We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,091)
Filter reviews
1,093 results
Traveller rating
488
341
172
53
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
488
341
172
53
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station five star hotel old town hotel restaurant junior suite front desk staff main station underground parking the heart of the city room was large breakfast was excellent breakfast room golden roof innsbruck card austria mountains skiing
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 1,093 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2018

We were very disappointed with this hotel and while we don't understand how the Austrian hotel rating system works, it is not comparable to that of a UK hotel. I had attended the BCA clinic in Augsburg, Germany for Lyme disease treatment and had wanted to go to Austria before we returned to the UK. As part of my illness I have issues with both sleep and temperature control so we researched where to stay carefully. A hotel that had air conditioning was a must.Our visit began promisingly, we were able to check in early and the rooms were spacious, modern and clean. We went out and came back in the evening. The room was very warm and my husband tried to work out the a/c but had no luck. Opening the window was impractical because of the noise, the hotel is in a busy location and the traffic was noisy. We phoned the reception desk and were told, it would be seen to immediately by an engineer. After sweating out a further 40 minutes, no one had come up, so my husband went back down. He was then told that the air conditioning was broken in the whole hotel and would not be fixed that weekend. My husband explained it was intolerable and it was agreed we would move to the back of the hotel where it would be quieter. We had to move the contents of our room out at 10.40, hardly the relaxed evening we had planned. The windows were opened already in this room, so it was cooler but the street noise was terrible. The music from a local nightclub went on until 3.30 am as well as the traffic and shouting. We both experienced poor sleep. In the morning my husband asked to speak to the duty manager to ask why the evening staff were less than honest about the situation regarding the air conditioning. Five other Tripadvisor reviews had the same issues with it in the previous 6 months.We were offered a token 20 EUR for both of our family rooms. My daughters had struggled with the same problem. I feel that having paid to stay for 21 hours, a proportionate refund should have been offered for the third of it that we should have been asleep soundly. I was so upset, tired and poorly that we left without having the chance to speak to the manager that we had requested A hotel that adversities air conditioning as one of the facilities you pay for, should offer just that, if it is a true 5* establishment. It put a real dampener on our visit to Innsbruck.Take you chances with this hotel, but you may not get what you think you have paid for.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2018

Excellent location, just in front of train station. Walking distance to main city attractions: the old town and Nordkette cable. Easy exit to the highway. The hotel has access to the private garage. The staff is very nice, the check-in and the check-out were very quick. There were a bar and the restaurant where the breakfast is served. It has a great choice, including dishes for vegeterians. The room was spacious, clean and well equiped with flat TV with cables, mini bar, safe, kettle, free tea/coffee, two bottles of water on arrival, bathroom, bidet, bath robes and slippers.
I would highly recommend this hotel and will be definitely back!

Room tip: Ask for room facing the backyard on higher floor. Our room was very quiet.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CattyKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabrinaF6020, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2018

Dear Guest, thank you very much for staying with us and your time to share your experience with us.
We are happy to read that everything was fine for you and that you had a nice time in our Hotel and in Innsbruck.
We do hope your travel brings you back to Innsbruck and we get the Chance to welcome you again someday.
Best regards, your Guest Relation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

It’s perfect place in terms of location and hospitality. Rooms are specious and clean . Hotel is just opposite ÖBB, so you don’t have to worry about transportation. Also all markers are walking distance.
Breakfast was good with all most everything available.staff and waitress are very cooperative and kind . I will come again if I m coming to Innsbruck.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Salemshaikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabrinaF6020, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

Dear Mr. Salemshaikh, thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to read that you had a nice time in our Hotel and we thank you for your Kind remarks.
You are right, our Location is really convenient for Sightseeing and also for travellers by Train.
Have a nice Holiday and we do hope your travel plans will bring you back to Innsbruck, and we get the chance to see you again. Best regards, your Guest Relation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

This is a great hotel in Innsbruck as it is located very near to Innsbruck main railway station, bus station and old town square. We can spend very late night time in old Town square as this hotel is located in walkable distance. To all main tourist spots train, tram and bus services are easily available from just opposite of this hotel, this is the main advantage. They serving a wonderful break fast that gave us a pleasant day. Demerits are there is no Alphs mountain view as this surrounded by other buildings and the other small issue is, early morning little bit noisy as located near railway station.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Majesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabrinaF6020, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2018

Dear Guest, thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to leave your comment. We are happy that our Location was convenient for you and that you like our breakfast. We would be happy to get the Chance to see you again in near future.
Best regards, your Guest Relation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

The hotel looked to be one of the better ones in Innsbruck when I booked. It is opposite the station and only a 10 minute walk from the centre.
The room was pretty tired and the bar was similar. Little atmosphere at all and seemed to be a more business hotel than anything else.
Breakfast however was excellent.
There are better hotels in town.

Date of stay: December 2017
1  Thank Timthetravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews