : too old. Next step rooms and restaurant : the same impression. Our opionion is that this hotel has to renew everything - we had the feeling that nothing happened since the last century.
But it is really on the best place in town

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 270herbertg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas K, Front Office Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Dear Herbertg,
we are very sorry that for your taste the hotel seemed "too old". The hotel indeed is very old, it dates back from 1407 and is situated in the Getreidegasse, a street that was already built by the Romans more than 2000 years ago. The hotel reflects the local culture with very traditional and unique furniture and style. Countess Walderdorff had the idea around 1950 to create a hotel where the guests experience the local atmosphere and culture not only outside but also inside the building. Of course we understand that this is not what every guest expects when booking a five star hotel and we are really sorry that you did not have an experience as you expected. In terms of renewing - in September there will be the next big updates on our Aircondition Systems and room freshups.
Thank you very much for your honest opion.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2018

We have just got back from spending 4 nights in the hotel and it was an amazing place to spend my 50th Birthday :) the staff are very friendly and helpful would stay again in the future.
The hotel is a mix of luxury and traditional well worth staying 10 out of 10 !

Room Tip: We had a front room but was very large and well equiped
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonpullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2018

There is no exaggerated word in the title. We spent 3 nights at this hotel and we lived a truly fairy tail. The hotel has a very good location in the heart of the old city of Salzburg, on the main pedestrian road, just a few houses from "the Mozart Geburtshaus" The room was traditional Salzburg style decorated, very spacious, with a large bathroom, the breakfast very rich with a lot of choices and very good coffee and the staff very friendly. We highly recommend this hotel for spending some fairytale days in Salzburg. Anca & Florin

Room Tip: Room 29 super!!!
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank florin62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2018

Straight, old-school European luxury hotel. That means the furnishings are historic (but what a comfy bed!!), the bidet (not that we use it) is separate from the toilet room, and the TV is likely to be the smallest/oldest you've seen in a while. That said, that is the kind of luxury hotel you'll typically find in the "old town" neighborhoods in centuries old cities. Despite the overwhelmingly pink sitting room, we were delighted with our stay here. Don't take my frank descriptions as necessarily negative. This place is pretty cool. Just know that it doesn't have the same modern accoutrements as some of the fancy big city hotels.

Room Tip: If you're an SPG or Marriott Platinum member, call ahead to try to reserve a suite upgrade. It's totally worth it!
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews