We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,686)
Filter reviews
1,686 results
Traveller rating
1,168
368
83
39
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,168
368
83
39
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopera houseold worldluxury collectionopera suitestarwood pointswalk in closetluxury hotelconcierge staffsmall balconyperfect locationmarble bathroomturn down servicestate operabeautiful hoteldeluxe roombeautiful roomsitting area
Filter
Updating list...
1,008 - 1,013 of 1,686 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

top location. friendly employees. good service.nice classic rooms.
for that room price the internet should be included.
in bristol case you have to pay 20 euros per day extra and even the connection is super slow. this is def. not a modern "normal" standard.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sure4shurik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear 'sure4shurik'

Thank you for your feedback posted on Trip Advisor. Kindly note that we offer FREE WIFI in all our public spaces at a good quality (speed). I am not sure when you stayed, but we just started this service at the end of December. Again, thank you for your feedback. Best regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The location of the hotel is excellent. You can walk everywhere, which we prefer to do on our vacations. The hotel staff was nice but service can sometimes be slow. Also, it has non-smoking floors but people still smoke and when you say something they don't seem to show much concern. The rooms are nice but the showers don't contain the water when showering and our room had some water stains on the ceiling. We typically don't eat in hotels as we prefer local restaurants and cafes so I am not able to rate the food service. I would ask for a room that is not in front of the service elevator as the doors open out so we ran into the maid service staff frequently and once Oma almost got whacked in the face as she was looking down and the maid opened the service door but I pulled Oma aside before the door could make impact.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not in front of the service elevators.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drsped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear 'drsped'

Thank you for your review posted on this site. I understand that overall you enjoyed your stay with us but that you also gave us some constructive feedback. With regards to smoking I can assure you that all rooms are non-smoking. If guests smoke in the room then they do this without our consent and we do make contact with these guests in order to stop them from smoking in the room. With regards to the showers I can assure you that all showers are being serviced frequently. Also get the rooms repainted frequently - and that includes the ceiling. I am not quite sure which room you stayed in but the service elevator door does not interfere with guests staying in rooms close buy - maybe you mean that you were walking in the corridor when the door got opened. Thank you again for your feedback. Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Hard to fault the hotel with great communal areas and excellent service. Location is about as good as it gets too. The rooms are very small and stuffy however. Although we were there in winter, the air con was unreliable and the children's room was too hot throughout our stay. The bathrooms in our interconnecting executive rooms were particularly disappointing. Badly designed and cheap fittings meant that water pooled on the bathroom floor and there was no room for any more than one person at a time.

Breakfast was very good and the service was faultless. The atmosphere is not hugely child friendly though, particularly for boisterous two year olds.

That said, we would come back as the location was perfect and the staff were superb without exception.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear 'Dan B'

thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. I understand that you had a pleasant stay with us. I however understand that the room provided did not entirely meet your expectations. Kindly note that we offer many different kinds of rooms. Our Deluxe Rooms for example are very specious and offer great views - these rooms have also large full marble bath rooms. You may want to stay in these rooms next time. Many of our corporate travellers appreciate the Executive rooms you have stayed in recently. Again, thank you for your honest feedback and your patronage. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Charming,de luxe rooms are quite lovely, staff pleasant and competent. Paying for wi fi by device is truly silly in todays world, once i pointed this out I only had to pay for wi fi per room. Pushing 2single beds together does not a King make! My experience of breakfast and bar was quite good, but breakfast is expensive. The location of the Hotel is perfect, (main reason we chose it over other starwood hotel) linens good quality,bathrooms expansive and guest services good. Just falls a little short of its aspirations overall.A little tired, perhaps a little out of touch with todays traveller, I have no complaints just nothing exceptional about it. See my review of the Trois Rois in Basel for a truly 5 * hotel.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank OGO3782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear 'teabag46'

Thank you for your review posted on trip advisor. I understand that overall you enjoyed your stay at our property. With regards to your comment about WIFI please note that we offer FREE Wi-Fi in our lobby area at a good quality. This service is new in our offering. With regards to the Twin Bed vs. King Beds kindly note that we have both Twin and King bedded rooms at our hotel. If you request a King at time of booknig we can for sure provide you with one. Also I am pleased to mention that we are keep investing frequently in our product so we just completed a total renovation of our mezzanine floor which resulted in the creation of new very nice rooms and exceptional suites that are of the highest quality. Again, thank you for your comments. We really appreciate your feedback. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek -General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I was there 2 nights in the middle of the week on a business trip, part of a bigger group so i did not choose the type ofbroom. The hotel in general looks outdated eventhough some renovation work is on going. Breakfast is ok, but nothing spectacular. But the biggest concern was the room. Avoid room 158!!! Located on the first floor, it must be one of the smallest room of the hotel. The window opens on the ventilication system of the restaurant! It looks auwful and, in the summer, do not expect to keep it open at night because of the noise. In the bathroom, the plastic end of the hair dryer was half melted and the glass of one of the light was not well positionned and and it was allowing the water to get in! On top of this, the wireless network was not accessible in the evening, and the construction work in the part of the hotel being refurbished started at 7am, which was generating significant noise in the room. So, even if this room was the less expensive category of the hotel (i guess so) there are some basic requirements that should be there in such a place! And clearly there were not, so it was very disappointing!

Room Tip: Avoid room 158
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Polo67FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear 'Polo67FR'

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We do value the feedback of our guests.
I regret that your stay did not meet with your expectations. The room that was reserved for you was a Classic Single room. It is indeed a small room; hence we offer a good price for these rooms. We do of course have all kind of different rooms at the hotel at different price points. Our Deluxe rooms for example range at around 40 square meters and have great views. I was concerned to read about the hairdryer and the glass of the light that you mentioned. This of course does not correspond to our high standards that we are known for. I have spoken to our engineering department and we will replace the hairdryer and look also at the other problem you had mentioned. With regards to wireless network I am not sure what has caused this interruption you experienced – as usually we do have good coverage throughout the building. It is correct that we were renovating some rooms during the past months. This however has now been completed. I am sorry that you have been disturbed by these works. We offer amazing new rooms and suites on the Mezzanine level which are up to the very highest standards. Again, please accept my apologies for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to prove to you that we are able to meet the expectations of our guests in a perfect way. Thanks again for your feedback! Best regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews