We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Secession Wien
Ranked #135 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, centrally located”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

The hotel is in a very nice spot near the University. The breakfast is good and the room I had - 331 - was very quiet. I asked for a room away from the street. The staff were mostly nice but they were understaffed. There is a bar which served beer and some beer food.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plasmablip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dissauer, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear guests,
thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. See you soon in Vienna!
Best regards
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    323
    97
    25
    19
See reviews for
174
220
58
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weiden, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

My wife and I stayed here during a recent trip to Vienna and Budapest and are very glad to have done so.
First off, the location (especially for the price) is great. It is about 1500m to almost all the old city sights. We walked everywhere, and nowhere seemed very far. The neighborhood is upscale university, so a lot of young people around (and areas where they go) but without the noise typically associated with a university area. Plenty of cafes and such nearby as well. Since it was during Christmas time, we could walk to two of the main Christmas Markets in under 15 minutes.
THe hotel its self is also great. The Staff is friendly and accommodating. They have their own parking, but if it is ful, you can use the nearby public garage for the same price (it is next to their private one, so very close). The hotel is glean and well maintained also. Our room was spacious and overlooked the university and main road but it wasn't too loud to sleep with the window open. We had plenty of room and found it quite comfortable. THe bathroom was nearly new (looking) and also much larger than is normal in Europe with a double-sized shower and "rain" shower head. THe additional medicin cabinet was nice for my wife to store her stuff also.
We had breakfast here one morning, and it was very good. THough a bit expensive (compared to a bakery, I suppose) it is very well appointed and worth the price they charge. The breakfast room was comfortable and the staff attentive. It is worth noting, that if you do not wish to have the buffet (15Euro, I think), tehy do have items to order, such as omelets, wich are well priced (I think one ran about 5 Euro), so there are cheaper options for those on a budget.
In the end, I would gladly stay here again and it would be my first choice if returning to Vienna.

Room Tip: THere are non-smoking and smoking rooms, so be sure to choose the one you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krisjand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dissauer, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear guests,
we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with the entire team. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Sincerely
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The Hotel Mercure Secession Vienna is very good. My room was very spacious and had a great bathroom. The bed was very good and the room very quiet. The location is excellent (at 15 min walk to the cathedral). I do not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear guest,
we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with the entire team. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I first read Trip Advisor's reviews before booking any hotels, and this time there was no exception. It was really realistic and helpful and met with expectation with the hotel, its location and everything. Because I booked it months in advance so I got a major discount, it was only £74 approx. per night for a couple. The standard of the hotel was very good, although it's quite complex in size, but standard top of the range style hotel with TV, a comforty bed, en-suite and clean bath/toilet facility etc.

Staffs were helpful, although not over too friendly but didn't expect too much as we only stayed there for 1 night only due to the high expenses in Vienna. So I wanted to keep staying in Central to save time and traveling expenses. The hotel was very close to tube and eating and drinking venues.

I would recommend this hotel to busy people who want to stay close to town due to lack of time and not want to commute a great distance to many places. It was a real gem in terms of location. Hotel facilities are very acceptable.

Breakfast was not included and remember, everything Costs in Vienna. The shorter you'll stay there the less you'll spend. Since it's so close to restaurants and supermarkets, you don't really need to eat at hotel but the facility was there which was a good option.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Neubau
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Inner City
Das Opernring Hotel
Das Opernring Hotel
#99 of 361 in Vienna
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#14 of 361 in Vienna
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Secession Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Secession Wien

Property: Mercure Secession Wien
Address: Getreidemarkt 5, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Vienna
#100 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#116 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#130 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Secession Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home away from home, right in the centre of Vienna. Our cosy 4 star hotel is celebrating its 100th anniversary and has been completely renovated to mark the occasion. The Mercure Secession offers a combination of classic Viennese style and modern comfort. Facilities include 70 spacious, airconditioned rooms, suites and apartments, bar with Internet terminal, WLAN in the lobby and private parking. The opera, Stephansdom Cathedral, museums, Ringstrasse and Karntnerstrasse are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Secession Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Secession Wien Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Secession Wien
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing