We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel; perfect for families...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Ranked #28 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice hotel; perfect for families...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

The family rooms are great--huge, with play area, etc. Couldn't find a better hotel for traveling with kids. Also, great location...right in the middle of the "old" part of Salzburg where you can walk to everything. We were very happy with this choice. The staff was also remarkably helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearcatMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    342
    129
    44
    14
See reviews for
274
428
61
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We loved our time at this hotel. The service was remarkable, and the breakfast buffet was scrumptious! The hotel is centrally located near Old Town, and is surrounded by some very nice shops. We got the true experience of the Alps.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are quieter and sunnier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyP943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senigallia, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I could not ask more for my stay in Salzburg. Wolf Dietrich is a beautiful hotel placed in a pedestrian area, just 10 min walking from the Altstadt. My room was a small double room on the ground floor, in the Altstadt hotel (the main building, where the reception is placed). The position of that room is perfect as you can reach the breakfast room as well as the SPA with few steps. The room was tidy and clean, and spacious enough. Furthermore the staff very kind and the service complete. The SPA includes swimming pool, sauna, steam bath, infrared lamp and relax room, perfect for some relax! the water in the pool sometimes was not extremely warm and often staff was not in the SPA area, anyway the overall opinion is good. To conclude I would recommend Wolf Dietrich as, in my case, I had an excellent stay for a low cost (low season, booked by internet without cancellation).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlessioMas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Treated ourselves to a suite in the wolf Dietrich hotel.
Turned out to be on the top floor of a separate building across the street (3rd floor no elevator sadly).
This worked out great for us as the other building was very quiet and recently renovated. Stayed in a top floor suite with a loft. Great for a family with 2 young kids. Hotel had many dvd's to borrow for the kids to watch in the evening.
Lovely breakfast in the hotel dining room across the street, afternoon coffee and cakes was a great idea.
Located just on the edge of the pedestrianized area of the old town.
10 minutes to the center of the old town.
Would definitely return, had great time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlasticSack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Awhile back my friends and I spent the weekend in Salzburg and we found an amazing deal on Hotel Wolf-Dietrich. We thought there must be something wrong with the place because of the price but we were very wrong. This place was wunderbar! Everything, from the decor, to the breakfast, to the heavenly beds, was top notch. My favourite part was tea time in the afternoon. It was nice to take a break from sightseeing and sip some tea and eat some cake. The location is also great with a very short walk to the Mirabell Gardens. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Charming little hotel with a beautiful spa ... alot of bang for your buck!!! The room was adequate size albeit the shower was small. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and plentiful. While I didn't see it, apparently it had a pool. The location was great. A 15 minute walk from the train station and admist lots of shopping. The sights are a 10 minute walk. Should I return to Salzburg, I would stay again!!! The hotel isn't well marked on the street.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellover62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Great experience staying at Hotel Wolf-Dietrich. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We stayed in a family room in the Residence across from the main hotel. Although it was on the 4th floor (no elevator) it was worth the climb. It was very spacious with a living room on the main level with skylights and a very comfortable pullout couch and also had a full bath. There were stairs that led to a loft with bedroom & ensuite bathroom. Staff helped us with taking suitcases to our room (for a tip). Location is great...very close to a pedestrian only street lined with shops and restaurants, ending at a bridge which leads you to Old Town. Family of 4 from Canada.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol48_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 km away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#13 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.7 km away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#10 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wolf-Dietrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Property: Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Address: Wolf-Dietrich-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#23 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wolf-Dietrich 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wolf-Dietrich Altstadthotel & Residenz is situated in the city centre of Salzburg and offers absolute comfort in a central location. It consists of two buildings, Altstadthotel and the Residenz, located opposite each other in a quiet side street of the city’s pedestrian area. No matter whether you are enjoying your family holiday in Salzburg, whether you are a loving couple, searching for culture and sightseeing or if you are on a business trip to this World Heritage Sight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Wolf-Dietrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Dietrich Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Wolf Dietrich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing