We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years visit - Dec to Jan 2016/17”
Review of Hartlwirt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hartlwirt
Ranked #85 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Reviewed 4 January 2017

What a lovely place. We had a family room - not the largest space ever but it suited our needs just fine. Clean, tidy, comfortable beds and nice size bathroom with a good shower. We had a view of the local church, the bells rang out every hour - we liked this and it didn't bother us sleeping but I could see some people wouldn't be quite so keen. The staff were friendly, one young lady in particular was very welcoming, she booked us in and served us in the restaurant as well. Buffet style continental breakfast, very nice and I must say we ate in the hotel twice and it was delicious. The food was amazing, really impressive and good quality. Try the farmers style pork... we loved it. Desserts equally as good! Not the cheapest place to eat, but Austria is expensive everywhere - but I can say this quality matched the price and was worth it. Good location, we had hired a car so it was great. Free parking and wifi, excellent just off the main road so quiet yet well-connected. Would stay there again for sure. Short walk from the bus stop - use Number 4 to get into the city. We were drinking NYE so left the car there. Hotel sells bus tickets and the Salzburg tourist cards as well - (then you can travel on the buses for free) so it's great. Hotel has bus timetables also - super helpful! Enjoy!

Room Tip: The church bell rings every hour - we liked it, but some may find it annoying!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bexandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2016

This is a small traditional hotel in a quiet location in the Liefering district, a 15-minute bus ride from Salzburg’s city centre. The rooms were basic but very clean and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The restaurant served really nice Austrian food and you could dine either in the restaurant or outside on the patio. There was also a small bar area. Location was good for getting into Salzburg. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryd1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

This is a lovely clean hotel with excellent staff who really make you welcome
The restaurant serves great food and you can eat either inside or in the front of the hotel under cover, or you can just sit there sipping your drinks.
The breakfast menu is excellent with a complete selection of meats and cheeses as well as different breads.

Room Tip: It is just 10 minutes cab trip to the city centre and the bus stop is about 10 minutes away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank merewood5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

the hotelstaff is cvery helpful especially Tom and the lady margret there ,we had to go early in the morning but she managed to provide breakfast to us ,this hotel is old fashioned ,lift is very small ,ifd u want to go to town then u had to catch bus no. 4 from nearby fishergasse but u had to reach till 930 pm because after this all places becomes isolated

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DelhiBoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Nice, friendly staff. Very good restaurant with delicious dishes and beer. I totally recommend this hotel for everyone.
There were only one thing we didn't like. The bell of the church in the neighborhood was tolling every half hour, so we woke up regularly.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank 816andreasf
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were staying at the pension helmhof. And this was recommended as a good place to eat.. It was certainly a good place, the ford and service were excellent. The waiting staff were very friendly and happy to help with your menu choices. Well worth a visit.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Samantha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salzburg
2.3 km away
Hotel Gasthof Kamml
Hotel Gasthof Kamml
#1 of 1 in Siezenheim
96 reviews
11.6 km away
Hotel Restaurant Kaiserhof
Hotel Restaurant Kaiserhof
#64 of 132 in Salzburg
119 reviews
0.6 km away
Austria Trend Hotel Salzburg Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Villa Ceconi
Villa Ceconi
#88 of 132 in Salzburg
56 reviews
1.1 km away
Landgasthof Kohlpeter
Landgasthof Kohlpeter
#48 of 132 in Salzburg
114 reviews
2.7 km away
Adlerhof
Adlerhof
#41 of 132 in Salzburg
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartlwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartlwirt

Address: Lieferinger Hauptstrasse 120, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range: $130 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hartlwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hartlwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartlwirt Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing