We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High attention to customer service and a very friendly atmosphere”
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kitzbuhel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High attention to customer service and a very friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Klaus, Veronika and all the staff are absolutely top class with regards to customer service.
On arrival personally welcomed to the hotel given direction to where to leave our ski's in a secure room and our room was ready even though we arrived early.
In the brochure it stated small room but this was more than adequat.
Klaus was always great with advice and directions from bus times to the best routes to get round the mountains.
The food was excellent with plenty of soup, salads and starter with choice of main course and desserts.
This hotel is an excellent base for access to the piste and the town. A bonus was that many people revisit, and that alone is a great recommendation.
At the Edelweiss you arrive as travellers and leave as friends.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevlar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    32
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
69
206
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My wife and I would echo most of what has been previously written about this hotel : Good location ( 5 min, easy walk to main cable car lift, 5 – 10 mins to town centre ) and very good food. We had a warm, very comfortable, well equipped bedroom and a balcony with great views. Also, there is very good security access to their heated boot & ski / snow board room. As written previously, a plus over other hotels is the ability of guests to take lunch snacks from breakfast – they even provide plastic bags for this purpose ! Wifi worked well in the comfortable lounge.

As a couple, we did not find the evening dinner a relaxing experience as :

1. You have to be there 6.45 – 8pm
2. The lighting is bright
3. The table clothes are maroon/red wine coloured with no white or cream over table clothes

4.There is a slight sense of rush : once I left the table to speak to a guest at another table
and Klaus politely reminded me not to let my soup get cold.
5.If, for example, my wife had a finished a course whilst I hadn’t, her plate was removed.
6 As we dined I saw staff or one of the owners re set used tables close by for the following
day’s breakfast.

However, we saw many groups enjoying their dinners and would suggest the above may not be relevant to families, or larger groups of adults – many of the latter who may wish for a quick meal so they can go out partying.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachandsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed here whilst having our wedding in Kitzbuhel over Christmas and it was fantastic! Veronika, Klaus and the rest of the staff made us and our families feel very welcome over the week and couldn't have done more.

There was plenty of great food and the lounge was a nice, cosy place to relax with other guests. The rooms were simple but clean and comfortable. The hotel is ideally situated 5/10 mins walk from ski lift / town and has the warmest boot room around!

We've stayed at Maria Theresia which was also very nice but Edelweiss wins on having more charm!

I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a relaxing, comfortable stay in Kitzbuhel within easy reach of the slopes and the bars!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geeweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We agree with all of the other reviews about food and friendly service etc, however felt that Veronika asking every night the same question ' have you had a good day: to every dinner table was a bit tiring and didnt feel genuine after asked so many times, although I do give them and their staff every credit, all really nice and work so hard, but we were not convinced Veronika was that interested in our day! They must be sick of everyones tales about which ski run they have done, week in and week out.
I asked if there were any Skiddoo rides about for our kids, I was told No, then the next day Skidoos were listed on the rear of their menu card as an activity! I asked Klaus if he could find out what the minimum age was, he said it will be 16 (our kids are under 16) he wasnt sure so I pushed the point, he again said it will be 16, I asked for the phone number (bearing in mind his phone was by his hand at the time) he gave me the telephone number so I rang from my mobile which would have been classed as from the UK - our kids were old enough to be passengers so we went it was great , I felt like Klaus couldnt be bothered to help me, or he would have phoned the number for me, as he talks the same language etc - I would have helped Klaus if It was the other way around!.
We hadnt been told where the notice board was with all information re local activity, we found this near the end of the week near the lift.
The cosy lounge we found lacking in atmosphere, we went out quite a few nights and found fun for our kids - We would say good hotel for people after cosy evenings!
These little 'niggling' points are not complaints in any way, just maybe not suited to us with young lively family, however would say perfect for a cosy hotel.
Found the locals/passers by, people queueing in lifts extremely arrogant, the only friendly people were anyone serving you- ie, hotel, ski school, waitresses etc. Will not be going back to Kitzbuhel due to locals!

Room Tip: Apartment next door to hotel (with hotels facilities/ food etc) very nice but right next to train tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We visited Hotel Edelweiss 4 years ago and had a great time, since then we have tried many other ski resorts and hotels and i can honestly say that some of them were 4 and 5 star and we preferred the hotel Edelweiss. It is only 5 minutes walk to the main Gondola and it was possible to ski direct to the hotel. The only problem was the food, OMG! i ate so much, it was delicious with a choice for the main course. We were kept busy when we wasn't skiing with the great shopping and thoroughly enjoyed the apres ski bar The Londoner'. All in all a very good holiday and special thank you to the owners Klaus and Veronika who made my husband Alan's 50th Birthday very special. Thank you and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amandahumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This is possibly the nicest hotel we have stayed in and we can only reiterate what other reviews have said. A really nice experience - mainly because of the attention to every little detail by the owners and their team.

Room Tip: Room 301 and 302 are great rooms on the top floor overlooking the mountain, not huge but very cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pontelandvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed in the Hotel Edelweiss for 2 weeks in January 2012 for our honeymoon and I could not have imagined a more perfect experience.
It's not just the owners who do everything they can to make your stay as good as possible, but also their entire staff. All of the staff apear to take genuine pride in being friendly and helpful, but also know when their guests would prefer to just get on with what they are doing. In our view the hotel offered an excellent balance of being small enough to have the personal touch, but large enough for us to have some privacy without feeling like we were being antisocial!
The food is awesome - you will never go hungry at this hotel. The breakfast offers a wide variety of hot and cold food (the bacon is excellent) and is plentiful. The option of making lunch to take with you is a real bonus - everything is there to make filled rolls, cartons of drink, chocolate wafers and fruit - we saved approx 25 Euros per day through not buying lunch on the mountain. Soup and cake when you come off the mountain each day is freshly made and always tasty, and the evening meals are equally good - your only problem will be eating too much.
Our room was very nice, spacious, clean, comfortable and had a balcony. We also had a flat screen tv with some English channels and the wi-fi that was advertised as available in the bar/reception also worked in our room.
The boot room is large, swept regularly and had enough heated boot racks for everyone. Do not underestimate the benefits of walking to the gondola with toasty toes first thing in the morning! That said, the gondola is ony a 5 minute stroll away along a flat path - so no hills to walk up. The town centre is only a few minutes walk past the gondola and is easy to get to.
We strongly recommend this hotel and simply can't find anything negative to say. We shall return!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kieron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.9 km away
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
#2 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
709 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Kitzbuehel
1.5 km away
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort
1.4 km away
Tennerhof Gourmet & Spa de Charme Hotel
0.3 km away
Schwarzer Adler
Schwarzer Adler
#16 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Property: Hotel Edelweiss
Address: Marchfeldgasse 2, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#7 Family Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edelweiss 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Kitzbühel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing