We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location and large room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of NH Wien City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Wien City
Ranked #88 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient location and large room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed at NH Wien for two nights in June. We followed the directions given by others on TripAdvisor and didn’t have any trouble finding the hotel. The location can’t get much more convenient for travellers using public transit; the lobby is literally within steps of a metro stop. Wonderful after a long day of exploring! There are also bars and restaurants close by, and it was only a 10-15 minute walk to reach the Ring.

It looked like the rooms, lobby, and breakfast room have been nicely updated, but the hallways, etc. were dated and smelled dingy. There was a light in the stairwell that wasn’t replaced in the four days we were there. We were relieved to see that our room was clean (not carpeted), quiet (no noise from other rooms), and huge (even by North American standards!) with modern if sparse decor. The buffet breakfast included in our room rate was diverse and well-stocked. There were a number of common computers in the lobby that offered free internet access, and we never had to wait to use them.

Overall, our experience at NH Wien was fairly positive.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank JLC58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    476
    190
    41
    22
See reviews for
240
448
55
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

The hotel is well located close to main shopping street and to Museum District. We were lucky to get an upgrade (as no non-smoking rooms were available in the class of our booking) to a spacious apartment. You can get lost there! ;-). Otherwise the furnishing of the apartment was just basic and not really inviting - rather cold. Breakfast buffet was OK.

The location permits walking trips to the city center so it is great for turist travels. I would not consider taking this hotel for business trip.

Room Tip: try to get the apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aszanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHWien, Manager at NH Wien City, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter User "aszanti",

Vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, uns Ihre Eindrücke von Ihrem Aufenthalt im NH Wien auf der booking.com Homepage mitzuteilen. Unsere Gäste zu Ihrer vollsten Zufriedenheit zu betreuen, ist uns stets ein besonderes Anliegen, da wir dadurch noch besser auf ihre Gästewünsche eingehen können.

Mit großer Freude haben wir Ihre Bewertung gelesen und Ihre Kommentare bezüglich des großen Appartments, des Frühstücks und unserer zentralen Lage gerne an unsere Mitarbeiter weitergegeben. Ihre Kommentare zeigen uns, dass wir mit unserer Serviceleistung auf dem richtigen Weg sind, welchen wir weiterhin einschlagen werden.

Sehr geehrter User "aszanti", wir würden uns sehr freuen, Sie bei Ihrem nächsten Wien Aufenthalt wieder im NH Wien oder in einem unserer anderen 400 NH Hotels weltweit begrüßen zu dürfen und hoffen, dass Sie uns auch dann wieder über Ihre Eindrücke berichten!

Mit freundlichen Grüßen aus Wien

Daniela Reutterer
General Manager NH Wien / NH Atterseehaus Suites / NH Belvedere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

While the location is good (just above line 3 subway station), there's no view from the room (at least mine), and the rooms are OK, but not more than this, especially for the cost of over EUR 130 / night.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamirsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHWien, Manager at NH Wien City, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter User "tamirsc",

vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, uns Ihre Eindrücke von Ihrem Aufenthalt im NH Wien auf der tripadvisor.de Homepage mitzuteilen. Unsere Gäste zu Ihrer vollsten Zufriedenheit zu betreuen, ist uns stets ein besonderes Anliegen, da wir dadurch noch besser auf unsere Gästewünsche eingehen können.

Mit großer Freude haben wir Ihre Bewertung gelesen und diese gerne an unsere Mitarbeiter weitergegeben. Es tut uns leid, dass Ihnen der Ausblick von Ihrem Zimmer nicht gefallen hat. Als zentral gelegenes Stadthotel, können wir dies leider generell nicht gewährleisten, dafür haben Sie aber alle bekannten Hauptsehenswürdigkeiten von Wien gleich in der Nähe.

Sehr geehrter User "tamirsc, wir würden uns sehr freuen, Sie bei Ihrem nächsten Wien Aufenthalt wieder im NH Wien oder in einem unserer anderen 400 NH Hotels weltweit begrüßen zu dürfen und hoffen, dass Sie uns auch dann wieder über Ihre Eindrücke berichten!

Mit freundlichen Grüßen aus Wien

Daniela Reutterer
General Manager NH Wien / NH Atterseehaus Suites / NH Belvedere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Hotel walking distance from airport terminal. Quite and spacious with all confort you need to relax in the lobby, eat in the restaurant or work in your room. From there you can easily land late and take off early when traveling in Austria or Eastern Europe.

Room Tip: I was above the hall, in front of the road, the noisiest part but insulation was so good that I sple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TITIREB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I was placed here by my conference hosts. On arrival in late evening I opened the door and first thought was: where is the bedroom? I was in a decent sized living room/kitchen. I had to go right at the bottom of living area to reach bedroom then right again into bathroom then you emerge back in the living room. Much more space than I am used to in continental Europe. The Museum quarter is just 5 minutes walk away after you go down a busy shopping street. U-bahn is close by.

Bed was comfortable, breakfast more than adequate and free internet is in lobby. For location and comfort this is hard to beat. Had I paid for myself I was told the room rate would have been €108 per night, not bad for a suite. Staff were welcoming and helpful- reception got me a restaurant reservation for the Lubin fish restaurant after a couple of attempts at others failed- seems booking is advisable especially on Friday night for restaurants that rate highly on Tripadvisor.

If I'm picky I would have doubts about the wardrobe being in the bathroom, also it would be nice to have tea/coffee sachets to go with the kettle. But that is all really minor. This is an outstanding hotel and I would certainly consider a return visit.

Room Tip: 1st floor is smoking and you can tell if you walk down from 2nd or 3rd
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robatleyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Great staff, very helpful. As another reviewer said, it's a little difficult to find the entrance, but once you do, you're in good hands. Shopping right outside the door. To get to The Ring (1st district) you just roll down Mariahilfer Strasse. Room was like a mini-suite and very spacious. A generous breakfast that will keep you going until a late lunch. I'll definitely check out NH hotels in other cities.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelHarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Great location, just right in the middle of the biggest shopping street in Vienna, Austria. You walk out from the Hotel and you walk into a department store. The room was huge, more like a suite and we have only booked a standard double-room. It had a nice kitchen with fridge, microwave, coffee-tea maker machine and a bar table with bar chairs. Nice living room with comfortable leather sofa and TV, dining table. Bathroom was also nicely done with a bathtub.
A/C in the room, and the bedroom was also pretty good with comfortable bed.
Staff was friendly and fast, efficient. Breakfast was good, nice selection and very good coffee machine.
3 computers at the reception, free to use for the house guests. Wifi was not free, but we managed our emails from Starbucks.
Highly recommended for anyone for a short or long stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laszlo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Landstraße
NH Wien Belvedere
NH Wien Belvedere
#102 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Kummer
Hotel Kummer
#53 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Neubau
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Wien City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Wien City

Property: NH Wien City
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 32-34 (via Lindeng. 9), Vienna 1070, Austria (Formerly Astron Suite Hotel Wien)
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Vienna
#64 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#99 Business Hotel in Vienna
#115 Family Hotel in Vienna
#129 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Wien City 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Wien City is the perfect place to enjoy your stay right next to the historical center of Vienna, by the city's main shopping areas and countless other attractions and conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Wien City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotel Vienna
Nh Hotels Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing