We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Imlauer Hotel Pitter Salzburg
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Mozart(Salzburg)
US$146
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$147
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$177
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
NH Salzburg City(Salzburg)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg(Salzburg)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gastehaus im Priesterseminar Salzburg(Salzburg)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$125
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$259
US$182
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$308
US$292
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,808)
Filter reviews
1,809 results
Traveller rating
749
749
224
61
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
749
749
224
61
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe crowne plazasky barpitter kellermirabell gardensbeer cellarold townrooftop restauranttrain stationminute walkjunior suitetop floorthe riverking bedexcellent hotelfamily roomthe air conditioningreception staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,038 - 1,043 of 1,809 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in February 2012 and were all round impressed with this hotel. The staff were very helpful and polite and eager to help us locate our way around Salzburg. I know it is something small, but I had left my international adaptor in Vienna and was freaking out. When I went downstairs to find out where an electrical store was, they advised me they would all be closed considering it was after 5pm, but had one which they were willing to lend me. I know most hotels offer this facility now, but it was the way they dealt with the situation calmly and offered an alternative straight away to my problem. We dealt with many staff in Europe who would give us minimal help to anything and would make our lives harder, but the staff here were lovely. Beautiful hotel and rooms too!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyp09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2012

The hotel is 150 years old. It has recently been refurbished but retains its period charm and comfort. The rooms were excellent, slightly small perhaps but understandable in a hotel of this age. There is a very pleasant Plaza bar. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel; the restaurant was packed and the buffet did not look inviting. Instead we went around the corner to a good cafe and had an excellent breakfast for a third of the price. The steam room and the sauna in the spa area are well maintained, and were not over-used during our stay. The staff at reception were very helpful and very friendly. The Pitter Kellar restaurant attached to the hotel is traditional with Austrian food. The fifteen minutes stroll into the old town is best taken through the Mirabelle gardens and along the river.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colinlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinGissel, General Manager at Imlauer Hotel Pitter Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Dear Guest thank you very much for your time to post a review to Tripadvisor. We are sorry that our breakfast buffet did not meet your needs. Normally the price of the Breakfast if you are travelling with kids is not higher then the one in nearby places. We offer the full range of egg plates, coffee and tea specialties at no additional cost. Next time please review if it makes sense to book including breakfast as the surcharge is less then the normal breakfast price. Thank you again for your time. All the best from freezing Salzburg. Martin Gissel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Upgraded 2 a junior suite on arrival great start , very very comfy bed , pool tiny but spotless . Wifi with a connection charge come on guys 4 star hotel? Free just about everywhere else in town

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexbaba179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinGissel, General Manager at Imlauer Hotel Pitter Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Dear guest, thank you so much for your valuable feedback. Excellent that you loved the bedding in your Junior Suite. I am really sorry that you where not happy about the WIFI charges. We have already decreased the rates by a third. Still the investment was very high in this old building. But good news. With immediate effect WIFI is free in the public areas and the Restaurants. It is a matter of time when all our Hotels will grant free Wifi access. Have a good time and thank you again for your time. Martin Gissel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2012

The hotel is well located right near the Mirabell Gardens - and you can easily walk into the Old Town along the river. The parking is a little distance away, but the staff helped us find what to do.

The hotel feels a little dated - and is probably in need of a renovation/refurbishment - but it's obvious that they have done the rooms recently - if not the corridors. The house-keeping staff were kind and helpful, if the reception staff weren't particularly memorable.

The restaurant "Pitskeller" is great - and the range of food is good, as we couldn't really find anywhere else to eat around the place - as it felt it was sort of in the "business district" of Salzburg.

Room Tip: There isn't any great views. If you're looking for one with a view over Salzburg - stay at Hotel Sacher.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinGissel, General Manager at Imlauer Hotel Pitter Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your nice feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. Yes we admit our "lady" is old but we all love this 150 year old Hotel! We are currently in the planning process of a major redo of our rooms which will hopefully begin in January 2013. But the most important asset of a Hotel are the people working there and we are so glad that you liked our service. Thank you again. Martin Gissel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2012

The stay in this hotel was short. We had been holiday-ing in the Tirol region in Austria and had an early flight the next day.
The few staff we had encounters with were friendly. There were around 30 other parties checking in at the same time but they were efficient. The room, a twin, was standard and actually quite small. The bathroom was not well organised, the toilet was directly behind the door, but the shower was good and small toiletries were provided (which proved essential as we had used all of ours on the main part of our holiday). Reception also provided us with a dental kit upon asking at reception (again we left ours behind!). Very helpful.
The room was unbelieably hot and as a result we had to open the window but it was raining and the rain dripped onto a metal roof, which was just outside and below the window, all night- did not provide for a good sleep.

Evening meal was excellent and breakfast was fantastic. The best buffet selection I have ever seen! Cooked breakfast, cereals, breads, fruit, yoghurt, waffles, chocolate, jams, marmelades, hams, cheeses, pates... I could go on!!

I can not comment on the hotels proximity to locations as we were only there for 12 hours at the most. I would recommend this hotel for short visits though.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilly_424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinGissel, General Manager at Imlauer Hotel Pitter Salzburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Dear lilly_424,

thank you so much for your time to rate the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. We are so sorry that the room was too hot during your short stay. I assume that our system could not react in time to the temperature switches outside. It is indeed an old Hotel and sometimes we struggle a bit with the technical fittings even though we already spent a fortune on the updates... Thank you for your great feedback on the breakfast. that is the most important meal of the day and should allways be very good! I hope to see you again at the "Pitter". Best regards, Martin Gissel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews