We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Wien
Ranked #74 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Tarrytown, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This is a modern hotel in a good location. The Underground is directly across the street, which provides good access to all parts of the city.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frady96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    712
    233
    68
    35
See reviews for
265
745
94
528
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed for four nights and had a lovely time. The location couldn't be better - right across from the Stadtpark and the metro station, allowing you to walk to most of the sights in Vienna in less than 15 minutes. The area felt really safe at night too. The staff were always friendly - helpful reception pointing out cafes, a useful concierge service, and great room service (good value too, when we needed to eat in one night to get to the opera on time). We treated ourselves to delicious oysters one night in the main bar (they seem to do this 2 or 3 days a week). The room was fine - comparable in size to hotels in other cities - and with a lovely big, comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Located just off the Ringstrasse, you can walk to most city sites. Underground station and city park are right across the street. Rooms are pretty standard, but certainly acceptable. Nice lobby and bar. Great breakfast buffet. Several nice Viennese restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

In the past I have stayed in many different hotels in this wonderful city. None of them were bad, and some of them did have some very strong points in their favor. But THIS hotel stands out for one simple reason: its staff.

From the bellboys, to the front desk, the concierge, and the restaurant staff there was no one that ever failed to give us a smile, a kind word and to answer our questions with a "yes" or "can do". This is a rare thing to see and is clear evidence that this establishment has some great leadership. How about a guy whose title is "Instant Service Manger"? And he was up to his title in every way possible. Well done, people!

So, even if the facilities were poor, I think I'd still be a fan.

But the facilities aren't poor. The lobby and lobby bar area are quite handsome as are the spacious restaurant facilities. Nothing super special, just nice.

The rooms are, at least for a single guest, just fine. But for two people staying a number of days they're a little tight. This is the only reason I can't rate the hotel as "excellent". Beds were fantastic, however. Isn't it amazing how much more positive hotel customers are when they get a good sleep? What a coincidence!

Topping it all off is an excellent location at the south end of the Stadtpark. The inner city with its old buildings and many restaurants is but a short walk away.

Despite the small room size, the staff and the hotel's location mean that the Interconti Wien is now on my shortlist of hotels in Austria's capital city.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the park that are on the higher floors are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bytowntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the InterContiinental Hotel. We enjoyed the huge breakfast buffet. The location was good, but not great. There were very few restaurants located close to the hotel. However, we enjoyed the Viennese restaurant the concierre recommended a few blocks away. We didn't mind that we had to walk several blocks to the heart of town. However, if you are not up for a long walk, this isn't the hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandykjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HKG,SIN,CAN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

The Intercontinental Vienna doesn't look like much from the outside, but once you step inside you know you are in a special place. We stayed here for 4 nights and had a suite facing the park. The room was very well appointed and the colors and furniture were very comfortable.

We had the option to have breakfast either in the lounge, via room service or in the breakfast room. Our best experience was with room service, which we had on multiple occasions throughout our stay. The food quality and the service provided was always top notch. The breakfast room however we found was too busy for our liking, whilst the lounge had a rather limited selection. The lounge is a good place to relax, however we felt the canape offerings could have been improved a bit.

In the rooms, only wired internet access is available - though its fast and stable. Wi-fi is provided in the lounge.

On the whole, the service from concierge and front desk was very warm and professional, but the highlight was the room service staff. The doormen at the hotel could do with some customer service training from them!

Location of the hotel was also perfect, with easy access to the metro, and walking distance from shopping and other attractions.

One tip - Avoid the CAT train at the moment. The Wien Mitte station is an absolute mess right now, and not very convenient if you have luggage.

Room Tip: Get a park view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomaslegner, General Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear photchan,

Thank you for your review and the great photos you have attached. I can see where your name comes from!

I was very pleased to read your wonderful praise of our room service team. They really do a great job, but aren't recognized often enough. You certainly made up for that and I know that our Room Service team will be thrilled.

You will be pleased to learn that construction at the new "Wien Mitte" (Vienna Central) train station is progressing well and is scheduled for completion sometime this year.

Wishing you safe travels!

Thomas Legner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My family and I are staying at Intercontinental Vienna for years now, my father had ambassador gold card, but our last stay, in april convinced us that it is time to change the hotel when we go again to Vienna. The location is indeed great, but thats about all thats positiv.
The staff - only half of them was freindly, they checked out my parents one day earlier - "by mistake".
In comparison to last year, the breakfast was different. the same food, but poor quality. especially the pastry and the smoked salmon. the eggs also, taste funny, from the spray they are using to fry. Before it was not like that.
The room was not very clean, the battery from the sink in my bathroom was broken.
It was like we stayed in a completly different hotel then we knew before.
and the staff in restaurant where we served breakfast is not handling well cleaning tables. there was noone in charge to supervise them, they were running around but in the end doing nothing.
One last thing, the coffee tasted very bad, diferent from one day to another.
I am upset to see a hotel going down, especially since i know how great everything was before.
For years i have worked in the hotel industry, studied hotel management in switzerland, i know the standards of a 5star hotel.
I hope things will get better soon for Intercontinental Wien!
Best regards!
Andreea

Room Tip: choose superior if you can, standard is very very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreeaElenaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomaslegner, General Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear AndreeaElenaB,

Thank you very much for your review.

I was of course very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your most recent stay with us. Please let me assure you that we take your feedback very seriously.

I was most surprised to read that you rated both the friendliness of our staff and our breakfast buffet poorly. These are 2 factors that typically get only the highest ratings from our guests.

As a fellow hotelier you will surely agree that we always strive to deliver a wonderful and flawless guest experience, 100% of the time. I am truly sorry that we failed to do so during your stay.

I sincerely hope that we will have the good fortune of welcoming you back to the InterContinental Vienna. Hopefully next time you will once again experience our services to the same levels as you have done in the past.

Best regards,

Thomas Legner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#79 of 360 in Vienna
2,856 reviews
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#76 of 360 in Vienna
1,731 reviews
Inner City
The Ring Hotel
The Ring Hotel
#26 of 360 in Vienna
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Vienna
#111 of 360 in Vienna
3,079 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#36 of 360 in Vienna
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wien

Property: InterContinental Wien
Address: Johannesgasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Vienna
#52 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#59 Business Hotel in Vienna
#65 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the centre of Vienna, the deluxe hotel is the ideal starting point from which to explore this fascinating city. International atmosphere and Viennese tradition together with personalized service present the perfect harmony for a pleasant stay.459 guestrooms including 3 club floors and 49 suites boast every comfort of a de deluxe property. A restaurant, bar and café as well as 24-hour fitness centre and room service, garage, hair-dresser and souvenir shop round up the hotel’s facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wien Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing