We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, warm hotel”
Review of Hotel Sacher Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Wien
Ranked #7 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A lovely, warm hotel”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The Hotel Sacher Wien is beautiful and ideally situated to walk around the city with ease. Our room was large, the bed was comfortable and whole space was so quiet that we actually overslept a few times. We wanted to just relax and the people working there could not have been more accommodating to this request.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSEMcCauley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,406
    178
    53
    13
    13
See reviews for
280
813
96
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Don't let the hotel's history and reputation fool you. It's no way a legend any longer. It neds renovation and service trainings. Don't stay here, better just come for half an hour to grad a piece of Sacher cake befoe your opera begins.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SacherVienna, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sacher Wien, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Lara,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel Sacher Wien. I am very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations, personal service and luxurious rooms and suites of highest standard and comfort are of utmost importance for us; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We usually pride ourselves on our very high standard of service, and we regret that this was not satisfying in your case. Please rest assured that we will consider further training to make sure that the quality of our service is outstanding. After finishing our construction in December 2011, all our traditional rooms and suites are completely renovated and shine in new splendor.

We hope to welcome you back at the Hotel Sacher to show you our newly refurbished rooms and suites and to convince you of our excellent service!

Best regards,
Reiner Heilmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Sacher few days ago and it exceeded our expectations. It is as any great traditional five star hotel should be: a perfect blend of tradition and modernity, plus nothing is stiff and dusty as sometimes happens in the "grand dames" of the international hotellerie.This is a truly five star hotel with the charm of a noble mansion and the comfort of a super modern structure. The service is attentive and flawless. Everything is neat, perfectly maintained and beautifully arranged. The rooms have just being refurbished and are immaculate, with brocades in delicate nuances, fresh flowers, heavenly beds and gorgeous bathrooms. The spa is deligthful, the Blau Bar is a little jewel. Hotel Sacher is the perfect choice for experiencing the character of Vienna and we'll definitely recommed it to all our friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefania_P_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen County, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

From the moment we were picked up at the airport, we felt a feeling of warmth, intimacy and luxury. The suite was a beautiful and restful powder blue. Everything was perfect. Breakfast was incomparable, with copious amounts of food (not to mention THE Sacher Torte). We had a post opera dinner at the hotel that was wonderful . We long to return to Vienna and the marvelous Sacher.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellerbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This hotel is very traditional and elegant. The staff were very nice. The dining room where we ate breakfast was beautiful - marble and chandeliers. People would be eating in suits at 9am! My boyfriend and I would go in shorts and t-shirts and luckily there were a few other people like that haha. The breakfast was very good.

The room was amazing! We booked the lowest level room and somehow got upgraded to a suite! It was gigantic, beautifully decorated, and the bathroom was gorgeous. This hotel was beautiful and incredibly clean. Would highly recommend and would definitely go back.

*They also sell Sacher Tortes (the famous chocolate cake) around the corner in the gift shop. Not cheap but I brought a bunch back - they package them well and they don't expire for a few weeks - they make great gifts!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed at the Sacher over Christmas and absolutely loved it. We arrived late on Christmas Eve and were picked up at the airport in a pre arranged Mercedes S Class. We got to the hotel and were shown to a gorgeous room on the newly renovated third floor.

The room was one of the best we have stayed in across many luxury hotels we have stayed in (Gritti Palace in Venice, Burj Al Arab in Dubai, Peninsula in Hong Kong). It wasn't a huge room but it was opulently appointed and had every convenience including a television embedded in the mirror in the bathroom! The room was cosy and luxurious.

The concierge booked us a table at a lovely Italian restaurant at the last minute which was great as it was Christmas Eve and most restaurants were booked up.

We ate breakfast at the hotel each morning and the selection was great. One negative was the scrambled eggs which the chef makes to order and they were overdone and rubbery and I couldn't eat them but I just like my eggs slightly runny. We also had a drink in the Blaue Bar which was so cosy but lavish and the wasabi nuts were addictive.

The other negative as with most luxury 5 star hotels is the fact they charge for wireless internet access. It was €6 per hour or €19 for 24 hours. We paid for 24 hour access but the Starbucks across the road provides free wifi. As the Sacher is a privately owned hotel, I really think they would do well in providing free Wifi to their guests. This is normally something that determines whether I booked a particular hotel over another.

The location of the hotel was fantastic directly opposite the Opera House and near the shopping district. The service provided across the hotel by all staff was fantastic.

We were torn between booking the Imperial or the Sacher but I am so glad we booked the Sacher. It is smaller than the Imperial but so much better located and you are treated as part of the family. We were given some mini Sachertortes when we left which was a lovely touch. I would definitely stay here again if we visited Vienna again in the future. Also recommend Plachutta restaurant near the hotel which is where the concierge booked us for Christmas dinner.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrigittaVienna, General Manager at Hotel Sacher Wien, responded to this review, 2 January 2012
Dear Reviewer,
We appreciate your detailed comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Sacher Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Regarding your remarks about the cost for the internet access: we are happy to inform you that we will provide the WLAN access free of charge starting in February 2012.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Best regards
Reiner Heilmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Great Hotel in the grand tradition, staff are excellent and went out of their way when a dinner booking went awry to get us a table in their restaraunt Not the cheapest place to stay but must be one of the best

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,415 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#3 of 360 in Vienna
848 reviews
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#8 of 360 in Vienna
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#17 of 360 in Vienna
1,129 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Wien

Property: Hotel Sacher Wien
Address: Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vienna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#3 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe Hotel Sacher Wien was established in 1876 by Eduard Sacher, son of the creator of the famous Original Sacher-Torte, and is still privately owned by family Gurtler & Winkler. Situated in the pulsative cultural heart of Vienna, directly opposite the state opera and Albertina gallery, the hotel is just moments away from the most impressing sights of the city. High-quality materials, high-tech equipment, imposing original oil-paintings and precious furnishings in all 149 rooms and suites as well as marble bathrooms with floor heating and flat screen TV's which are integrated into the mirrors combine living tradition with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sacher Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacher Wien Hotel
Sacher Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing