We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit rough around the edges”
Review of Hotel Elefant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Elefant
Ranked #12 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A bit rough around the edges”
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

I was reminded I needed to write a review when going through my photos and finding a grainy picture of dust on a lampshade. I had wanted to take more but as my stay at this hotel was part of a birthday surprise I thought it would seem ungrateful, but there was loads of built in dirt in our small room.
Breakfast was also disappointing. The first morning there the breakfast room was really busy and the only table free was piled with crockery, clearly other guests had been clearing tables to it. If staff upon seeing us hovering with nowhere to sit had. ILearned the table straight away it would have been ok. Instead they kept rushing past us, refilling half empty juice jugs. We did get a table when I eventually getting someone's attention and we were able to fill up on cake and cracker bread. The food matched the service.
Given the amazing TA reviews my boyfriend had thought he was booking a treat hotel, really it's location and the fact it's not full on filthy is the only thing it's got.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silentboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    295
    68
    23
    4
See reviews for
156
444
34
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This place has a superb location,the staff is excellent . Rooms are clean and comfortable.
Would not pick any other hotel if i go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enrique68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

An excellent hotel, location could not be better, in the middle of old town, staff were amazing, they went above and beyond, food in the restaurant was very good (try their soups). We cannot say enough about our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otis1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This location right in the middle of hte old town, is perfect for sightseeing.

Our room was small, but nicely laid out and not cramped at all.Beds comfortable with good linens. Bathroom was a good size, with excellent water pressure. Minor nitpick...towels are kind of small, and not particularly thick. Everything was clean.

The included breakfast buffet was fine, though might get boring after a bit. Could use a bit more variety of fresh fruit. Breads were very nice. We ate lunch in the restaurant, sitting at an outside table, and enjoyed it quite a bit.

Staff was helpful, and professional.

Wifi was free, and worked fine, though was not able to sustain a facetime connection...might have been slow upload speed, or a problem elsewhere.

I definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chinacat_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BILLDC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Small (31 room) hotel in the heart of Old Town Salzburg. Good-sized room with comfortable bed. Adequate breakfast with typical array of items on the serving line. Price was quite reasonable. Staff was courteous and accommodating. About a 15 minute walk from RR Station. We are one baggers so we could manipulate the cobble stones, but suggest a bus from station if there's more baggage. Very easy walk to all the sites tourists come to this city to see including the finicular to Hohensalzburg Fortress. Recommended for tourists to spend a coule of days in Salzburg.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BILLDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
454 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 505 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Just returned from a stay with friends. The hotel is well furnished and extremely clean. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was very nice. Despite being in the centre of the city I didn`t hear a noise all night long and there certainly wasn`t any room-to-room noise even though the hotel was full. There is a small lift, though rather on the slow side! Having stayed in the New Town on previous visits I much preferred being in the heart of the Old Town and look forward to staying at Hotel Elefant again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We would definitely recommend Hotel Elefant. From this location, my wife and I could easily walk to all the attractions throughout the old town and across the river in the new town. We were very happy with our room (quiet, clean, spacious and nicely decorated). The breakfast buffet was very good and staff were friendly and helpful. The WiFi was a bit spotty in our room but still worked. The front desk was excellent and we appreciated all the help and advice given by Klaus and especially Stefanie.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.3 km away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.3 km away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
0.3 km away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elefant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elefant

Property: Hotel Elefant
Address: Sigmund-Haffner-Gasse 4 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#12 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elefant 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an age over 750 years, the Hotel Elefant is one of Salzburg's oldest and most traditional hotels. It is situated down a quiet lane off the world-famous Getreidegasse. A look at the history of this building shows that over the past 500 years the hotel's purpose was, and still is, to serve its guests according to the best in Austrian tradition. Lodging in this hotel offers you style and comfort and you will quickly feel at home as a guest of this house. Family-Run Hotel: The Hotel Elefant is run now by the 4th generation of family Mayr. All our employees have been working with us for a long time, so you can be assured to have best quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Elefant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Elefant
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing