We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$335
US$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$374/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$133
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$108
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

NH Wien City(Vienna)
US$91
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$154
US$146
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$218
US$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$179/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$208
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$180
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$330
US$167
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$266/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$210
US$154
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,098)
Filter reviews
1,098 results
Traveller rating
344
499
179
47
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
499
179
47
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest kitchencity centrebudget hotelmetro stationfree wifiminute walkcommon areashotel roomclean roomsair conditioningon foothotel is situateddormeurosschottenringsupermarketwien
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 1,098 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2017

MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz is a hotel which is balancing between hotel and hostel. It is hard to say which side they are aiming for. I had a room 520 which is quite big and has a big bathroom which is suitable also for people in wheelchairs. Room was for four persons with new furniture and everything looked nice. only thing about this room is that it is quite near the elevator so if you are "light" sleeper it can be quite disturbing. For me it was quite allright.
Front desk persons where fast and friendly while doing check in and same was on check out. Hotel is situated quite near the center what is good but you could have a problem with parking your car if you do not want to put it in a garage (this is an extra charge).

Room Tip: 520 is near the elevator so try to get some other room but it is good for wheelchair users
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGER-Team, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Dear guest, thank you for your amazing review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Acutally we are a mix between hostel and hostel and we strive to offer the best of both. This concept is what makes MEININGER so unique! We are happy to read that you liked the modern and clean rooms, as well as the location close to the oldtown. If you like our concept make sure to check out for our other houses all over Europe on your next trip!
Kind regards,
Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile

I know it's summer but I don't know how do they expect a small fan to be enough for a 6-people dorm? I paid 23 euro a night and had to "sleep" on the floor. What I don't get is why does the corridor have A/C and the rooms don't?. Also they didn't have spare fans. I almost left and went to a hotel in the middle of the night but unfortunately I had already paid for the hostel. Plus the localisation it's not good, far away from the city main attractions. Breakfast is expensive but it's ok and the staff is nice but couldn't be really helpful.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank anaamarante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGER-Team, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are always thankful for any feedback, as it is the only way to get to know what concerns our guests. We are really sorry if you found that it was too hot in the room. Actually we don´t have an AC system in our hotel, since a fan coil system. You can find all the information about the hotel when you book. Nevertheless, we will discuss the problem with the Management, in order to avoid such a situation in future. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and if you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
Best regards,
Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2017 via mobile

I dislike this hotel everything start with no Refrigerator in the room and the few choices at breakfast then you should clean by yourself it is not quite at all and the type of gusts they all young people

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Shatha66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGER-Team, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Dear guest, we appreciate your feedback and are terribly sorry to learn of the not so favorable experience you had on property. We are really sorry to hear that you experience with us did not truly reflect the service we provide. We have noted your remarks and will be discussing them with the appropriate teams onsite. We certainly hope we are able to welcome you back in the future in order to show you the excellent customer service we pride ourselves on.
Kind regards,
Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2017

Everything was very good.

Showers, internet, beds, lockers - all very good.

24-hour reception with helpful staff.

Amenities such as pool and fusbal with plenty of tables to eat and drink at.

Cheap pints at like €2, which are available all night.

They allowed me to print for free.

Good laundry service.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank coevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGER-Team, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

Dear guest, we would like to start off by thanking you for trusting MEININGER as your accommodation during your recent escape to Vienna. We are thrilled to learn of the fabulous experience you had while our guest and of your satisfaction with all aspects of your onsite experience. Your review truly highlights all that makes our property unique- from the helpful staff service, to the amenities such as billiard and the table football and the comfortable rooms. We really hope to welcome you back soon in one of our MEININGER houses all over Europe!
Kind regards,
Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with two friends for a weekend away and this place was perfect for its purpose. Not exactly central, but only a 15 minute walk into town over the bridge. They sold cheap sandwiches and beer, so you can grab these things on the go. All the staff spoke perfect English and were very helpful providing personal recommendations on places to eat and drink and sights to see, annotating this on a map. Room was simple but clean and beds sufficed. Wouldn't recommend for a romantic getaway but certainly would for people travelling on a shoestring.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Tyrone T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEININGER-Team, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2017

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed it. Also, we are happy to read that you liked the location pretty much as well as the rooms with all the necessary facilities. Thank you also for the nice comments about the staff, it´s always nice to hear when they´ve been helpful. We really hope to welcome you back in one of our MEININGER houses all over Europe!
Best wishes,
Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews