We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good central location.”
Review of Hotel Stefanie

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Stefanie
Ranked #21 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
UAE
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A good central location.”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

A hotel with old-style elegance. Reception staff friendly and helpful. My first allocated non- smoking room smelt of stale tobacco, my complaint was treated with respect and another room was quickly allocated. Be aware that single rooms really are singles, i.e. they have a single bed and are rather on the small side. Some singles have bath with shower and some have a bath only. Rooms are tidy and clean, decor is traditional. I had inclusive wifi, good speed and bandwidth. On the whole I recommend. 

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Thalweg!

Thank you for sharing your impressions and recommending our Hotel Stefanie.

We are sorry that the first room assigned smelt of stale tobacco, but are happy that our staff react quickly and could offer you a room change to your satisfaction.

With pleasure we look forward to your next visit and remain,

with kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a Century of Viennese charm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    360
    71
    17
    7
See reviews for
168
508
124
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ely
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Had a wonderful short break in Vienna.
Hotel was very good. It was only 10 mins from the centre and transport links were excellent. Rooms very clean although they look a little tired. However it was great to have a little balcony. All the staff were very helpful and polite throughout our stay. The choice of food at breakfast was fantastic. It was very busy in the breakfast room and the staff had to work very hard to make sure there were tables for everyone. I think extra staff at this time would have helped.However this did not detract from our stay.
We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Hotel Stefanie.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear AliElyEly!

Thank you for posting your holiday experience at our Hotel Stefanie. We are delighted to read that your thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

For Easter we were fully booked and it can come to peak times during breakfast. We are happy to read that the waiters managed to make sure there were tables for everyone and really appreciate your comments and compliments for the staff. Thank you.

We hope you will soon be visiting Vienna again and look forward to your next reservation.

In the meantime, we remain,

With kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nahariya, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We enjoyed the location, the staff, the place and room. Breakfast is unbeatable. One evening we had dinner in the hotel's restaurant which was very good. It is near the center and in a good location but not too much in the noisy center - about 10 minutes easy walk to the center. We recommend it and would certainly go there again when going to Vienna

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear mintzfamily,

Thank you for your for your continuous positive assessment.

We are very happy that we offered you a memorable and pleasant stay and thank you for your compliments.

We hope you had a pleasant journey back to Israel and look forward to spoil you soon again here in Vienna.

With best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a Century of Viennese charm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Hotel Stefanie is ideally situated to: public transport, walking distance to many attractions - tours, large shopping mall, restaurants, coffee shop and supermarket to name but a few. Staff are very welcoming and very helpful. Great breakfast served. Highly recommended and would stay there again when visiting Vienna.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear MaggieM20,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your Viennese stay.

We are delighted to read that you fully enjoyed your vacation and felt very comfortable at our Hotel Stefanie.

We thank you for recommending us and hope you will soon be visiting again our beautiful city.

Kind regards to Melbourne

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a Century of Viennese charm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on 3 different occasions which already speaks volumes. It may be a little tired decor wise but this can be part of its charm. Very clean rooms comfortable beds and very quiet.
We noticed someone had complained about the breakfast. Unbelievable . Its one of the reasons we keep going back . The choice and quality is 1st class.
At a few hundred yards from 2 u bahn lines and walking distance to city centre its perfect.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear AandT_10,

Thank you for choosing again our Hotel Stefanie for your Vienna stay.

We are very happy that our offer constantly convinces you and that you feel comfortable with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon again and thank you for your trust.

Best regards from sunny Vienna

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I was staying in this hotel for 1 night few times already - always business trip. It was always clean. Rooms are fine but would need an refurbishment. Sleep quality is ok. I can say that during last year staff have made a great step forward in terms of being helpfull. Breakfast quality also have improved, but still hot dishes are only warm.
Biggest advantage of the hotel is walking distance to the center.
Still I would recommend Stefanie for a stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Wojtek R,

We are happy that you booked again our Hotel Stefanie and took the chance to post your impressions.

First of all we are delighted to read that you found some improvements which offered you even more comfort and well-being. Thank you for your compliments.

Of course we also noticed your remark regarding the dishes and passed your information to our kitchen. The last weeks the kitchen has been completely renovated and is now to be opened again. We hope you will soon be again our guest, so we can convince you with some delicacies.

We strive to keep our offer on-going and therefore renovation works find place at regular time intervals. Last year, we already completely renovated some rooms.

We thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to your next visit.

In the meantime, we remain,

with kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a three night stay in Hotel Stefanie. This is a very good Hotel and its location is excellent, a short distance from underground train station approx less than 5 minute walk and less than 10 minutes to St. Stephens Cathedral and all the main shops. It is good value for money, breakfast is excellent wide choice of food with fresh fruit. Staff are friendly and helpful and hotel is clean and room was nice with free wi-fi. We have only positive things to say about this Hotel and would recommend hotel for a short city break due to price and location. Tip - If travelling to Vienna in November/December bring many warm clothes as weather is very cold.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear piravlos01,

thank you for your positive review.

We are delighted that you choose our Hotel Stefanie for your short Vienna trip and are happy that our offer convinced you.

We appreciate your compliments and recommendation and hope you will soon visit us again.

It’s already getting warmer...

Best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#23 of 360 in Vienna
700 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#20 of 360 in Vienna
502 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#24 of 360 in Vienna
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#17 of 360 in Vienna
1,631 reviews
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#31 of 360 in Vienna
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Stefanie

Property: Hotel Stefanie
Address: Taborstrasse 12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Vienna
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#23 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Business Hotel in Vienna
#39 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stefanie 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its over 400 years of tradition, the elegant metropolitan Hotel Stefanie is the oldest hotel in Vienna. As the hotel longest in the possession of the family Schick, it lays the foundation for the private SCHICK Hotels-group - "Over a century of Viennese Charm". Today, the hotel-only a few minutes' walk from the 1st district, the historic centre of Vienna -presents itself as a successful combination of old and new. 120 Stylish rooms with air conditioning and WLAN (free of charge), three conference rooms (total capacity of 200 persons), as well as the restaurant 'Stefanie' form the framework for a pleasant stay in Vienna. Viennese cuisine acts as ambassador of Austrian hospitality in the restaurant and is served in the imperial ballroom or the relaxing courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Stefanie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stefanie Hotel Vienna
Hotel Stefanie Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing