We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommended hotel for families”
Review of Der Salzburger Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Der Salzburger Hof
Ranked #17 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2012

we stayed here for 3 nights. Our room is very spacious for 4 people like us. The breakfast is various and delicious and Hotel is not much expensive. It is about 20 minutes far from the old town on walk.
The staff is friendly and speak a very good English.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corrado T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

The hotel is a good choice and very good value. Staff were pleasant and the restaurant is good for breakfast and excellent meals at dinner. Rooms are colourful Mozart themed and spacious and have coffee machines and blu ray players and flat screen tv's on the wall.
It is less than 5 mins to walk to a shopping mall next to the rail and bus station.
The hotel is a 20 min walk to the old town but buses are frequent and cost under £2.

I found Salzburg itself to be extremely dirty and the people rude and unfriendly, which surprised me.

Room Tip: Avoid one on the main road. Could be noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gra90travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights from 21st feb - 25th Feb in a Junior Suite room.
Its a small family hotel within 4-5 mins walk from the Main Train and the Bus station.

The rooms are fresh, bright and spacious. Excellent rooms with either Purple or Green colour base and with art work on the wall. Room comes with tea/coffee facility. I also has a very good restaurant which serves Indian/Italian and Austrian Cuisine. Good food at a good price.The hotel also offers good value add service like welcome drink on arrival, free umbrella hire, 1 free drink coupon if you are taking lunch & dinner at their restaurant.

I would consider this hotel again for my next visit and would recommed it to others as well.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yesaurabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This conveniently situated hotel is just 5 mins walk from the main train station. It was easy and cheap to reach from the airport- No 2 bus costing 2 euros. The staff were very friendly & helpful with excellent English. The hotel has recently been refurbished. We did request to change rooms after the first night because the electrical work was not quite completed and once the heating had been on for a couple of hours there was an unpleasant smell of paint. The concierge immediately placed us in the same room on the floor below which was fine. The rooms are clean and well equipped. The en-suite was clean with water economical automatic taps and shower over the bath. There was coffee machine in the room- capsules at extra cost and well-stocked mini-bar. There was a cable tv and blue-ray player with a wide selection of films to borrow from reception which provided excellent evening entertainment in cold February. The buffet breakfast was good. The old town was easily accessible by bus from the station or on foot. The restaurant provides reasonably priced and quality Austrian, Italian and Indian dishes.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiggerNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We were staying in Saltzberg over New Year 2011/12 and needless to say any reasonably priced hotel in or just over the river from the old town at the foot of the castle was significantly more expensive than normal and/or booked out. So we stayed at this hotel which is slightly less than 10 minutes by bus to the old town. The hotel is within a 5 minute walking distance to the main railway station, and the main stop for buses, to all parts of Saltzberg. It was quite affordable certainly for the New Year's Eve break and the rate included a buffet breakfast which should please every taste - it was better than some higher rated hotels that I have stayed at. We did not have dinner at the hotel.

The staff at this hotel were really helpful and friendly. The slight down side was that we had to stay in the Annex part which is in a building across the road and from the outside looks utilitarian at best. Inside the room was spacious, very clean, brightly decorated with a modern bathroom. Closeness to transport, really good staff, cleanliness, modern bathroom facilities and nice places to eat is always valued by me when I travel. Even if the location was not as close to the old town as I would have liked I would nonetheless stay there again 'cause how hard is it to catch a bus that stops near the hotel for a less than 10 minute ride to where I want to go?

Room Tip: If you have to stay at the Annex (which is even out of high type periods) a room at the back rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. WE were involved in a car accident during our trip and the staff were very helpful and concerned for our comfort. The room we had was basic but clean and in an excellent location to the train station where you can catch a bus to everywhere you may want to go and located within walking distance to the old city. Definitely will stay here again. The breakfast buffet was excellent and offered until 10:00 am so you didn't have to get up at dawn for breakfast. The owner was very friendly and we saw him every day around the hotel. We would like to try the Hotel next time, just to see what the difference in the rooms might be.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannasM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My first criteria is the location as I have to take an early train. Besides, I planned to have a day trip to Hallstatt by train. This hotel is quite closed to train station but with a more reasonable price than those chain hotels.

Though the lobby seems a bit old but the theme rooms we stay are recently renovated and I'm satisifed. In the room, you will have iPhone docking (can play music) and also Nespresso coffee machine (with charge).

Most of their staff are very nice & friendly, what they recommend us on restaurants & sightseeing places are good. They even help us to make reservation with the restaurants.

The breakfast is good enough, at least better than those I've tried in Germany.

I would recommend people who need to take early train or arrive by train at night, and those who not only visit Salzburg but also day trips to other places near Salzburg by train. Otherwise, of course you should pick another one in new or old town.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJ728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.2 km away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#20 of 132 in Salzburg
887 reviews
0.2 km away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
1,043 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
886 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Salzburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Salzburger Hof

Address: Kaiserschuetzenstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Bayrischer Hof)
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#22 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: $119 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Salzburger Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Der Salzburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Salzburger Hof Salzburg
Der Salzburger Hof Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing