We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty schnitzel”
Review of Giersterbrau

Giersterbrau
Ranked #1,144 of 4,807 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: US$4 - US$11
Description: The owner of the brewery, J. L. Gierster, founded a small inn in the area some 180 years ago, which was popular mainly because of its favorable prices. The Gierstergasse is still reminiscent of him today and is also home to a hotel where it is still nice and inexpensive to dine! The bread is homemade, the cuisine is traditional: Old Viennese potato ginger soup, beef goulash, stuffed peppers or roasted dumplings with onions and egg. You should not miss the homemade Powidltascherln or Stubenkninken. The best is to taste all this in the cozy garden under the mighty trees.
Restaurant details
Description: The owner of the brewery, J. L. Gierster, founded a small inn in the area some 180 years ago, which was popular mainly because of its favorable prices. The Gierstergasse is still reminiscent of him today and is also home to a hotel where it is still nice and inexpensive to dine! The bread is homemade, the cuisine is traditional: Old Viennese potato ginger soup, beef goulash, stuffed peppers or roasted dumplings with onions and egg. You should not miss the homemade Powidltascherln or Stubenkninken. The best is to taste all this in the cozy garden under the mighty trees.
Reviewed June 3, 2018 via mobile

Best schnitzel we have had in town. Not touristy. Good value for money. Walkable from the Renaissance hotel.

Note that it has a separate non-smokers part, so don't let you be put of by the smoke if you enter the place.

Would go back.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank TE77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 66 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2018 via mobile

Went there as a recommendations from our hotel and we weary on what we were walking into. The owner explained the menu to us in english and then continued to be kind to us. Our food was amazing. Huge portions. The servers didn’t crowd us and we were able to enjoy a beautiful meal in a garden-like setting. The owner came and gave us our bill and shook our hands and thanked us for coming. You don’t find that just anywhere. My family and I will be coming back if we ever find ourselves in Vienna again. I would 10/10 recommend this restaurant to tourists and the people of Vienna.

To the kind owner, thank you. We appreciate the kindness.

- a Canadian tourist.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2017 via mobile

I usually never write a review, and if i do, then only for really good restaurants. I went to eat there with a friend. We only wanted to grab a snack and drink a coke, which apparently was already something bad for the elder waiter. He immediately started to treat us with disrespect and let us wait for more than 15 minutes only for the drinks, after asking for them several times. When they arrived and i wanted to wash my hands at the toilet he disapproved and told me that we didn't reach the minim order to use the facility. I got annoied but stayed calm. When our soup finally arrived after other 20 minutes of waiting there was not one but 4 hairs in the my friends soup. When we pointed it out to the waiter he said it was our fault and that we tried rip them off. My friend has no hair btw. So we paid for the drinks and left with the waiter accusing us of calling the police.
So do yourself a favour and never ever visit that place.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2017

My first time writing a NEGATIVE review. After being given a menu, we ordered. Baked chicken. Fried chicken schnitzel came,. Waiter was rushed and I decided just to eat it. Bill came and we thought it was for the wrong table. We asked the waiter after a few minutes back and forth. He brought us a menu and said we ordered from an old menu with price of 10 euro this new menu now 15 euro.. WOW! Scam!! Also he insisted we ordered And where served veal schnitzel, so now price 17 euro. He was so arrogant and we where exhausted so paid the bill. STAY AWAY!!!!!!!

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank summers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
butko07, Inhaber at Giersterbrau, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017
Google Translation


So war das nicht.

Es stehen 2 Speisen in der Karte. Die erste Speise ist das Hühner Schnitzel mit Petersilienkartoffeln 10,80€

Die zweite Speise ist das Hühnerfillet mit Käse und Spinat das zusammen gerollt und gebraten wurde mit Curry Reis ( der alte Preis ) 14,80€ der neue Preis 15,80€.

Eine Karte war nicht ausgetauscht mit dem neuen Preis das kann passieren wurde auch mit dem Gast besprochen sowie erklärt. Der Kellner kassierte den alten Preis 14,80€ und nicht den neuen.
Es handelte sich hier deutlich von zwei sehr unterschiedlichen Speisen. Wenn es ein Fehler vom Kellner war die speisen beachten und die falsche Speise bringt wird die normalerweise vom Gast zurück gewiesen.
Aber der Gast wollte wegen dem das Hühner Schnitzel um 10,80€ Zahlen und den Fehler ausnützen.
Der Kellner servierte dort das gerollte Hühnerfillet und kassierte den alte Preis was unser Fehler war.
Der Kellner haltete sich an dis Regeln was konsumiert wird/wurde und verlangt auch natürlich den Preis von dem der Gast informiert wurde in der Karte und was er alles bestellt hat 14,80€.
Wir haben keine Schnitzel mit dem Preis von 17 € ?!
.........Englisch ......

That was not the case.

There are 2 meals in the menu. The first dish is the chicken schnitzel with parsley potatoes 10,80 €

The second dish is the chicken fillet with cheese and spinach which was curled and fried with curry rice (the old price) 14.80 € the new price 15.80 €. A card was not exchanged with the new price that can happen was also discussed with the guest as well. The waiter received the old price 14,80 € and not the new one.
It was clearly two different dishes. If it was a mistake from the waiter, the dine note and the wrong food will usually be returned by the guest.
But the guest wanted to use because of the chicken schnitzel by 10.80 € numbers and the mistake.

The waiter served there the rolled chicken fillet and cashed the old price which was our fault.
The waiter kept to the rules what was consumed / and also requested of course the price from which the guest was informed in the card and what he ordered everything 14.80 €.

We have no schnitzel with the price of 17 €?!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2017

Eating in a biergarten is always a pleasure, but eating in Giersterbrau is a fest!! The atmosphere was very relaxed, the service was very good and the food was to die for. And afterwards the bill isn't a real shock, eating + drinks with 3 for under 100 euros is very decent.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Wim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
butko07, Inhaber at Giersterbrau, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017
Google Translation

Dankeschön

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giersterbrau also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Giersterbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing