We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful room”
Review of Hotel Das Tigra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Das Tigra
Ranked #54 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wonderful room”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

This hotel is inside the 'ring' and easy to get to from the U-bahn and also just a short walk to the city center where all the action is. We also found how easy it was to get to the major sites from there as well. The room is very spacious and has everything you need. The bathroom looked like it was recently refinished and I loved the tile work. The beds were harder than I'd like. Breakfast was wonderful, has everything you'd need to fill up for a long day of sight seeing. Staff is very helpful as well.

Room Tip: Stayed in #668 and it's very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    379
    66
    11
    6
See reviews for
140
440
32
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The hotel is set on a quiet street but very very close to the centre (2 minute walk). NIce staff, very big rooms and very comfy beds. There were no tea facilitiesin the room but if you ask at the reception, they will give you a ketlle right away. Very good breakfast with a great slection of Austrian products and wild berries. Loved it.
If you have the time, please make sure to visit (we went by train) a city called Melk, absolutely wonderful. Also, make the Danube crossing by boat, it is something to die for. and then leave at Krems (another beautiful small city). The train ticket includes all this.
All in all, a great stay, in a great country and in a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shethinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Location is good but rooms are noisy. We could hear the person from the room above us walking. Staff not willing to resolve noise levels by moving our rooms or talking to the guest above us.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravinaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Don't let the Best Western affiliation fool you, this hotel has charm, is modern, and doesn't feel like part of a big chain. It is located on a very quiet street in the Old Town and is walking distance to the U-bahn and all the tourist sights. The rooms are huge for European standards and the beds were quite comfortable. There was a separate water closet and a very modern bathroom that was nice. We had a room facing the street, but it doesn't matter, as the road is very quiet. Breakfast was also very good. To get there, we took the S-bahn from the airport (much better value than Airport Express train) and then transferred to the U-bahn. Our stop was a 5-10 min walk to the hotel. The major sights within the Old Town are all within 15 mins from the hotel walking. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for it's modern convenience, proximity to transportion and sights, and GREAT value.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MM_World_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

At the beginning of June we had a 6 night stay in the Hotel Das Tigra & were very, very impressed. All of the staff were friendly & helpful & were intent on ensuring that our stay was enjoyable. Our inability to speak German was no problem since everyone spoke English. Our room was clean & spacious. Breakfast offered a tremendous choice & it was noticeable that if anything ran out it was replenished immediately. The free Wi-Fi was useful and easily accessible. There was also a computer & printer available for guests - handy when it came to checking-in for our flight home. The location of the hotel was ideal with the centre of the city only a gentle 10 minutes walk away and we soon discovered one of Vienna's historic coffeehouses, Cafe Central,only 5 minutes away. This was our third recent visit to Vienna and most certainly the best of the hotels and we have no hesitation in recommending it to others and returning to it next time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

This is a typical European hotel which was on the small side but it is in a great location and within walking distance of the metro and important landmarks. We really appreciated the good breakfasts and the free Wi Fi. One problem was the rude girl at reception on 8 June when we were rushing to catch a train to Salzburg. She flirted with the man before me for well over five minutes and then was quite dismissive and unhelpful. If this was an isolated incident, I would not have mentioned this as everyone has a bad day but this particular woman was dismissive and unhelpful every time she was on the desk. There was usually one person on the desk at a time and the other staff were most pleasant. I would stay at this hotel again because of it centrality and the free Wi Fi but I think that this young woman needs a wrap over the knuckles.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maree5821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Das Tigra is very well located for all the main tourist attractions of central Vienna, and only a few hundred metres from the UBahn. It is a city hotel in a side-street however so dont expect any views.

Hotel rooms are of a good size with bathrooms adequate (tiny rather bare towels though). Of course as you expect in Austria all very clean. The aircon was centrally controlled and was not too effective.

Buffet breakfast is good with no shortages, busy times have a short wait for a table.

The best gay night club in the city is right next door, so late night noise with the bedroom windows open (see aircon) could be a problem for some.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazy_amersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#33 of 361 in Vienna
432 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz
#74 of 361 in Vienna
458 reviews
Inner City
K+K Palais Hotel
K+K Palais Hotel
#41 of 361 in Vienna
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel Renngasse
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#24 of 361 in Vienna
525 reviews
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#85 of 361 in Vienna
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Das Tigra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Das Tigra

Property: Hotel Das Tigra
Address: Tiefer Graben 14-20, Vienna 1010, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Das Tigra)
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#40 Family Hotel in Vienna
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#55 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Das Tigra 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Das Tigra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Das Tigra
Best Western Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing