We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Schwarzer Adler for people who like walking before skiing”
Review of Schwarzer Adler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Schwarzer Adler
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Kitzbuhel
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The Schwarzer Adler for people who like walking before skiing”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I stayed at the Adler in april for business and ski. The hotel is a very nice hotel. The rooms are really nicely decorated and very stylish. The breakfast in a buffet is complete (becomes repetitive of course after a few days) and the evening dinner is high class (compared to other austrian hotels during winter). We went to their One star restaurant and found it excellent (been in many stars around the world) it is really worth the price (expensive but value for money).
The bell captain (guy who takes your luggage) is one of the best I met around the world. Nothing fancy he is waiting the entire day to help people. If you know people you can see in his eyes that this is really a kind man that loves his job. He parks your car and carries all, just for the fun of doing it !!! Well great job man !!!
The inconvenient part of this hotel is their location. You need indeed a ten minute walk before you arrive at the Hanekahm ....be informed about this.
I guess I would pick next time a hotel just next to the skilift since that is the best for a ski holiday. After skiing walking a bit in town is not such an effort...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CulinaryExplorer999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    64
    28
    7
    15
See reviews for
51
130
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We Visited the Adler at the end of January for a week's ski break,
The room was a spacious suite with its own sauna and balcony with ok views.

Highlights were
The food. 5 course Gourmet dinner every night.
The staff who were very helpful.
The pool on the roof was a fantastic idea but the water was too cold for us (wimps)
There was a live singing pianist every evening with a good range of songs.
The lobby had a large open fire which was great to sit near with a glass of gluhwein.
Great indoor pool and spa area.

Downsides.
Quite a walk to the ski lifts but there is a great boot and ski room at the gondola base station.
The restaurant is split into four rooms and we were allocated the same table in the same room every day for breakfast and dinner which was a bit repetitive. (I think this was because Martin our friendly waiter spoke great English and not everyone did)
and some of the other guests did not seem to have any control over their children (Sorry not the hotels fault but annoyed the hell out of me)
Overall we had a great time and I would go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the stairs and lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dewickm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed in a Grande Suite (upgraded from a Junior Suite when we arrived at no cost!) and had a great stay. Right in the heart of the town, a short ten minute walk to the main lift (we left our skis and boots at the hire shop next to lift for a small charge - too far to trudge in boots!) . The hotel was exceptionally clean, comfortably furnished and the staff were incredibly attentive. Loved the rooftop pool - but why just 4.30-6.30 and it would have made a glorious place for a coffee or glass of wine - no tables? Ok we're nit picking!! The pool (indoor) and jacuzzi very relaxing and clean.... Food (half board) was fab and plentiful. Always willing to get you something different if you required it. Three minor points - no wifi in rooms; no tea making facilities in rooms (not unusual in Austria/France); expensive to drink in hotel bar even at Kitzbuhel prices. BUT we loved the sauna in our room and the turn down service and the comfy beds!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skifamilyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Short hop from Munich. Great ambience. Spa, pool, room, restaurant, bar what we anticipated Spot on location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to be back!

Room Tip: Not above very lively bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ade010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reet, belgium
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed for three nights in this modern hotel in the center of Kitzbuehel. Although the hotel is located within walking distance of the 'Hahnenkamm' bergbahn, it is better to leave your ski's and shoes in a locker over there :-) Our room was located at the front side. Because of the traffic on the main road it was not possible to sleep with open window.
The quality of the food (both at breakfast and dinner) and the beautiful spa and swimming pool are the main reasons to choose this hotel. We also enjoined our evenings in the bar, with live music by Vlady.
We would certainly stay here again, but probably in another room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fr0764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stay away from this hotel, especially if you are a family. The hotel has two swimming pools, but children below 16 years of age are only allowed access to one of them between 10 and 16:00, i.e. not at all if you are in Kitzbühel for skiing. The staff in the SPA department can only be characterized as rude. I was told to leave the swimming pool together with my 11 year old daughter at 16:00 even though there no other users- Otherwise the hotel’s standard is as what you can expect for a 4 star superior hotel (they claim 5 star, but officially only 4 star), but nothing more. So for a family there are much better options than this one.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We booked this hotel directly through the hotel website and from the moment we hit "reserve" the amazing experience started. We received our confirmation immediately for our Deluxe Studio room (what a treat!) and the spa services we added on. Having a few questions about our spa appointments, we emailed the hotel and within 24 hours had heard back. Upon arriving after a long day of driving we were greeted by the bellman who promptly took our luggage and parked our rental car for us.
The front desk staff could not have been nicer and spoke perfect english.
The room we booked was absolutely stunning and one of the best I've ever seen. Large, with wall to wall windows looking over the darling town of Kitzbuhel. All of the eating, drinking and shopping recommendations were perfect from the front desk.
We spoiled ourself with a spa afternoon and it really was divine. It felt like we had the entire spa to ourselves - facials, massages and body scrubs - oh my. The spa at the Schwarzer Alder really knows how to do it right - the North American spas should take note.
Our room was very quiet, beds comfortable, exceptionally clean and with a large, spacious bathroom. Plenty of closet space - I could see myself staying at this hotel for weeks at a time and hope to be back in the future.

Room Tip: Splurge and get the Deluxe Studio - you'll never regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitzbuhel hotels
0.7 km away
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
#2 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
714 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Kitzbuehel
0.8 km away
Hotel Kitzhof Mountain Design Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Austria Trend Hotel Schloss Lebenberg
1.1 km away
Tennerhof Gourmet & Spa de Charme Hotel
0.5 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof Kitzbuehel, Sport- & Beautyhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schwarzer Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schwarzer Adler

Property: Schwarzer Adler
Address: Florianigasse 15 | 6370 Kitzbuhel, Kitzbuhel 6370, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kitzbuhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#10 Spa Hotel in Kitzbuhel
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kitzbuhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Schwarzer Adler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From a modest country inn to an award-winning boutique hotel: guests are drawn to Kitzbühel’s Schwarzer Adler for its traditional hospitality, modern architecture, and stupendous views across the entire city from the longest rooftop pool in the Alps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Schwarzer Adler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schwarzer Adler Kitzbuhel Kitzbühel
Schwarzer Adler Kitzbuhel Hotel Kitzbühel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing